بين عالمين: عبد الطيب يبني ثقافة خاصة به

تعرفوا إلى المصمم الذي يشقّ طريقاً جديداً للموضة السودانية

by

شأنه شأن معظم الأشخاص الذين لديهم جنسيات متعددة، عانى المصمم عبد الطيب المولود في السودان والذي نشأ في فرنسا من أزمات الهوية، إلا أنّه حرص على إعادة تعريف معنى الوطن من خلال مجموعته الأخيرة.

يقول: “تتناول هذه المجموعة قضية الافتقار إلى الهوية الذي يمكن أن يشعر به الأشخاص المنحدرون من أصل أفريقي خلال حياتهم في المجتمعات الأوروبية”. “إنها تسمى المجموعة ’My Nation Bears Your Name‘ وهي حصيلة ثماني سنوات من دراسة الحوار بين السودان وأوروبا”.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collectionأثناء دراسته لتصميم المنسوجات في المدرسة الوطنية العليا للفنون التطبيقية “Olivier de Serres” في باريس، اكتشف الطيب حبه للمنسوجات والحرف اليدوية، لقد برع في كل شيء من الحياكة والنسيج إلى تقنية الشيبوري للصباغة اليدوية، إلا أنّ هذا لم يكن هذا كافياً، فقد كان يسعى لاستثمار تصاميم النسيج في سرد قصص معينة، الأمر الذي دفعه لدراسة الموضة في مدرسة الفنون /La Cambre Mode/s في بروكسل.

كما تعاون فيما بعد مع Margiela و Ann Demeulemeester وقريبا Bottega Veneta، وهذه ليست سوى البداية. لقد عزم الطيب على جلب تراثه السوداني إلى صناعة الموضة، وإذا كان لفوزه بجائزة 254 Forest في عام 2020 أي دلالة، فهي أنّه يسير في الطريق الصحيح. ناهيك عن ترشحه لجائزة Franca Sozzani للمواهب الصاعدة في Fashion Trust Arabia 2021.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collectionويوضح قائلاً: “تتيح لي الموضة فرصة معالجة قضايا مثل الهوية الثقافية ومعنى الوطن في عالم العولمة ودور أصحاب البشرة السوداء في أوروبا، كل ذلك من خلال دمج التراث العربي الأفريقي والحرف اليدوية مع الموضة الغربية”.

بين العطلة الصيفية التي كان يقضيها في السودان والاستماع إلى المغنين الكلاسيكيين مثل محمد وردي وأم كلثوم ظل الطيب وفياً لهويته العربية الأفريقية على الرغم من نشأته في بوردو في فرنسا. وبطبيعة الحال، ظهر تراثه السوداني في إبداعاته المستوحاة من ذكريات طفولته وحكايات عائلته.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collectionيقول الطيب مستذكراً “أتذكر دهشتي من حفلات الزفاف في السودان، حيث كان يسمح لي كطفل بالمساعدة في كل خطوة، بما في ذلك احتفالات النساء. كانت النساء يستعددن من خلال تعطير ملابسهن بالبخور وتزيين أيديهن وأقدامهن بالحناء”.

لقد كانت الألوان الغنية والأقمشة والذهب وملامح الفرح والبهجة في احتفالات الرقص مصدر إلهام كبير، حيث يقول “والدتي هي مصدر إلهامي الأول، لطالما أدهشني إحساسها بالألوان وذوقها في اختيار قماش ثوبها!”.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collectionتظهر مجموعة التخرج “My Nation Bears Your Name” عارضات يلوحن بالعلم السوداني، وهي لحظة تذكرنا بحفلات افتتاح الألعاب الأولمبية. شأنه شأن المشاهير أمثال عز الدين عليّة وThierry Mugler، يحب الطيب التلاعب بالتفاصيل المتميّزة والأشكال المنحوتة. قام المصمم بالاحتفاء بالسلال المصنوعة من أوراق النخيل التقليدية من موطنه من خلال ابتكار “نموذج أصلي” مستوحى من شكل السلال.

ويشرح قائلاً: “لقد ألهمني تمثال Spoon Woman للفنان Alberto Giacometti، لذا فإن الجانب النحتي حاضر مع فكرة الخصوبة لدولة أم تنقل ثقافتها إلى طفلها”.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collectionإلى جانب استخدام الأقمشة الطبيعية مثل صوف الجبردين واللودن البحري والبوبلين القطني، قام الطيب بدمج تقنيات صناعة السلال (المحبوكة من أوراق النخيل الجافة التي تعلمها مع ابن عم جدته في السودان) مع التطريز والزخرفات التي ميّزت كل قطع المجموعة.

ثم أضاف “هذه التقنية هي خبرة حقيقية وكنز الأجداد من السودان، إلا أنّ هيمنة العولمة في البلاد قد ساهم في طمس المهن الحرفية والتقليدية، مما حال دون انتقال التقنيات بين الأجيال وتعرضها للضياع “.

 

الاعتمادات:
الإخراج الفني: Pierre Daras و Gretar Gunnlaugsson لـ254forest Studio
الموديلات: Sokhna و Lynca من وكالة IMMBXL

شارك هذا المقال

Born Between Two, Abdel El Tayeb Built a Nation of His Own

Meet the designer carving a new path for Sudanese fashion

by

Like most multi-nationals, Sudanese-born, French-raised designer Abdel El Tayeb had his fair share of identity crises. But he’s eager to redefine the meaning of home, and his latest collection does exactly that. 

“This collection addresses the lack of identification that people from African descendance can feel while living in European societies,” he says. “It’s called ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’. It is the culmination of eight years of study, in a dialogue between Sudan and Europe.”

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionWhile studying textile design at Olivier de Serres school in Paris, El Tayeb discovered his love for textiles and handicrafts. From knitting and weaving to shibori dyeing, he’s done it all. But that wasn’t enough. He wanted to apply textile design to a particular narrative, leading him to La Cambre Mode/s/ in Brussels to study fashion.

That was followed by stints at Margiela and Ann Demeulemeester, and soon, Bottega Veneta—and he’s just getting started. El Tayeb is determined to bring his Sudanese heritage to the fashion industry. If his win of 254 Forest Prize in 2020, is of any indication, he’s well on his way. Not to mention his run for Fashion Trust Arabia 2021’s Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collection“Fashion allows me to address issues like cultural identity, the meaning of home in a world of globalization and the role of Black people in Europe, all through merging Arab-African heritage and craftsmanship with western fashion,” he explains.

Between summer holidays in Sudan and listening to classics like Mohammed Wardi and Umm Kulthum, El Tayeb remained true to his Arab-African identity despite growing up in Bordeaux, France. Naturally, his Sudanese heritage bled into his creations, drawing inspiration from his childhood memories and family anecdotes.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collection“I remember being amazed by wedding ceremonies in Sudan. As a kid I was allowed to assist with every step, including exclusively female ceremonies. Women were getting ready by perfuming their outfits with incense and adorning their hands and feet with henna,” he recalls.

The richness of colors and fabrics, notes of gold and the joy in dance ceremonies were inevitably a source of inspiration. “My mother is my first muse. Her color sense and fabric choices when she wears the thobe is just amazing!” he adds.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionAbdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ CollectionHis graduate collection ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ sees models waving an iteration of the Sudanese flag, a moment reminiscent of opening ceremonies at the Olympic games. Like his idols Azzedine Alaïa and Thierry Mugler, El Tayeb loves to play with proportions and sculpted silhouettes. He took to honor traditional palm-leaves baskets from his home country by creating his ‘archetypal body’ around the silhouette of the baskets. 

“I was inspired by Alberto Giacometti’s ‘Spoon Woman’, the sculptural aspect is therefore present, with a notion of fertility, of a mother country transmitting its culture to her child,” he explains.

Abdel el Tayeb, ‘My Nation Bears Your Name’ Collection
Alongside using natural fabrics like wool gabardine, navy loden and cotton popeline, El Tayeb incorporated the techniques of basketry—consisting of weaving dry palm leaves—which he learned with his grandmother’s cousin in Sudan, into embroidery and ornaments seen throughout the collection.

“This technique is a real savoir faire and ancestral treasure from Sudan. However, the weight of globalization in the country has contributed to the erasure of craftsmen and artisans. As a result, the techniques are no longer transmitted and tend to be lost,” he added.

 

Credits:
Art Direction: Pierre Daras and Gretar Gunnlaugsson for 254forest Studio
Models: Sokhna and Lynca from IMMBXL Agency

Share this article