5 طرقٍ تنقذ من خلالها أفريقيا كوكبنا

مستقبل البيئة في أيدي هذه القارة

by

في العام الماضي، شاهدنا ترامب ينسحب من معاهدة باريس للمناخ، وفي نفس الوقت رأينا أفريقيا تصبح مقراً لأول قمة مناخ أقليمية من خلال استضافتها لقمة “تشانس” للمناخ في أكرا، عاصمة غانا. ورغم أنها من أكثر مناطق العالم مساهمةً في إطلاق غازات الكربون، إلا أنها من أكثر المتضررين من الآثار الكارثية للتغير المناخي

فحسب التقارير المناخية، تعتبر هذه القارة أكثر القارات ضعفاً في مواجهة الفيضانات والجفاف والضرر الحراري، ويتجه قادتها بشكلٍ متسارع نحو اتخاذ قرارات مستدامة تحمي البيئة ويجب على جميع قادة العالم الاحتذاء بهم. 

اكتشفوا المساهمات المناخية التي تقوم بها أفريقيا لجعل كوكبنا أكثر صحة.

رؤية رواندا 2020
إذا كانت هناك دولة واحدة تقدم مثالاً صحيحاً عما يجب القيام به، فهي رواندا. تمكنت هذه الدولة من زيادة نموها الاقتصادي بشكل كبير مع مراعاة الاستدامة. خلال العقد الماضي، احتلت قضية المناخ الحيّز الأكبر في كل القرارات الوطنية أو المحلية. كانت هذه الدولة من بين الأوائل في العالم التي حظرت استعمال الأكياس البلاستيكية في عام 2008. كما أنها خطت خطوات هامة في زيادة مساحة الغابات لتغطي 30% من مساحة الأرض بحلول عام 2020. كما أن كل مواطن رواندي مطالب بالمشاركة في يوم التنظيف الذي يقام يوم السبت الأخير من كل شهر. كما تنظّم الدولة أياماً يمنع فيها استخدام السيارات.

الطاقة المتجددة في كيب تاون
تعد الإجراءات التي اتخذتها كيب تاون أحد الأسباب التي جعلت من دولة جنوب إفريقيا رائدة عالمية في المجال المناخي، حيث احتلت تلك المدينة المرتبة الخامسة في الترتيب العالمي للمدن الصديقة للبيئة في عام 2018. تقوم المدينة حالياً بإنتاج 10-20 في المائة من طاقتها من مصادر متجددة، مما يقلل من انبعاثات الكربون فيها بنسبة 4.1 في المائة في عام واحد فقط.

محطة ورزازات للطاقة الشمسية في المغربMorocco’s Ouarzazate Solar Power Stationلطالما كان المغرب رائداً في حماية البيئة. وبفضل إطلاق محطة ورزازات للطاقة الشمسية، أصبحت الدولة الواقعة في شمال إفريقيا الآن من بين الدول الرائدة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة في العالم. المحطة، التي يطلق عليها غالبًا محطة نور للطاقة هي أكبر مزرعة للطاقة الشمسية المركزة في العالم، وتغطي مساحة 2500 هكتار.

صندوق One Acre Fund في كينيا
لمواجهة خطر الجفاف التام، سارع الكينيون لإنقاذ الوضع (نظراً لأن الزراعة تمثل ربع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي للبلاد). ولهذا ازدهرت العديد من الشركات الكينية الزراعية في السنوات الأخيرة، وجميعها تركز على البيئة، ومن بينها شركة Safi Organics، التي تحول النفايات الزراعية إلى سماد مما سمح للمزارعين بزيادة الإنتاج بنسبة 30 في المائة على الرغم من الجفاف. وبدورها، أطلقت الحكومة الكينية منحة “One Acre Fund” للمزارعين لتشجيع استخدام السماد العضوي، حيث قدمت لهم قروض بقيمة 100 دولار يتم سدادها بعد ذلك بعد عام. 

الشوارع المضاءة بالطاقة الشمسية في أوغنداUganda’s Solar Powered Streetsفي مدينة جينجا في أوغندا، أصبحت الشوارع المضاءة بالطاقة الشمسية هي القاعدة. فتكلفتها أقل بـ 25 في المائة من الأضواء التقليدية، كما أنها ساهمت في انخفاض الجرائم وازدهار الأعمال مع تمديد ساعات العمل. كما وضعت عاصمة الدولة خطة فعالة لإدارة النفايات وإعادة تدويرها من خلال الشراكة مع جامعي النفايات الذين يتلقون الآن راتباً لإدارة النفايات.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Ways Africa is Fighting to Save Our Planet

From Morocco to Uganda - this is the future of environmentalism

by

Last year we witnessed Trump make the decision to pull out of the Paris Climate Deal, meanwhile Africa made itself home to the world’s first regional climate summit by hosting the Climate Chance Summit in Accra. The main reason is that despite being responsible for a fraction of the world’s carbon emissions, Africa will be one of the places to feel the deadly effects of climate change

According to the IPCC’s report, the continent is particularly vulnerable to threats of severe flooding, drought and heat stress—and leaders are quickly taking a turn towards sustainability as a proactive approach. And their efforts should be taken as a global example of how to handle the world’s impending climate crisis

These are the African climate initiatives that will make our world better.

Rwanda’s Vision 2020
If there’s one nation that’s setting the right example, it’s Rwanda. The country has managed to exponentially increase its economic growth, and they’re doing it with sustainability in mind. For the last decade, the climate was at the heart of every national or local policy. The nation was among the first in the world to ban plastic bags in 2008. They’ve also made massive strides to increase the forest to cover 30 per cent of land area by 2020. Also, every Rwandan national is required to take part of national clean-up day that’s held on the last Saturday of every month. Car-free days are also common. 

Cape Town’s Renewable Energy
The capital city of Cape Town is one of the reasons South Africa has become a global leader on climate action. The city was ranked among the top five in the world in 2018. The city currently sources 10-20 per cent of its energy from renewable sources, reducing its carbon emissions by 4.1 per cent in just one year. 

Morocco’s Ouarzazate Solar Power Station
Morocco’s Ouarzazate Solar Power StationMorocco has long been a leader in the continent’s move towards environmentalism. And thanks to the launch of Ouarzazate Solar Power Station, the North African nation is now amongst the world’s leading powers. The station, which is often called the Noor power station is the world’s largest concentrated solar power farm, covering an area of 2,500 hectares. 

Kenya’s ‘One Acre Fund’
Facing the threat of total drought, Kenyans were quick to respond (which makes sense considering that agriculture accounts for a fourth of the nation’s annual GDP). With farming at stake, many Kenyan businesses have been flourishing in recent years, and they’re all environmentally-focused, among them is Safi Organics, which turns agricultural waste into a fertilizer that has to-date yielded farmers an increase of 30 per cent in produce, despite the droughts. In turn, the Kenyan government launched the ‘One Acre Fund’ grant to farmers to encourage the product’s use, offering them $100 loans that are then paid back after a year. 

Uganda’s Solar Powered Streets
Uganda’s Solar Powered StreetsIn Jinja, Uganda, solar power street lights are now the norm. Not only have they cost the nation 25 per cent less than conventional lights, their implementation has also led to a decline in crimes and a boom in business as business hours were extended. The nation’s capital has also made an effective plan for waste management and recycling by formally partnering up with waste pickers who now receive a salary for managing waste.

Share this article