كيف يؤثر الإسلاموفوبيا على حياة الشباب المسلم

الآثار السامة للاهانات العنصرية

bySarah Ben Romdane

في الشهر الماضي، نشر رجل أسترالي يبلغ من العمر 28 عاماً، بياناً عن تفوق وسيادة العرق الأبيض، ثم قام بقتل 50 شخصاً وجرح 50 آخرين في هجوم إرهابي كارثي على مسجدين في كريستتشيرش، نيوزيلندا.

ومنذ هذه الهجمات المروعة، ارتفع عدد جرائم الكراهية ضد المسلمين في العديد من الدول الغربية – ففي بريطانيا مثلاً، ازدادت هذه الجرائم بنسبة 593 ٪، وهو أعلى مستوى منذ أحداث 11 سبتمبر وفقاً لمجموعة مراقبة مستقلة .

من الواضح أن هذا الارتفاع المخيف يؤثر على العديد من المسلمين في جميع أنحاء العالم والذين يشعرون بأنهم أصبحوا الآن عرضة للإساءة بشكلٍ حتمي. ووفقاً لأحد الأبحاث، فإن التمييز يؤثر بشدة على الصحة العقلية والجسدية للمسلمين. حيث تم توثيق حقيقة أن الخوف من الإسلام يخلق القلق والضيق النفسي والغضب والعزلة من بين علامات أخرى تنذر بالخطر.

وفي أعقاب هذه الموجة المتفشية من إساءة معاملة المسلمين، التقينا بخمسة شبانٍ مسلمين لمعرفة مدى تأثرهم بهذه الموجة.

سفيان، 28 عاماً، يمني – فرنسي
حصلت مؤخراً على وظيفةٍ في الخدمات العامة في فرنسا. ومن بين الإجراءات الشكلية المرافقة لهذا المنصب الجديد، كان عليّ إجراء فحص طبي إلزامي لدى الطبيبة المعتمدة من قِبَل المؤسسة التي أعمل لديها الآن. فسألتني الطبيبة ما إذا كنت مدخناً فقلت نعم. ثم سألتني إذا كنت أدخن الشيشة فأجبتها بلا. ومع ذلك قررت أن تحاضرني حول الآثار السلبية للشيشة. خلال حديثها، ذكرت أنها عادت لتوها من اسطنبول، فسألتها كيف كانت رحلتها. أخبرتني كيف شعرت بعدم الارتياح تجاه النساء المحجبات وسخافة الدعوة إلى الصلاة عند الفجر. حيثُ قالت لي: “يمكنهم الصلاة، ولكن دون أن يضطروا لإيقاظنا من النوم”. لتقوم بعد ذلك بفحص ضغط دمي دون أن تنتبه إليه أصلاً، وتواصل حديثها موضحةً لي كيف يصعب فحص المريضات اللواتي يغطين أنفسهن. بدأت أشعر بالتوتر حقاً، وفي نهاية الحديث سألتني: “هل أنت مسلم؟” لقد أحسست بالإحراج فعلاً وبالحاجة إلى مغادرة هذا المكان، على الرغم من أن تلك اللحظة كانت من المفترض أن تكون لحظة مهمة بالنسبة لي، من ناحية استعدادي وأهليتي للخدمة كموظف مدني فرنسي. لقد شعرت بالسوء.

ريم، 24 عاماً، مغربية
السبب في عدم تأثير الإسلاموفوبيا علي بشكلٍ صريح هو أن الناس يرونني كمسلمة “مندمجة”، الأمر الذي قد يكون أسوأ في الحقيقة. فهم يعتبرونني متحضرة لأنني أشبه المسلمين الذين يرغبون برؤيتهم. وهكذا يسمح أصدقائي لأنفسهم أن يقولوا أشياء عنصرية أمامي لأنهم يتجاهلون حقيقة أن ذلك قد يؤثر عليّ في الواقع. وأنا صراحةً أتجاهل الأمر لأنني لا أريد أن أصبح “الضحية”. إنهم يربطون الإسلام تلقائياً بالإرهاب وهو ما يجعلني حزينة حقاً، لأنني أشعر بضرورة تذكير الناس دائماً بأن ديني متسامح – إنه أمرٌ متعبٌ وغير عادل! هذه التعليقات طبيعية للغاية، الأمر الذي يجعلني أشعر بأنني وحيدة وبأنهم يسيؤون فهمي. يبدو الأمر كما لو أننا نعيش وقتاً مشابهاً لعصر ما قبل الحرب العالمية الثانية. حتى أنني أشعر بالعجز والإحباط؛ إذ يبدو أنه محكوم علينا أن نُسمى “بالآخرين” إلى الأبد.

سامي، 23 عاماً، فلسطينياً
منذ أحداث 11 سبتمبر وحتى الأشهر الأخيرة، لا يمكنني حساب عدد المرات التي تمّ إيقافي فيها وتفتيشي من قِبَل الأمن دون أي سبب على الإطلاق. سواء في الأماكن العامة أو في المطارات، فقد كنت مستهدفاً دائماً بطريقةٍ غير شرعية، وأفترض أن ذلك فقط لمجرد أنني أبدو مشبوهاً بطريقة ما. لا أستطيع أن أوضح مدى شعوري بالحرج والإهانة. فقد جعلني هذا الأمر غاضباً للغاية ومشمئزاً. لدرجة أنني لم أعد أرغب بالخروج لرؤية أي أحد ومررت بأوقات عصيبة، حتى أنني لم أعد أستطيع النوم كثيراً، لقد كنت أشعر بالإذلال.

أمينة، 20 عاماً، جزائرية – بريطانية
لقد نشأت في منطقةٍ أغلب سكانها من ذوي البشرة البيضاء في إنكلترا، وربما كنت المحجبة الوحيدة في مدرستي وحيي. ولطالما شعرت بأنني ملامة على العديد من الأشياء، حتى لو لم أقم بأي شيء خاطئ ولم أؤذي أحداً. إن نشأتي هنا كانت تجربة غريبة بالتأكيد. ففي أحد الأيام، كنت أسير عائدةً إلى المنزل من المدرسة، وهاجمتني مجموعة من الشباب وأمسكوا بحجابي ودفعوني وأهانوني وتركوني وهم يضحكون. هذه الحادثة صدمتني بالفعل وجعلتني أشعر بالخوف الشديد من المشي لوحدي، وفي كل مرة يسير فيها شخص ما بالقرب مني، أشعر بالذعر وأصبح قلقةً للغاية

ميشا، 22 عاماً، تونسي – فرنسي
كنت أعمل في مطعم فاخر في باريس، وفي أحد الأيام جاء رجل ليترك سيرته الذاتية. كان يرتدي بدلة وبدا رسمياً جداً، وكان اسمه مهدي. عندما غادر المطعم، نظر المديران إلى خبراته. لقد كان يعمل في مطاعم حائزة على نجوم ميشلان ، لذا بدا كلاهما مندهشان وقالا: “أوه، إنه جيد بالفعل”. ولأنني شخصياً لا أبدو عربياً أو حتى مسلماً، فلم أكن مضطراً أبداً للدفاع عن عرقي ولم يعلم مدرائي بأنني مسلم أصلاً. كان شهر رمضان يقترب وكنت أتطلع للحصول على زميل مسلم يمكنني التحدث معه. ولكن المدير عاد ليقول “مرة أخرى، عربي آخر!” ويضحك، ليرد عليه الآخر “إنهم في كل مكان، أليس كذلك؟” ثم قاما بتمزيق السيرة الذاتية ونظرا إليّ وقالا “هيا، حان وقت العمل!” لقد صدمني هذا الأمر حقاً لأنني لم أعتقد بأنهم يفكرون بهذه الطريقة. شعرت بخيبة أمل … وبالخوف، ففي أحد الأيام قد أكون أنا المستهدف. وبدأت أفقد الثقة في الناس، وسألت نفسي عما إذا كان بإمكاني الوثوق حقاً بالناس من حولي وبدأت أشعر بالكراهية.

رسم: Roshbena

شارك هذا المقال

How Islamophobia Affects the Lives of Young Muslims

The toxic effects of racial abuse

by

Last month, a 28-year-old Australian man published a white supremacist manifesto and then killed 50 people and injured 50 others in a catastrophic terror attack in two mosques in Christchurch, New Zealand.

 

Since the horrific attacks, the number of anti-Muslim hate crimes have skyrocketed in many Western countries— in Britain, they have increased by 593%, the highest level since the aftermath of 9/11, according to Tell Mama, an independent monitoring group.

 

Obviously, this alarming rise is affecting many Muslims across the globe, who feel like they’ve now inevitably become subject to abuse. And according to research, discrimination is severely impacting Muslims’ mental and physical health. It has been documented that islamophobia creates anxiety, psychological distress, anger, isolation amongst other alarming signs.

 

In the wake of this rampant wave of islamophobic abuse, we caught up with five young Muslims to find out how they’ve been affected by it.

 

Sofiane, 28, French-Yemeni

I recently obtained a job in the public service in France. Among the formalities inherent to this new position, I had to do a mandatory medical check-up with a doctor accredited by the institution I was now working with. The doctor asked if I was a smoker and I said yes. She then asked if I smoked shisha, and I said no. She nonetheless decided to lecture me on the negative effects of shisha. At some point, she mentioned she was just back from Istanbul and so I asked her how her trip was. She told me how she felt uncomfortable with veiled women and the absurdity of the call to prayer at dawn. “They can pray, but they don’t need to interrupt our sleep”, she told me. She then checks my blood pressure without really paying attention to it, and continues her speech, explaining to me how it’s hard to consult patients who are covered. I started feeling really tense and by the end of the consultation, she asked me, “are you Muslim?” I really felt pressured and needed to leave this place, even though this was supposed to be an important moment, officialising my aptitude to serve as a French civil servant. I felt terrible.

 

Ryme, 24, Moroccan

The reason why Islamophobia doesn’t affect me so explicitly is because people see me as an “assimilated” Muslim, which in truth might be even worse. They consider me civilised because I look like the Muslim they want to see. And so, my friends allow themselves to say racist things in front of me, because they ignore the fact that it can actually affect me. And I kind of let it go, because I don’t want to become the “victim”. They automatically associate Islam with terrorism and it really makes me sad, because I feel like I always have to remind people that my religion is tolerant— it’s so tiring and unfair! These comments are so normalized, it makes me feel so misunderstood and lonely. It’s almost like like we’re living a similar time to the pre-WW2 era. I even feel so helpless and discouraged; it seems like we are doomed to be labelled as the “other” forever.

 

Samy, 23, Palestinian

Ever since 9/11 and even more in recent months, I can’t count the number of times I’ve been stopped and checked by security for absolutely no reason. Whether it’s literally in public spaces or in airports, I’ve always been illegitimately targeted, just because I suppose I look a certain way that is seen as suspicious. I can’t explain the extent to which I have felt embarrassed and humiliated. It has made me so angry and revolted. At some point, I didn’t even want to go out and meet people anymore. It made me go through bad times, at some point I couldn’t even sleep so much I was feeling dehumanised.

 

Amina, 20, Algerian-British

I grew up in a very white area in England and was probably the only hijabi in my school and neighbourhood. I have always somehow felt blamed for things, even if I actually never did anything wrong or hurt anybody. Growing up was definitely an alienating experience. But one day particularly, I was casually walking back home from school and a group of guys grabbed my headscarf, pushed me, insulted me and they left all the while laughing. This episode truly traumatised me. I feel so scared of walking alone now, and every time someone walks close to me, I start panicking and get super anxious.

 

Mischa, 22, Tunisian-French

I was working in a prestigious restaurant in Paris. One day, a man came to drop off his resume. He was wearing a suit and appeared very formal. His name was Mehdi. When he left, the manager and director looked at his experience. He had worked in Michelin-stars restaurants and so they both appeared surprised and said, “Oh, he’s actually good”. Because I personally don’t necessarily look Arab or Muslim, I’ve never had to justify my ethnicity and my bosses didn’t event know I was Muslim. Ramadan was approaching and I was looking forward to have a Muslim colleague, with whom I could relate. But then, the director goes, “Again, another Arab!” and laughing, the other one replies, “They’re everywhere, right?” They ripped the resume, looked at me and said, “Come on! Time to work! It really shocked me because I didn’t think they could think like that. I was so disappointed…. It has made me feel scared, maybe one day I could be the target. I started losing confidence in my own people, asking myself if I could really trust the people around me and I even started developing hatred.

 

Illustration by Roshbena

Primary tags

Share this article