سألنا الشباب المسلم في باريس عن معنى رمضان بالنسبة له

تحديات الصيام في الغرب

byسارة بن رمضان

شهر رمضان المبارك الذي يجتمع فيه المسلمون ويتحملون ساعات الصوم ويعيدون مراجعة حياتهم، هو أيضاً وقت للاحتفال في العالم الإسلامي. إذ تجتمع العائلة والأصدقاء على الإفطار والسحور كل يوم.

ولكن في الغرب، رمضان مختلف، وأحياناً ما يكون تجربة تعزل المسلمين عن الآخرين، خاصةً بالنسبة لجيل الشباب. هذا العام، على المسلمين أن ينتظروا حتى الساعة 10 مساءً لكسر الصيام في فرنسا. في الثمانينات، كان 59% من المسلمين الفرنسيين بين عمر الـ18 و44 يصومون في شهر رمضان، أما اليوم فهذه النسبة ارتفعت إلى 73%. ولكن مع ارتفاع ظاهرة “الخوف من الإسلام” يشعر المزيد من المسلمين الشباب بأنهم أكثر تهميشاً من السابق في مجتمعهم.

Mille تتحدث مع 6 شباب مسلمين في باريس لمعرفة الصعوبات التي يواجهونها في رمضان.

ابتسام لاردي، 21 عاماً، طالبة رسم وتصميم غرافي


“أصعب أمر في رمضان هو أنك لوحدك. رغم أن عائلتي تصوم ولكنني أقضي معظم وقتي خارج المنزل ولا أحد يمكنه أن يفهم ما أمرّ به.”

مالك تانجيغورا، 23 عاماً، طالب فنون جميلة

“أصعب شيء هو اضطراري لأن أبطئ روتيني اليومي والتعامل مع الملل. عادةً ما أخرج خلال اليوم ولكن في رمضان أجلس في المنزل مع عائلتي. من الصعب السيطرة على النفس. ومن المعضلات الأخرى التي أواجهها هي ما إذا كان علي تناول الكثير من الطعام على الإفطار ثم الشعور بالجوع في اليوم التالي أو البقاء مستيقظاً حتى السحور وتناول كمية جيدة من الطعام ولكن الشعور بالتعب باليوم التالي. عادةً ما أبقى مستيقظاً لكي أؤدي صلاة الفجر.”

مانون ماغنيز، 20 عاماً، طالبة رسم

“تجربتي مختلفة وفريدة لأنني اعتنقت الإسلام. عائلتي لم تتقبل تغيير ديني وهذا يحزنني. أحياناً يجبرونني على الأكل! أشعر بالوحدة في منزلي. ولكن لحسن الحظ لدي صديقة مسالمة تدعوني إلى منزلها وأمها تعطيني طعاماً على الإفطار.”

خليل لطفي، 23 عاماً، طالب إدارة

“خلال رمضان أفتقد طبخ جدتي ولعب الأوراق مع أقربائي طوال الليل. هناك أفطر مع أصدقائي في المطاعم ومحلات الكباب ولكن الأمر مختلف.”

ليلى نور جونسون، 27 عاماً، مصممة أزياء

“أصعب شيء في رمضان هو القيام بكل الطقوس لوحدي لأن عائلتي ليست معي. كما أجد صعوبة في عدم الخروج ولقاء الأصدقاء. إنها تجربة تشعرني بالوحدة ولكن في حالتي لا أرى الوحدة كأمرٍ سلبي: إحياء رمضان خيار شخصي وعلاقة خاصة بيني وبين ديني.”

سيكو كامارا، 26 عاماً، طالب اتصالات

“التحدي الأكبر بالنسبة لي هو إشغال نفسي. فعندما أكون مشغولاً أنسى الجوع والعطش وثقوا بي إذا كنت عاطلاً عن العمل فرمضان بغاية الصعوبة! بالأمس التقطت الصور طوال اليوم وكان الأمر جيداً. ولكن ممارسة الرياضة والقراءة هما أكثر الأمور صعوبةَ خلال رمضان والصيام.”

شارك هذا المقال

01 Jun

We Asked Young Muslims in Paris About Ramadan

The challenges of fasting in the West

Written By Sarah Ben Romdane

The holy month of Ramadan—a time when Muslims come together, endure daily fasting and take stock of their lives—is actually a month of festivities in the Muslim world. Families and friends gather every evening for Iftar and meet again for Suhoor in the early morning.

 

But in the West, Ramadan is a different, sometimes even an isolating experience, especially for younger demographics. This year, Muslims have to wait until 10pm to break their fast in France. While 59 percent of French Muslims age 18-44 year-old observed the month of fasting in the late 1980s, there is now over 73 percent of them fasting. But with a rise of Islamophobia, a slew of young muslims have been lead to feel more stigmatised and marginalised from the community.

 

MILLE caught with six young Muslims in Paris to find out what they find hard about doing Ramadan.

 

Ibticem Larbi, 21, graphic design and illustration student

 

 

“The most difficult thing during Ramadan is being on your own. Despite the fact that my family fasts, I spend the most part of my day outside and no one can relate to what I’m doing.”

 

Malick Tandjigora, 23, fine art student

 

 

“The hardest thing to me is, having to slow down my rhythm and deal with boredom. Usually, I’m always out but during Ramadan, I spend more time at home chilling with my family. It’s really a challenge of self-control. Another dilemma I face is whether I should eat a lot during Iftar, go to bed and feel hungry the next day, or stay awake until Suhoor, eat well but feel tired the next day. I usually stay awake so I can do my prayer at dawn.”

 

Manon Magnez, 20, illustration student

 

 

“My experience is really personal and singular as I’m a convert. My family hasn’t accepted my conversion to Islam at all and it’s really oppressing. Sometimes they’ll try to force me to eat. I really feel lonely, but in my own home. Luckily, I have a Muslim friend who invites me at her place and her mom gives me doggy bags.”

 

Khalil Lotfi, 23, management student

 

 

“During Ramadan, I miss my grandmother’s home-cooked food and playing cards with my cousins all night long. Here, I break my fast with friends in restaurants and kebab shops, but it’s not the same feeling.”

 

Leila Nour Johnson, 27, fashion designer

 

 

“The hardest thing about Ramadan is going through the rituals on my own, as my family isn’t here. Also, I find it hard not going out anymore and socialising. It’s a lonely experience, but in my case, I don’t see the loneliness as negative: doing Ramadan is a conscious choice and a personal relationship between my faith and I.”

 

Sekou Camara, 26, communications student

 

 

“For me, the challenge is keeping myself busy. When I’m doing things I forget about hunger and thirstiness. Trust me, if you’re unemployed, Ramadan must be so hard! Yesterday, I took pictures all afternoon and it was okay. Exercising during Ramadan and reading books are the two things I struggle doing while fasting.”

 

Photography by Sarah Ben Romdane