فيلم محمد حمّاد الأخير: تحية حبٍّ للهوية السعودية

شاهدوا رؤيته الحميمية لمواضيع العائلة والتعصّب

by

“من أنتَ في خضمّ كل هذه الأحداث؟”… هذا هو السؤال الذي أجاب عنه الفنان السعودي محمد حمّاد 36 عاماً في فيلمه التجريبي #INFINITESINCE83 الذي أنتجه معرض أثر في جدّة. 

انتقل حمّاد المولود في السعودية إلى نيويورك مع والديه عندما كان حديث الولادة. ثم انتقل إلى لندن وباريس حيث كان والدع يعمل لدى خطوط الطيران السعودية. وهنا، قرر هذا الفنان المستقبلي الاعتماد على نفسه وقضاء سنوات العشرين من حياته في السفر حول العالم. 

يعتبر هذا الفيلم تجربةً شخصية حميمية عن معنى أن تنشأ بين ثقافاتٍ متعددة وأن تحمل هويات مختلفة. عادةً ما يتم تدريب الشباب السعوديين على التعبير عن شخصياتهم بصمت. من خلال الدمج بين صورٍ عائلية أرشيفية وصورٍ من أسفاره المتعددة ومحادثات هاتفية مسجلة مع والدته، يقدم فيلم #INFINITESINCE83 صوراً رقيقة وواقعية عن المجتمع السعودي ولمحةً عن نشأة حمّاد ودخوله سن النضج.

Mohammed Hammad filmمثله مثل معظم الشباب العرب الذين يرفضون (ويفشلون) الانتماء إلى صورٍ نمطية محددة مسبقاً في قلب مجتمعاتٍ محافظة، يجد حمّاد صعوبةً في استكشاف هويته وغالباً ما تتحول تلك المحاولة إلى تفاوض مع النفس. لدى نشأته، فشل حمّاد في تحمّل الضغط الاجتماعي المتعلق بالحصول على شهادةٍ جامعية “جيدة” والسير على خطى والده. كونه ينتمي إلى مجتمعٍ يحدد فيه الدين والثقافة والعائلة جميع نواحي الحياة، حافظ حمّاد على بذور تلك النشأة السعودية في حنايا شخصيته، لكنه في ذات الوقت، وجد نفسه يشكك في بعض المعتقدات والقيم التي نشأ عليها. 

وهذا بالتحديد ما يعبر عنه عمله. فهو يستكشف الجوانب المعقدة والمتداخلة لشخصيته خلال سنوات نضوجه من خلال الفن. من خلال أسلوبه الخاص والمميز في التوثيق، يقدم حمّاد نظرة قريبة وغير مسبوقة عن حياة جيل الألفية السعودي المتعددة الأوجه، ويعتبر عمله أشبه بمفكّرة بصرية يسمح للناس باستراق نظرةٍ إليها. وعن هذا يقول “أعتقد أنني خلقت تعمّداً مساحةً جديدةً لنفسي تتيح لي استكشاف العالم الذي أنتمي إليه بطريقةٍ فكرية وفلسفية.”

Mohammed Hammad filmاليوم، يشعر حمّاد بالمزيد من الطمأنينة والهدوء تجاه عائلته وبلده الأم. وهو اليوم يشعر بالفخر لكونه سعودي وانتقل مؤخراً للعيش في المملكة. 

ويضيف: “أتمنى أن يقابل السعوديون الناس على مختلف خلفياتهم الاجتماعية والثقافية بعقلٍ أكثر انفتاحاً وأن يدركوا كم بإمكاننا الاستفادة من بعضنا البعض من خلال تبادل الثقافات والأفكار.” 

يحاول حمّاد تغيير الصورة النمطية عن الشباب السعودي وكيف أنهم محددون في قالبٍ ضيقٍ من الأفكار والمعتقدات، وذلك من خلال تشجيع السعوديين على الانخراط مع الآخرين والتواصل مع وعيهم الداخلي بشكلٍ أكثر إيجابية، دون التفريط بجذورهم وأصولهم. 

ويختتم حمّاد قائلاً: “أعتقد أنني أفتقد التواصل مع جذوري وبناء أساسٍ وشبكة علاقات متينة لي في مكانٍ أستطيع أن أعيش فيه وأصبح جزءاً منه. من الهام خدمة المجتمع الذي تنتمي إليه بطريقةٍ إيجابية والمساهمة في خبراتك وما تعلمته عبر السنوات لكي تساهم في نمو المجتمع ككل.” والآن بعد عودته إلى بلده، حمّاد مستعد لاستعادة حريته والاستعانة بالفن لإحداث تغيير! 

شاهدوا فيلمه على هذا الرابط.

شارك هذا المقال

Mohammed Hammad’s Film is a Defiant Ode to Saudi Identity

Watch his intimate exploration of family and prejudice

by

“Who are you, in the midst of it all?”—This is the question 36-year-old Saudi artist Mohammed Hammad responded to with his experimental video #INFINITESINCE83, commissioned by Jeddah’s Athr Gallery.

Born in Saudi, Hammad moved to New York with his parents when he was a newborn. They then moved to London and Paris, where Hammad’s father worked. This is when the artist-to-be decided to stand on his own feet and travel around the world for the duration of his twenties. 

This deeply personal film is an introspective exploration of what it means to exist between different identities and cultures. Young Saudis, more often than not, are conditioned to express their personality in silence. Integrating archival images of his family and travels as well as phone recordings between him and his mother, #INFINITESINCE83 shares an unseen and tender image of Saudi society, which is framed in to Hammad’s own coming-of-age story. 

Mohammed Hammad filmLike many young Arabs who refuse (and fail) to fit in to a defined box in conservative societies, navigating your identity can feel like a negotiation. Growing up, Hammad couldn’t keep up with the pressure of getting a “good” degree at school and the narrow boundaries set by society. Coming from a country where culture, family and religion shape many aspects of a child’s life, Hammad has always kept a seed of Saudi-ness inside him, but has often found himself reconsidering some of his beliefs and values. 

And this is exactly what his work is about. It explores the complex and conflicting textures of his pivotal young adult years through art. With his idiosyncratic mode of documentation, Hammad offers an up-close and unprecedented glimpse into the multifaceted life and feelings of a Saudi millennial; almost like a visual diary he lets people observe. “I think I’ve just accepted that I’ve unintentionally created a new space for myself to intellectually navigate the worlds that I’m a part of”, he explains.

Mohammed Hammad filmToday, Hammad feels much more at peace with his family and home country. Refusing to keep things under wrap, he is now proud to call the Kingdom his home, where he recently moved back. 

“I hope people in Saudi will approach people no matter what their cultural background is with a bit more of an open mind and realise how we can benefit from each other through a cross pollination of ideas and ways of thinking”, he continues.

Dismantling the idea that young Saudis are by default flattened into a narrow set of ideals, Hammad’s work seeks to encourage his people to think of hybridity and self-awareness more positively—all while staying grounded to their roots.

“I think I missed rooting myself somewhere and creating a foundation and network of people and community I can grow with and be a part of for the long run. It’s important to serve the community that you are a part of in a positive way, contributing what you’ve learned over the years in order for the whole community to grow as well”, he says. Having now returned home, on his own terms, Hammad is ready to reclaim his freedom and use art to make a change.

Watch his film below.

Share this article