addiction in the arab world

نحن لا نتناول بما فيه الكفاية موضوع الإدمان في العالم العربي

مجرد أفكار عابرة

addiction in the arab world

صباح آخر ومحاولة أخرى لاستيعاب فوضى الليلة الماضية،  إلّا أنّني هذه المرة لا أشعر بالصّداع الذي يشعر به معظم النّاس بعد قضاء ليلة في الخارج، لقد نسيت أن أذكر أيضاً أنّ هذا ما يحدث لي كل صباح أربعاء.

أنا لست رجلاً مثاليّاً، أشعر أنّني أصارع وأعاني من كل النواحي بدءاً من المواعدة إلى حالة الاكتئاب التي أعيشها إلى علاقتي المتذبذبة بإيماني، ورغم معاناتي من بعض الإدمان لكن لا أعتقد  أنّني وحدي في هذا، حيث تقول الأرقام في الحقيقة عكس ذلك تماماً، كما أنّ بعضنا مدمن على السّكر والحلويات، والبعض الآخر مدمن على الإنترنت، أمّا أنا فمدمن على أي شيء من شأنه أن يهدئ عقلي ويمنعني من الإفراط في التفكير.

وفقًا لدراسة استقصائية تخصّ الشباب العربي تم إجراؤها من قبل (Arab Youth Survey) في عام 2019، ادعى 45 بالمائة من المشاركين في هذا الاستطلاع أنّ تعاطي المخدرات بالنسبة لهم هو طريقة فعالة في تخفيف التوتر، كما يرى 43 في المائة أنّ التعاطي بمثابة وسيلة للتوقّف عن الشّعور بالملل،  وفقاً لهذا المقياس، نستطيع أن نقول أنّ هنالك عدداً قليلاً من الأشخاص من بينهم أنا بالطّبع، يجدون صعوبة في البقاء بمفردهم لفترة طويلة بسبب صراعاتهم المختلفة مع أفكارهم الخاصة.

وفقاً لحالتي يرجع أساس إدماني لرغبتي بفعل أي شيء يستطيع تشويشي وإبعادي عن التفكير الزائد. يصل الأمر بي أحياناً لعدم قدرتي على النوم بدون تناول شيء ما إلا في حالات استثنائية نادرة أكون فيها مستسلماً للنوم أو بعد مرور بضع ساعات من التقلّب في السرير. إنني مدمن منذ مدّة لا بأس بها بشكل أو بآخر فهذا ليس شيئاً جديداً أو مفاجئاً.

بالحديث عن نفسي، أعلم أن هذا السلوك أبعد ما يكون عن الصحة، لكنّه في الحقيقة يعكس أيضاً الواقع القاسي الذي عاشته المنطقة في العشر سنوات الماضية والتي كانت أكثر الفترات تزعزعاً واضطراباً خلال العقدين الماضيين،  مع مثل هذه الأوضاع والظروف غير المستقرّة، فليس من المفاجئ أن يكون هنالك ثلاثة من كل عشرة أشخاص من العالم العربي (29 بالمائة) يعانون من الاكتئاب وذلك وفقاً للباروميتر العربي. الحقيقة هي أنّنا نعيش ضمن واقع اجتماعي واقتصادي أليم.

على كل حال إن منطقتنا يظهرعليها علامات واضحة من التّعب والإرهاق، وخاصةً بين الأجيال الشابّة مما جعل المواد المخدرة من الرباط إلى القاهرة وغيرها تصبح الوسيلة التي يلجأ إليها الشباب لعيش بعض اللحظات الخالية من الكآبة والملل حتّى لو كان مفعولها مؤقتاً ويتبعها عواقب وخيمة.

وسيصبح من الصّعب السيطرة على الوضع في حال استمرّت مجتمعاتنا بالاستخفاف وعدم الاكتراث لأمور التعاطي والشرب، كما تقف تبعات هذا الموضوع حائلاً أمام فسح المجال للاعتراف بالاعتماد أو ما يتلوه من حملات إرشادية أو طرق علاجية مناسبة. نعلم جميعاً أن الخطوة الأولى في طريق التعافي هي الإقرار بالألم الذي تشعر به، وقد أثبتت الاستشارة بالفعل أنها أحد الحلول الأكثر فعالية واستدامة لمثل هذه القضايا واسعة النطاق، فلماذا لا نساعد في تولي زمام الأمور أكثر؟

تعاني مرافق الرّعاية الطبية العامّة في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي بالفعل من مشاكل ملحّة في التمويل. إلى جانب ميلنا الدائم عند معالجة هذه الأمور للاختباء خلف فكرة أنّ هذه المواد من الممنوعات، فإننا نفتقر إلى تعدّد الخيارات عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإرشاد وإعادة التأهيل، وبفرض أنّ عدد الذين عانوا من الإدمان قليل جدّاً لدرجة أنهم لن يستطيعوا أن يمثلوا حافزاً للآخرين للتغيير، فعلينا جميعاً أن ندعو سلطاتنا المعنيّة لإيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام لهذه الظروف التي عانت بسببها أجيال بأكملها، وخصوصاً بعد أن رأينا أنّ سلسلة عمليات الإغلاق الأخيرة بسبب فيروس كورونا قد زادت الوضع سوءاً.

سأقول هذا دائماً: إذا أمكنك تجنّب الاعتماد أو الإدمان على أي شيء، فافعل ذلك. ولكن إذا كنت تعاني من ضعف الإرادة ولا تمتلك القوّة الكافية للقيام بذلك، حاول الاسترخاء ولا تشعر بالذنب الشديد.  لقد مرّ ما يقارب عامين على انتشار الجائحة العالميّة ومن المحتمل أن نكون على شفا حرب عالمية ثالثة، فخذ نفساً عميقاً واسترخي واطلب المساعدة عندما تحتاجها.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

addiction in the arab world

We Don’t Talk Enough About Addiction in the Arab World

Just thoughts passing by

addiction in the arab world

Another morning, another realization of the previous night’s mess. Except that this time, I don’t have the headache most people feel after a night out. I forgot to mention, this is happening on a Wednesday morning.

I’m anything but a perfect man. I struggle with everything from dating, to depression and my faith. I also struggle with some addictions. But I don’t think that I’m the only one. In fact, numbers say quite the opposite. Some are addicted to sugar and sweets, others to the internet. I am addicted to anything that’ll lull my brain and stop me from overthinking. 

According to the Arab Youth Survey which was conducted in 2019, 45 percent of respondents from the region claimed that substance use is a form of stress relief. Just behind, 43 percent see that same process as a way to stop feeling bored. By this measure, it’s safe to say that quite a few people, just like me, find it hard to stay alone too long with their own thoughts.

In my case, the backbone of my addiction relies on my will to do anything to fog the overthinking. It sometimes gets to the point where I can’t consider going to sleep without doing something (unless I’m willing to toss and turn in bed for a couple of hours of course). And this is nothing new. I’ve been an addict in one form or another for as long as I can remember. 

Speaking for myself, I know that this is no sign of good health. It’s also a reflection of a harsh reality in the region. The last ten years were some of the most unstable the region has seen in the past couple of decades. With such unstable settings and situations, it comes as no real surprise that, according to Arab Barometer, roughly three-in-ten people from the Arab World (29 percent) claim to suffer from depression. The truth is, we’re living through a distressing socio-economic reality. 

Not to not condone it, however, it remains true that our region does show explicit signs of dolor. Especially amongst younger generations. From Rabat to Cairo and beyond, substances have become a go-to for the youth to blow the cloudy dull moments away. Even if it’s temporary and full of nasty consequences. 

If our societies already turn a blind eye to using and boozing, dependency is even further disregarded and consequentially dismissed when brought up to the table. Taboos surrounding the topic don’t allow for the initial acknowledgement phase of the habit to take place, or the ensuing prevention campaigns and relevant treatment. We all know that the first step towards healing is acknowledging the pain you’re feeling. And counselling has already proven to be one of the most sustainable solutions to such wide-scale issues, so why aren’t we taking that on? 

General medical care facilities across the Arab world are already faced with pressing troubles of funding. Coupled with our tendency to always seek refuge under the great umbrella of taboo when addressing these matters, we’re short of options when it comes to counselling and rehabilitation. If they are already too few in number to realistically be the catalyst of any sort of change, we collectively should call on our respective authorities to pay more attention to these conditions that are factually plaguing through entire generations. And we’ve seen it worsen beneath our own eyes, the recent series of lockdowns really did not help.

I’ll always say this: if you can avoid being dependent on anything, do it. But if you’re struggling to find that brainwave and strength to do so, cut yourself some slack and try to not feel too guilty. We’re almost two years into a global scale pandemic and potentially on the brink of a third world war. Take a deep breath, relax, and seek help when you need it. 

Share this article