L’initiative culturelle qui met en valeur le talent tunisien

Jaou met Tunis sur la carte

byAmina Kaabi

Lancé en 2013 par Lina Lazaar, mécène des arts et Vice Présidente de la Fondation Kamel Lazaar, Jaou Tunis est instantanément devenue l’une des initiatives culturelles les plus excitantes d’Afrique du Nord.

 

À l’occasion de la cinquième édition, Jaou rassemble des artistes, commissaires et académiques de l’art, originaires de la région MENA, autour d’évènements culturels qui se déclinent sur quatre jours.

 

Centré sur le thème de l’héritage, l’événement se déroule dans plusieurs espaces publics oubliés, voire abandonnés, où se tiendront plusieurs expositions et conférences, explorant les quatre éléments: la terre, le feu, le vent et l’air.

 

A l’inauguration, les invités se sont retrouvés à Tunis Marine (la première station de voie ferrée de Tunisie qui connecte les quartiers les plus peuplés de la capitale) où se tenait place une performance théâtrale peu conventionnelle appelée « symphonie silencieuse »

 

L’événement se déroule du Mercredi 27 Juin jusqu’au Dimanche 1er Juillet.

jaou.art

Partagez cet article

Shereen Abdo
26 Jun

The Cultural Initiative Highlighting Tunisian Talent

Jaou is putting Tunis on the map

Written By Amina Kaabi

Launched in 2013 by art patron and Vice President of the Kamel Lazaar Foundation, Lina Lazaar, Jaou Tunis instantly became one of North Africa’s most exciting cultural initiatives.

 

Set to launch its fifth edition next week, Jaou brings together artists, curators and cultural thinkers together from all over the MENA region to host a series of cultural events that will play out over four days.

 

Centred around the idea of ‘approved heritage’, this year’s event is set to take place at a selection of forgotten, and more or less abandoned public spaces, where a series of discussions and exhibitions will explore the four elements: earth, fire, wind, and air.

 

To kick off the event, attendees were invited to an unconventional ‘silent symphony’, a theatrical performance held at Tunis Marine (Tunisia’s first railway station that’s still in use today) to link together the capital’s most populated neighbourhoods.

 

The event starts Wednesday June 27th and will run until Sunday July 1st.

jaou.art