الأفلام الوثائقية السورية تثير ضجة كبيرة في الأوسكار

تم تسجيل فيلمين رسمياً في قائمة المرشحين المختصرة

by

أصبح حفل الأوسكار قاب قوسين أو أدنى. وبعد عدة سنوات من الجدل والانتقاد (حيث سلطت حركة #OscarsSoWhite  الضوء على افتقار هذه الأكاديمية إلى الشمولية)، يبدو أن الأمور بدأت تتغير. فإلى جانب العديد من الأفلام الأخرى، تم في النهاية الاعتراف بالأفلام العربية من قبل الأكاديمية.

فبعد أن كشفت للتو عن قائمة ترشيحات الأوسكار المختصرة لعام 2020 لتسع فئات من أصل 29 فئة، يمكننا ملاحظة وجود أفلام عربية للمنافسة في أربعةٍ من هذه الفئات.

تمّ ترشيح فيلمين سوريين عن فئة الأفلام الوثائقية. الفيلم الوثائقي الذي نال استحسان النقاد “من أجل سما”، وهو من إخراج وعد الخطيب وإدوارد وات، والذي يمتلك فرصة جيدة في الحصول على الترشيح.

تم تصوير هذا الفيلم الوثائقي الضخم على مدار خمس سنوات في مدينة حلب، ليوثق حياة الخطيب. إذ يروي الفيلم وقوعها في الحب وزواجها وإنجابها لطفلتها سما. إنها نظرة حميمة (ونادراً ما تُرى) عن كيفية العيش في خضم الحرب.

وهناك أيضاً فيلم “الكهف” للمخرج فراس فياض في قائمة الأفلام المختصرة لأفضل فيلم وثائقي. وإذا ما ترشح هذا الفيلم للجائزة، فسيكون الترشيح الثاني لفياض (حيث حصل على ترشيحه الأول عن الفيلم الوثائقي “آخر رجل في حلب”).

يروي فيلم “الكهف” قصة أماني بلور، وهي طبيبة أطفال تعمل في مستشفى مؤقت في الغوطة الشرقية. حيث خاطرت هذه الطبيبة بحياتها ببقائها في بلدتها التي مزقتها الحرب لتقديم المساعدات الطبية للناس.

 

كما تم إدراج فيلم (الإخوان) للمخرجة التونسية مريم جبور ضمن القائمة المختصرة عن فئة أفضل فيلم حي قصير. يتمحور الفيلم حول رجل تونسي يعود إلى وطنه مع زوجة سورية ترتدي النقاب، ليواجه الرجل شكوكاً عائلية بأنه كان يقاتل سراً مع داعش، الأمر الذي يخلق الكثير من المشاكل والتوتر بين الزوجين والأسرة.

شارك هذا المقال

Syrian Documentaries Are Stirring Major Oscar Buzz

Two films have officially been shortlisted

by

The Oscars are around the corner. And after a few years of being clouded by controversy (The #OscarsSoWhite movement highlighted the Academy’s lack of inclusivity), it seems like things are looking up. Alongside many others, Arab films are finally being recognized by the Academy. 

Having just unveiled the 2020 Oscars shortlist for nine of its 29 categories, a total of four categories have Arab films as contenders. 

Up for a nomination in the Documentary Feature category are two Syrian films. The critically-acclaimed documentary ‘For Sama’, directed by Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watt, is in the running—and probably has a good chance at scoring a nomination. 

The powerful, devastating documentary was shot over the course of five years in Aleppo, documenting Al-Kataeb’s life. The film sees her fall in love, get married and give birth to Sama. It’s an intimate (and rarely-seen) look at what it’s like to live in the midst of war.

Feras Fayyad’s ‘The Cave’ is also on the shortlist for Best Documentary Feature. If the film scores a nomination, it would mark Fayyad’s second to-date (his first nomination was awarded for his gripping documentary ‘Last Men in Aleppo’). 

For ‘The Cave’ Fayyad tells the story of Amani Ballour, a paediatrician working in a makeshift hospital in Eastern Ghouta. Risking her life, Ballour stayed in her war-torn town to provide medical aid to the people. 

In the Live Action Short Film Oscar category, Tunisian filmmaker Meryam Joobeur is on the shortlist for her film ‘Brotherhood’. The film is centered around a Tunisian man who returns to his homeland with a Syrian wife that wears the niqab. The man is faced with familial suspicion that he had been secretly fighting for ISIS, igniting tensions between the couple, and the family.

Share this article