دليل بام نصر إلى نيويورك

المخرجة اللبنانية الصاعدة تشاركنا أماكنها المفضلة في تلك المدينة

byسارة بن رمضان

إذا كنتم لم تسمعوا بإسم بام نصر (26 عاماً) بعد فستسمعون به قريباً. فلقد نجحت خبيرة الستايل اللبنانية المقيمة في دبي هذه (والتي تعشق نقشة جلد الفهو وجزمات الكاوبوي) في صنع إسمٍ لها في الشرق الأوسط بعد أن عملت كستايلست ومستشارة إبداعية لعددٍ من العلامات المحلية الناشئة مثل Nafsika Skourti. وخلال إقامتها في بيروت (بعد التخرج من كلية الموضة في لندن في عام 2014) بدأت أيضاً بتصوير الأفلام كهاوية والتي وثقت من خلالها الحياة اليومية لعدد من الشخصيات التي كانت تقابلها في طريقها. “لقد كانت تلك طريقتي لأعرف نفسي وتراثي”، تقول نصر.

 

في العام الماضي، قررت دون سابق إنذار الانتقال إلى نيويورك لدراسة الإخراج ولدى تخرجها عرضت فيلمها القصير الأول بعنوان Clams Casino (من تصوير ديانا ماتوس) في 23 يونيو. ويتحدث عن حياة 4 نساء لاتينيات (أمّين وابنتين) لديهن مشكلة في التواصل وفهم بعضهن البعض. ومن خلال استكشاف العلاقة السيئة بين الأم والإبنة تسعى نصر إلى فهم الرغبة الإنسانية في الحميمية والتخمة ومعرفة معنى الوحدة في المجتمعات المعاصرة. وتقول نصر: “أتت فكرة الفيلم من ظاهرة على الإنترنت في جنوب كوريا تُعرف بإسم Mukbang وفيها يتناول الناس كميات كبيرة من الطعام مقابل المال ويبثّون التجربة مباشرةً على الإنترنت. ولقد طرح ذلك العديد من التساؤلات لدي: لماذا يقومون بذلك؟ من هم الناس الذين يشاركون في هكذا أمر؟ ولماذا يشاهدهم الآخرون وهم ياكلون؟ من هم؟”.

 

 

ميل تحدثت مع نصر وسألتها عن أماكنها المفضلة في نيويورك لتناول الطعام والشراب والتسوق.

 

المكان المفضل لشرب القهوة

 

أشتري حصتي الأسبوعية من حبوب القهوة من مكانٍ قريبٍ من منزلي في غرينيتش فيليدج اسمه Porto Rico Importing Co. رائحة المكان تأسر القلوب!

 

المكان المفضل لتناول الطعام

 

أحب مطعم Baby Brasa للطعام البيروفي وهو على بعد خطواتٍ من منزلي ولديه سيفيتشيه رائه وريزوتو بحري. أما RedFarm فهو مكاني المفضل لتناول الطعام الصيني في شارعٍ صغير وحميمي والأجواء فيه ممتعة نهاراً ومساءً.

babybrasa.com

 

redfarmnyc.com

 

المكان المفضل لتناول كأسٍ من الشراب

 

أحب Billy Mark لأجوائه المعتقة وفيه ساقي واحد اسمه بيلي مارك. حبيبي وأنا نعشق شرب الـ Jägermeister مع الثلج ولعب البلياردو وتشغيل صندوق الموسيقى هناك.

 

@Billy-Marks

 

المكان المفضل للتسوق

 

أحب Modell’s Sporting Goods حيث أعثر على خصومات كثيرة على الملابس الرياضية لأنني أرتديها طوال الشتاء.

 

modells.com

 

المكان المفضل للتسوق

 

أحب Modell’s Sporting Goods حيث أعثر على خصومات كثيرة على الملابس الرياضية لأنني أرتديها طوال الشتاء.

 

lpr.com

 

Photography by Prod Antzoulis

شارك هذا المقال

22 Jun

Pam Nasr’s Guide to New York

The emerging Lebanese director shares her local addresses

Written By Sarah Ben Romdane

If you still haven’t heard of Pam Nasr, you will soon. The 26-year-old Lebanese-born and Dubai-raised style expert – who’s strongly passionate about leopard prints and cowboy boots – has already made a name for herself in the Middle East, working as a stylist and creative consultant for emerging regional labels, such as Nafsika Skourti. While living in Beirut (after having graduated from London College of Fashion in 2014) she also started creating amateur films, documenting the everyday life of characters she met along her way. “It was a way to get to know myself and my heritage”, she says.

 

Last year, she very spontaneously decided to move to New York to study an intensive masters program in directing. As she graduates, her first short film titled Clams Casino (shot by Diana Matos) is premiering on June 23. It follows the lives of four Latina women – two mothers and two daughters – who struggle to communicate and understand each other. By examining toxic mother-daughter relationships, Nasr seeks to explore the human desire for closeness and satiation and questions the meaning of loneliness in contemporary societies. “Clams Casino was conceived after coming across a South Korean online phenomenon known as “Mukbang”, where people eat large amounts of food on a live-streaming website for money. It raised many questions: why do people do it, who are the people that partake in it? And why do others log on and watch them eat? Who are they?”, she says.

 

 

As MILLE caught up with Nasr, we’ve asked her to round up her favourite spots to eat, shop, drink and hang in the big apple.

 

Favourite Place to Get Coffee

 

I buy my weekly batch of fresh coffee beans from a spot right around my place in Greenwich Village called Porto Rico Importing Co. You can almost smell heaven when you walk in.

 

Favourite Place to Eat

 

Baby Brasa for Peruvian, it’s a walk away from me and has amazing ceviche and a seafood risotto. RedFarm is a great Chinese restaurant on a super cozy street that has such great energy day and night.

 

babybrasa.com

 

redfarmnyc.com

 

Favourite Place to Drink

 

Billy Mark’s – an old school dive bar with one bartender, Billy Mark. My boyfriend and I are suckers for Jägermeister on the rocks while playing pool and spending all our dollar bills in the jukebox.

 

@Billy-Marks

 

Favourite Place to Shop

 

Modell’s Sporting Goods – I get all my extra discounted sportswear in there. I pretty much lived in my sweats all winter.

 

modells.com

 

Favourite Place to Hang

 

Le Poisson Rouge, an intimate event/concert space – My best friend is always on top of it when it comes to Arabic events in the city, we go to Tarab nights there and feel like we’re back in Beirut for a few hours.

 

lpr.com

 

Photography by Prod Antzoulis