10 ميمز توجز فضيحة بيع بيانات تطبيق Muslim Pro

دعنا نقول فقط ، سترغب في إلغاء تثبيت التطبيق.

by

حرص تطبيق Muslim Pro على تأكيد أن عام 2020 هو عام الحظ السيء. لقد قام هذا التطبيق الذي يبدو وكأنه بريء ومفيد والذي يستخدمه المسلمون في جميع أنحاء العالم لتتبع أوقات الصلاة ببيع بيانات حساسة تخص 98 مليون مستخدم لفرع من الجيش الأمريكي مكلف بمكافحة الإرهاب.

وقد كشف موقع  Vice’s Motherboard عن هذه الأخبار ضمن تقرير مفاجئ بالأمس، مما أثار ضجة كبيرة على مواقع الإنترنت.

وصرّح الجيش الأمريكي فيما بعد عن صحّة هذا الخبر قائلاً “نحن نستخدم بيانات الموقع لدعم مهام قوات العمليات الخاصة في الخارج”. لكنها لم تكن صفقة مباشرة مع التطبيق، بل كانت عن طريق شركة بيانات تسمى X-Mode.

كما جاء في التقرير، “تشجع شركة بيانات  X-Modeمطوري التطبيقات على وضع حزمة تطوير البرمجيات الخاصة بها للحصول على بيانات الموقع لمستخدمي تلك التطبيقات، مقابل أن تدفع الشركة للمطورين رسوماً تقدّر وفق عدد مستخدمي تطبيقاتهم”.

وهذا بالضبط ما فعله تطبيق Muslim Pro، لتقوم بعد ذلك شركة X-Mode ببيع بيانات مستخدمي Muslim Pro إلى الجيش الأمريكي.  ولقد أثار هذا التقرير مخاوف كبيرة بشأن استخدام البيانات ومراقبة الناس.

بعد ساعات من نشر موقع Vice للتقرير، أعلن تطبيق Muslim Pro بأنه لم يعد يعمل مع شركة X-mode .

جاء هذا الإعلان بعد فوات الأوان، حيث لجأ المسلمون في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى الإنترنت للتنديد بالتطبيق، وبالطبع لم يخلو الأمر من بعض الفكاهة من خلال إطلاق الميمز التي أصبحت أسلوب السخرية الخاص بهذا الجيل. لذا جمعنا لكم أطرف ما نشر حول هذه الفضيحة.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

شارك هذا المقال

10 Memes That Sum Up Muslim Pro’s Data Scandal

Let's just say, you're going to want to uninstall the app.

by

Muslim Pro is making sure 2020’s streak of bad luck continues. The seemingly innocuous app that Muslims around the globe use to track prayer times has sold sensitive data on its 98 million users to a branch of the US military tasked with counterterrorism. 

The news was revealed in a bombshell report by Vice’s Motherboard just yesterday, sending the internet in a frenzy. 

The move was later confirmed by the US military, explaining that the data was used to “support Special Operations Forces mission requirements overseas.” But it wasn’t all a straightforward transaction. At its centre is a data firm called X-Mode. 

As per the report, X-Mode “encourages app developers to incorporate SDK, essentially a bundle of code, into their own apps. The SDK then collects the app users’ location data and sends it to X-Mode; in return, X-Mode pays the app developers a fee based on how many users each app has.”

Muslim Pro did exactly that. X-Mode then sold the data to the US military; meaning Muslim Pro users’ location data ultimately wound up at the hands of the American military. Naturally, the report raised major concerns regarding the use of data, and the surveillance of people. 

Hours after Vice published the report, Muslim Pro announced that it would no longer work with X-mode. 

But it was too late, Muslims around the globe took to the internet to denounce the app, and not without humour, of course. After all, memes are this generation’s go-to coping mechanism. To sum it all up, we rounded up the funniest to arise out of the scandal. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this article