سيرة الشيخ زايد في فيلم هوليوودي

إحياءً لإرثه

byأمينة الكعبي

أعلنت شركة الإنتاج الهوليوودية STX films عن خطّتها لتطوير فيلمٍ مقتبس عن حياة مؤسس دولة الإمارات الراحل الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان.

 

ولقد رشّحت الشركة التي أنتجت في السابق عدداً من الأفلام الناجحة مثل Molly’s Game و Bad Momsو The Foreigner المخرج شيخار كابور لإخراج الفيلم.

 

ويشتهر كابور (إلى جانب التمثيل) بإخراج فيلم Elizabeth: The Golden Age الذي يتحدث عن سيرة الملكة إليزابيث الأولى من بطولة كيت بلانشيت. ومن المتوقع أن يقوم كليف دورفمان الذي قدم مسلسلي Entourage و Warrior لتوم هاردي بكتابة النص.

 

ويقول آدم فوغلسون رئيس شركة STX films: “سيكون الفيلم شبيهاً بأفلام ملحمية كبيرة مثل Gandhi و Selmaو Darkest Hourوسيتحدث عن قصة الشيخ الراحل ذي الشخصية الديناميكية والقوية والذي ساهم في إحداث تغييرٍ تاريخي”.

 

وكان الشيخ زايد استلم رئاسة دولة الإمارات عام 1971 وكان القوة المحركة وراء اتحاد الإمارات في نفس العام. وبعد اكتشاف النفط، قاد الحاكم حركة بناء البنية التحتية للأمة ويعود له الفضل في تأسيس اقتصادها الحيوي وتحولها إلى بلدٍ غاية في التطور والعصرية.

شارك هذا المقال

05 Jun

UAE’s Sheikh Zayed Gets His Own Hollywood Biopic

His legacy lives on

Written By Amina Kaabi

Hollywood film company, STX films, just announced plans to develop a biopic based on the life of the United Arab Emirates founding father, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al-Nahyan.

 

The production company—which is behind a number of box office hits like the Academy Award-nominated Molly’s Game, Bad Moms and The Foreigner—tapped Shekhar Kapur to direct the film.

 

Kapur—equally known for his acting in Bollywood—previously worked behind the scenes directing Elizabeth: The Golden Age, the Queen Elizabeth I biopic starring Cate Blanchett. Cliff Dorfman, the man behind the hit HBO series Entourage and Tom Hardy’s Warrior is set to write the screenplay.

 

“Patterned after great movies like Gandhi, Selma, and Darkest Hour, this project will tell the story of a dynamic, powerful personality who helped create historic change”, said Adam Fogelson, STX films chairman following the announcement of the film.

 

Sheikh Zayed was appointed to the UAE’s presidency in 1971 and was the force behind the unification of the Emirates the same year. Following the oil boom, the ruler took to building the nation’s infrastructure and is largely credited with its thriving economy and ultimate transformation into the ultra-modern country we know today.