علامة 2D2C2M تطلق أول عرض أزياء سعودي مستقل

ترتقي العلامة بمشهد الموضة في المملكة

by

يقول أحمد الوهيبي المدير الإبداعي لعلامة (Too Dark To See Tomorrow (2D2C2M القائمة في الرياض “لطالما كان التدفق الدؤوب للأفكار الإبداعية دافعاً لاستمراري في ابتكار التصاميم”. لقد اكتسب هذا المصمم السعودي مكانة مرموقة في مشهد الموضة المحلي منذ تأسيس علامته في عام 2015. 

لاقت العلامة رواجاً كبيراً في جميع أنحاء المنطقة من خلال إطلاق سلسلة متاجر في الرياض ودبي تزّخر بمجموعات من الكنزات بقبعات والقمصان المطبّعة برسومات وشعارات ملفتة. كما قام الوهيبي بالتعاون مع Frame وهو متجر تزلج شهير قائم في دبي بتوسيع مجموعة علامته في عام 2019 والتي تضمنت تي شيرت حصري مُصمم للاحتفاء بإطلاق الدورة الحادية عشرة من فاشن فورورد دبي “Fashion Forward Dubai“.

وفي نفس العام أطلقت علامة 2 D2C2M متجراً في Sole DXB، كما أطلقت في عام 2020 حملة Creepin ‘Up On You حيث أشرف الوهيبي على تثبيت عدد من اللوحات التي تعرض شعارات ورسائل في جميع أنحاء الرياض.

الآن وبعد مرور خمس سنوات، يرتقي الوهيبي بمشهد الموضة من خلال إطلاق أول عرض أزياء مستقل له في الرياض في في 2 يناير بعنوان ” Homecoming” ليكون أول عرض أزياء مستقل في البلاد على الإطلاق.

“كنت أرغب في تقديم العرض في معرض فني. لقد شاركت الفكرة مع صديقي وارتشيف الذي صادف أن يصبح فيما بعد جزء من المشروع  واقترح إنشاء استوديو للإنتاج الإعلامي”.

إلى جانب وارتشيف المعروف أيضاً باسم محمد الحمدان وهو الممثل الكوميدي السعودي ونجم Arabian Alien ، يتعاون الوهيبي في هذا العرض مع عدد من المبدعين السعوديين، بما في ذلك المصورة المقيمة في الرياض حياة أسامة والمخرج السينمائي طه باجيل.

في أجواء تغمرها الإضاءة الخافتة، تباهت العارضات على منصّة عرض علامة الوهيبي وهن يرتدين أزياء الشارع المينيمالية التي استحوذ عليها اللونين الأبيض والأسود. من مجموعات الملابس الرياضية أحادية اللون والجاكيتات الرياضية بلونين متدرجين إلى جاكيتات البيسبول والكنزات المحبوكة بلونٍ ناعم، تميّزت التصاميم بالقصّات المسترخية والجريئة.

تكشف هذه المجموعة شغف المصمم بالرمزية، حيث تميّز أحد القمصان بطبعة عبارة Never thought our culture would become mainstream ووشاح بعبارة If we don’t build we will be destroyed. كما استخدم الوهيبي في تصاميمه مجموعة من المواد الطبيعية مثل الصوف والكشمير والكتان.

لقد قال “يتغيّر إلهامي من وقت لآخر، حسب مؤثرات الحياة”. في الوقت الراهن يتعدى مصدر إلهامي الموضة والستايل. إنه مصدر إلهام حقيقي”.

شارك هذا المقال

2D2C2M Puts on Saudi Arabia’s First Independent Fashion Show

Taking the Kingdom’s fashion scene to the next level

by

“I find myself in a constant state of novelty, thus I’m always designing,” says Riyadh-based creative director Ahmad Alwohaibi. The Saudi designer established his label Too Dark To See Tomorrow (2D2C2M) in 2015, and the years since have only solidified his mark on the local fashion scene.  

The label made its way around the region through pop-up series in Riyadh and Dubai, introducing collections of hoodies and t-shirts adorned with graphics and catchy slogans. Alwohaibi expanded his brand’s repertoire further in 2019, collaborating with Dubai-based skate shop Frame on an exclusive T-shirt to mark Fashion Forward Dubai’s 11th edition.

That same year, 2D2CM set up shop at Sole DXB and in 2020 launched its their Creepin’ Up On You campaign with Alwohaibi curating a number of banners around Riyadh displaying slogans and messages. 

Now five years in, Alwohaibi began thinking up his next step. On January 2 in Riyadh, he made it happen: his first independent runway show entitled ‘Homecoming’, and the nation’s first totally independent runway show. 

“I wanted to stage the show in an art gallery. I shared the idea with my friend Warchieff—who happened to be part of the project later—and he suggested a media production studio.”

Alongside Warchieff—aka Mohammed AlHamdan, the Saudi comedian and star of Arabian Alien—Alwohaidi partnered up with a number of Saudi creatives for the show, including  Riyadh-based photographer Hayat Osamah and film director Taha Baageel.

In the dark dim lit venue, the models flaunted Alwohaidi’s minimalist streetwear looks in a black and white dominated palette. From monochrome activewear sets and two-tone ombré jumpers to baseball jackets and soft-colour knit sweaters, the pieces were equally laid-back as they were rebellious. 

Of course, the designer stayed true to his love for symbolism. One shirt read ‘Never thought our culture would become mainstream’ and a scarf was adorned with the phrase ‘If we don’t build we will be destroyed’. Alwohaidi also used a host of natural materials such as wool, cashmere and linen for his collection.

“My inspiration changes from time to time, depending on where I am at in life. Currently, my source of inspiration goes beyond fashion and styles. It’s a real-life inspiration,” he says. 

 

Share this article