جوائز الأوسكار تعلن عن متطلبات مبتكرة للشمولية الجديدة

أخبار رائعة للممثلين العرب

by

منذ ظهور حركة #oscarssowhite في عام 2015، تعرضت أكاديمية فنون وعلوم الصور المتحركة لانتقادات شديدة بسبب افتقارها إلى الشمولية. على الرغم من أن الأمر قد استغرق خمس سنوات إلا أنّه كشف رسمياً عن تغييرات حقيقية، حيث أعلنت المنظمة للتو عن اعتماد مجموعة جديدة من معايير التمثيل والشمولية لتوزيع جوائز الأوسكار، وصناعة السينما تحتفي بذلك.

كجزء من مبادرة Academy Aperture لعام 2025 وهي خطة تهدف إلى زيادة الشمولية في صناعة السينما، سيُطلب الآن من الافلام تقديم نموذج سري لمعايير الأكاديمية ليتم اعتمادها في الحصول على الجائزة الأكثر شهرة “جائزة أفضل فيلم”.

تعتبر هذه الخطوة بمثابة خطوة تاريخية يمكن أن تضع حداً للصورة النمطيّة الخاصة بالأقليات والأشخاص الملونين بمن فيهم العرب في هذه الصناعة. بعد أحداث 11 سبتمبر تم تصنيف الممثلين العرب كممثلين مناسبين لأداء أدوار الإرهابيين أو مليارديرات النفط الأثرياء، ولكن مع تزايد مطالب التمثيل على مر السنين بدأ هذا الأمر بالتغير تدريجياً.

في العام الماضي قامت الأكاديمية بخطوة كبيرة من خلال تكريم رامي مالك وهو أول عربي يحصل على جائزة أفضل ممثل. بعيداً عن الأكاديمية، تخطو هوليوود خطوات كبيرة نحو الشمولية الحقيقية حيث لاقى فنانين أمثال رامي يوسف نجاحاً باهراً مع ترشيحات جائزة إيمي وحصول روايات وطاقم العمل الذين احتضنوا التجربة العربية على جائزة غولدن غلوب.

والآن في ظل المعايير الجديدة التي فرضتها الأكاديمية، سيتم هيكلة صناعة السينما ككل بشكل قسري لاعتماد الشمولية في حال كانوا يرغبون في الترشح لجائزة الصناعة المحبوبة.

لكي تؤخذ هذه الأفلام بعين الاعتبار، يجب أن تتوافق مع أربع مجموعات جديدة من المعايير. يجب أن يقدموا تمثيلًاً على الشاشة، بالإضافة إلى التنوع في المناصب القيادية الإبداعية وطاقم العمل، وتوفير إمكانية الوصول إلى مجموعات الأقليات من خلال التدريب المهني أو التدريب الداخلي، أو يكون لديهم فريق تسويق ودعاية وتوزيع متنوع.

تتساءلون كيف ستفرض الأكاديمية هذه المتطلبات؟ لتلبية متطلبات معيار التمثيل على الشاشة يجب أن يتضمن الفيلم ممثلاً من مجموعة عرقية أو إثنية غير ممثلة بما يكفي إما كممثل رئيسي أو ممثل مساعد أساسي. يمكن للأفلام أيضاً التأهل إذا كان 30% على الأقل من الممثلين من النساء أو مجموعة عرقية غير ممثلة بشكل كافٍ، أو أعضاء في مجتمع ميم و/ أو المعاقين. إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك، فيجب أن تركز قصة الفيلم على مجموعة غير ممثلة بما يكفي.

لم تدخل المتطلبات الجديدة حيز التنفيذ بعد. اعتباراً من عام 2022 يجب أن تلتزم السينما بواحد على الأقل من المتطلبات المذكورة أعلاه لتكون مؤهلة للحصول على جائزة الأوسكار لأفضل فيلم. بدءاً من عام 2024 يجب أن يلتزم أي فيلم مرشح لجائزة أفضل فيلم بمعيارين على الأقل من المعايير الأربعة.

صرّح كل من رئيس الأكاديمية ديفيد روبين والرئيس التنفيذي دون هدسون في بيان مشترك “يجب أن تتسع فتحة العدسة لتعكس تنوع سكان العالم في كل من ابتكار الصور المتحركة والجماهير التي تتواصل معها” ثم أضافا “تلتزم الأكاديمية بدور حيوي لجعل هذا التغيير حقيقة واقعية “.

شارك هذا المقال

The Oscars Announce Groundbreaking New Diversity Requirements

Huge news for Arab actors

by

Since the #oscarssowhite movement took off in 2015, the Academy of Motional Picture Arts and Sciences has been under fire for its lack of diversity. It took five years, but real changes have officially been made. The organisation just announced a new set of representation and inclusion standards for the Oscars—and the industry is celebrating. 

As part of their Academy Aperture 2025 initiative—a plan to increase diversity in the film industry—films will now be required to submit a confidential Academy Inclusion Standards form to be considered for the most prestigious award: Best Picture. 

The move is historic and could mark the end of stereotypical tropes for minorities and people of colour, including Arabs, in the industry. After 9/11, Arab actors have been pigeonholed into playing the parts of terrorists or oil-rich billionaires, but with increased demands for representation over the years, that has slowly been changing. 

Last year, the Academy proved its strides by making Rami Malek the first Arab to score an award in the Best Actor category. Outside of the Academy, Hollywood as a whole is making major strides towards real diversity, as the likes of Ramy Youssef have seen immense success with Emmy-nominations and Golden Globes wins for storylines and cast members that embrace the Arab experience. 

And now, with the new standards imposed by the Academy, the industry as a whole will now forcibly be structured to embrace diversity, if they wish to be nominated for the industry’s most coveted award. 

To be considered, films must conform to four new sets of standards. They must offer on-screen representation, as well as diversity in creative leadership positions and crew and provide industry access to minority groups via paid apprenticeships or internships, or have a diverse marketing, publicity and distribution team.

Wondering how the Academy will impose the requirements? To satisfy the on-screen representation standard, the film must include an actor from an underrepresented racial or ethnic group as either the leading actor or a significant supporting actor. Films can also qualify if at least 30 per cent of the cast is comprised of women, an underrepresented racial group, members of the LGBTQIA+ community, or are disabled. If not, the main storyline should be centred on an underrepresented group.

The new requirements will not come into play just yet. As of 2022, films must adhere to at least one of the above requirements to be eligible for the Best Picture award. Starting in 2024, any film submitting for best picture must adhere to at least two of the four standards. 

The aperture must widen to reflect our diverse global population in both the creation of motion pictures and in the audiences who connect with them,” said Academy president David Rubin and CEO Dawn Hudson in a joint statement, “The Academy is committed to playing a vital role in helping make this a reality”.

Share this article