5 كتب لمؤلفين عرب تستحق القراءة

حان الوقت لإضافة هذه الكتب إلى قائمة القراءة الخاصة بكم

by

مع انتهاء فصل الصيف وانقضاء أوقات المرح والاسترخاء بجانب حوض السباحة، حان الوقت لإثراء مكتبتكم بمجموعة من الكتب الجديدة والقيّمة.

وإن كنتم لم تحددوا بعد نوع الكتب التي قد يمكنكم قراءتها أو مازلتم مترددين في انتقاء مجموعتكم القيّمة، نعرض لكم خمسة كتب جديدة لمؤلفين عرب تستحق القراءة.

نساؤنا على الأرض: مقالات بقلم نساء عربيات من العالم العربي (2019)

يسلط هذا الكتاب الضوء على مجموعة رائعة من المقالات التي كتبتها صحفيات عربيات حطّمن الصورة النمطيّة بتغطيتهن للنزاعات في المنطقة بكل جرأة وقوة في مواجهة تغطية الغرب لأحداث العالم العربي، حيث تتعالى أصوات الصحفيات من المنطقة في محاولة لعرض رؤية صادقة بتنا بأمس الحاجة إليها لسرد روايات أكثر تعقيداً ودقة تعكس واقع ما يحدث في أوطانهن.

حرب المئة عام على فلسطين: لرشيد الخالدي (2020)

100 years war on palestineيوثق كتاب “حرب المئة عام على فلسطين” قصة الاستعمار الاستيطاني والمقاومة الفلسطينية منذ بدايتها، حيث يعرض المؤرخ الفلسطيني الأمريكي رشيد الخالدي رؤيته بطريقة غير مسبوقة مستنداً إلى تقارير تجارب أجيال من أفراد العائلات الفلسطينية ممن عاشوا تلك الحرب ويوثّق لقاءات مع أعضاء منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، كما يسلط الضوء بجرأة على إخفاقات القيادة الفلسطينية والعربية، ويعرض صورة حقيقة وصادقة عن الواقع الاستعماري لفلسطين.

جمال وجهك لسحر مصطفى (2020)

the beauty of your faceتتبع هذه القصة حياة عفاف رحمن وهي ابنة لمهاجرين فلسطينيين تعمل مديرة لمدرسة إسلامية للفتيات في ضواحي شيكاغو، تعاني من واقع مرعب إثر قيام متطرف بإطلاق النار على المدرسة. تسلط الرواية الضوء على حاضر عفاف وماضيها، وما واجهته في طفولتها من ألم جراء التحيز والعنصرية وكراهية الأجانب في وسط اختفاء أختها الكارثي.

خليل: رواية لياسمينة خضرة (2021)

khalilتتميّز رواية “خليل” للمؤلف الجزائري ياسمينة خضرة صاحب الكتب الأكثر مبيعاً بأحداثها المثيرة والمؤثرة للغاية، وهي تتبع قصة شاب مغربي يروي قصة تورطه في الهجمات الإرهابية التي هزت فرنسا. إنّها رواية فريدة من نوعها ومفعمة بالقوة والجرأة، حيث أنّ أبطالها شخصيات غير عادية، وتتناول قصة رجل يكافح في جميع الأماكن الخاطئة في محاولة للعثور عن إجابات لأسئلة تتمحور حول دينه وعائلته وسياسته.

أسماء الليل الثلاثين: لزين جوخدار 2020

the 30 names of nightتحكي هذه الرواية قصة طفل سوري أمريكي منغلق على نفسه يتخلى عن اسمه ويبحث عن اسم جديد بعد خمس سنوات من مقتل والدته عالمة الطيور إثر حريق مشبوه. يسلط المؤلف من خلال هذه الرواية الضوء على قصص جرت أثناء الانتداب الفرنسي في سورية، وقصة حي في مانهاتن أطلق عليه سابقاً اسم “سورية الصغيرة”، بالإضافة إلى قصص جرت عبر التاريخ، وأخرى عن الأشباح والطيور، وغيرها الكثير في قصص الراشدين غير المألوفة.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Books by Arab Authors Everyone Should Read

It’s time to update your TBR list.

by

Summer is officially over. But while the days of lounging by the pool delving into your new favorite novel have come to a halt, that just means for us is a new set of books are bound to hit our bookshelves.  

And if you are unsure about what to read next, or you just hit a mean reading slump, we’ve got you covered. We’ve rounded up five new books written by Arab authors that you should get your hands on.

Our Women on The Ground : Essays by Arab Women Reporting from the Arab World (2019)

Here is an incredible collection of essays from Arab women journalists reporting on the region’s conflicts. This book steers away from the usual dominant Western coverage of the Arab world by granting voice to the region’s female journalists who offer a much-needed perspective to paint more complex and nuanced accounts of the happenings in their homelands. 

The 100 Year War on Palestine by Rashid Khalidi (2020)

100 years war on palestineThis historical non-fiction thoroughly documents the Palestinian struggle from the very beginning. Backed by reports of generations of family members, to intimate encounters with PLO members, Rashid Khalidi’s book is both illuminating and unprecedented. The Palestinian-American historian does not shy away from pointing out the failures of the Palestinian and Arab leadership while also giving a raw and honest portrayal of Palestine’s colonial reality.

The Beauty of Your Face by Sahar Mustafah (2020)

the beauty of your faceThis coming-of-age tale follows Afaf Rahman, the daughter of Palestinian immigrants and principal of a Muslim school for girls in the suburbs of Chicago, as she grapples with the terrifying reality of a radicalized school shooter. The novel switches between Afaf’s present and past, facing prejudice, racism, and xenophobia as a child amidst her sister’s devastating disappearance

Khalil: A novel by Yasmina Khadra (2021)

khalilWritten by none other than best-selling Algerian author Yasmina Khadra, Khalil is a poignant first-person account of a young Moroccan man’s involvement in the terrorist attacks that rocked France. Unusual and certainly daring, this book brings to life the most unusual of protagonists, a man struggling with questions about his religion, family and politics and looking for answers in all the wrong places.

The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhader (2020)

the 30 names of nightFive years after a suspicious fire killed his ornithologist mother, a closeted Syrian American trans boy sheds his birth name and searches for a new one. Readers will learn about French Mandate Syria, a former Manhattan neighbourhood called Little Syria, trans history, ghosts, birds and more in this unusual coming of age story. 

Share this article