10 nouvelles de Naguib Mahfouz ont été découvertes

L’œuvre du lauréat du prix Nobel est toujours vivante

byMILLE team

Lauréat du prix Nobel et l’un des plus célèbres écrivains égyptiens, l’héritage de Naguib Mahfouz a résisté à l’épreuve du temps. Connu pour sa «Trilogie du Caire» (Le Fishawy Coffee dans Khan el Khalili au Caire), la carrière de l’écrivain semble toujours aussi remarquable en 2018.

 

Suite à une annonce de sa fille, Um Kulthum Mahfouz, 18 récits inédits écrits par son père vont être publiés.

 

Selon sa déclaration, les nouvelles (écrites au milieu des années 90) ont été découvertes aux côtés de 32 autres par un journaliste qui enquêtait sur la controverse entourant le roman de Mahfouz, « Awlad Haretna », pour un prochain livre.

 

Les 32 histoires avaient été publiés en 1994 par un magazine égyptien et les 18 autres étaient passés inaperçus jusqu’à présent.

 

Naguib Mahfouz est connu pour sa longue carrière. Il a écrit 34 romans, des centaines de nouvelles et s’est même essayé à l’écriture de pièces de théâtre et de films. Tout cela a pris fin suite à une tentative d’assassinat commise à son encontre pour son soutien à l’écrivain Salman Rushdi, qui avait été condamné par certains groupes pour son livre ‘Versets sataniques’.

 

Suite à cette tentative, Mahfouz publia plus de travail près de dix ans plus tard. ‘Dreams of Rehabilitation Period’ est un recueil de nouvelles qui jusqu’à récemment était considéré comme le dernier de ses récits à avoir été publié.

 

Les nouvelles récemment découvertes n’ont pas encore de date de publication annoncée, mais restez à l’écoute.

Partagez cet article

01 Oct

18 Unpublished Naguib Mahfouz Short Stories Have Been Discovered

The Egyptian Nobel-Laureate’s legacy lives on

Written By MILLE team

As a Nobel Laureate, and one of Egypt’s most notable writers, the legacy of Naguib Mahfouz has stood the test of time. Known for his prize-winning ‘Cairo Trilogy’ (parts of which were written in the historic El Fishawy café in Cairo’s Khan el Khalili) the remarkable writer’s career looks to be expanding well into 2018.

 

Following an announcement by his daughter Um Kulthum Mahfouz, 18 unpublished stories that were written by her father have just been discovered and are set for release.

 

According to her statement the short stories, (which written in the mid-90s), were discovered alongside 32 others by a journalist who was researching the controversy surround Mahfouz’s novel ‘Awlad Haretna’ for an upcoming book.

 

The 32 stories had been published in 1994 by an Egyptian-based magazine, and the remaining 18 had gone unnoticed until now.

 

Naguib Mahfouz is known for his extensive career, having written 34 novels, hundreds of short stories and even dabbled in plays and films—all of which came to a screeching halt in 1994 following an attempted assassination due to his position against violence on fellow author Salman Rushdi, who had been condemned by certain groups for his book ‘Satanic Verses’.

 

Following the attempt, Mahfouz did go on to publish more work almost a decade later. ‘Dreams of Rehabilitation Period’ is a collection of short stories that up until recently was known as the last of his stories to be published.

 

The newly uncovered short stories are yet to have a publishing date announced, but stay tuned.