آلاء بلخي تطلق دليل المبدعين العرب

الفنّانة السعودية تعرض المواهب المحليّة

by

على الرغم من أنّ الشهر الماضي قد شهد خروج المتظاهرين إلى شوارع لبنان وفلسطين وسوريا وتونس في موقف احتجاجي ضدّ العنصريّة، إلا أنّ النضال لم يقف عند هذا الحد.

بروح جريئة متعطّشة لإجراء التغيير، يتابع الشباب العرب مسيرتهم النضاليّة على مواقع الإنترنت لمناهضة العنصريّة المتجذّرة، إنّ هذه الحركة قد دفعت الشباب العربي إلى مواجهة التاريخ الخفي لتجارة الرقيق العربي والاعتراف بتأصّل العقليّة الاستعماريّة، كما أنّها حفّزتهم على البحث عن سبل التخلّص من العنصريّة.

الآن وبغية إحراز التقدّم في هذه المحادثات، يتطلّع العرب إلى استعادة مساحتهم في المشهد الإعلامي العربي، وهي المساحة التي يهيمن عليها إلى حدٍّ كبير أشخاص من غير العرب.

على مدى الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، قام المصوّرون والمخرجون والمصمّمون والفنّانون والممثّلون والكتّاب العرب بشكل ملحوظ بمواجهة العلامات التجاريّة والمنشورات السائدة التي قصّرت بحق المواهب العربيّة ولم تمنحها الفرص التي تستحق.

إلا أنّ آلاء بلخي قد عثرت على الحل. قرّرت المبدعة السعوديّة التي تقطن في نيويورك إنشاء دليل على الإنترنت يجمع المبدعين العرب الناشئين والجدد.

كتبت في منشور على الإنستاغرام لمشاركة الدليل “لا مزيد من الأعذار”.

إنّ هذا الدليل أكثر من مجرّد قائمة إبداعيّة تحتفي بمشاركة المبدعين العرب، حيث تسعى بلخي (التي أسّست أيضاً Minnana وهو عبارة عن بودكاست عربي يوفّر مساحة للنساء العربيّات للتعبير عن رأيهن) إلى تخليص الصناعة من عنصريّتها المتجذّرة.

 تقول آلاء بأنّ القائمة تضمّ الآن أكثر من 1500 بوابة. يمكنكم أن تجدوا في هذه القائمة أسماء ومعلومات الاتصال الخاصّة بكل أشكال الإبداع العربي. تبحثون عن رسّام؟ هناك قائمة طويلة من الفنّانين الناشئين لإضافتها إلى مشروعكم القادم. أو قد تبحثون عن منسّق شعر أو رسّام رسوم متحركة أو مخرج فنّي أو حتّى خطّاط. يوجد هناك فنّان عربي يناسب متطلّباتكم في هذه القائمة.

شارك هذا المقال

Alaa Balkhy Launches an Arab Creatives Directory

The Saudi artist showcases local talent

by

Last month saw demonstrators take to the streets of Lebanon, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia in a stance against racism. The fight didn’t’ stop there. 

Hungry for change, young Arabs have not been shy to continue addressing the deeply ingrained issue of anti-blackness online—a move that led the Arab youth confront the hidden history of the Arab Slave Trade, acknowledge colonial mentality and ultimately, look for ways to unlearn racism. 

Now, and in order to take these conversations further, Arabs are looking to reclaim their space within in the Arab media landscape—a space that’s largely dominated by non-Arabs. 

Over the past few weeks, Arab photographers, directors, stylists, artists, actors and writers have increasingly confronted the brands and mainstream publications that have fallen short in reeling in Arab talent under their umbrellas. 

So Alaa Balkhy came up with a solution. The New York and Jeddah-based Saudi creative, decided to create an online directory compiling established and emerging Arab creatives. 

“No more excuses,” she wrote in an Instagram caption to share the directory. 

More than just a creative list celebrating the contribution of Arab creatives, Balkhy (who also founded Minnana, an Arabic podcast that carves out a space for Arab women to speak their mind) seeks to hold the industry accountable for its inherent racism.

According to Alaa, the list has now garnered over 1500 entries. In it you can find the names and contact information to every kind of Arab creative.  Looking for an illustrator? There’s a long list of established artists for you to include in your next project. Or perhaps it’s a hairstylist, animator, art director, or calligrapher that’s needed. Well, there’s an Arab for that here.

Share this article