ترشيح أربعة أفلام عربية لجائزة الأوسكار هذا العام

خطوة صغيرة نحو تمثيل العرب في هوليوود

by

من فيلم “كفرناحوم” للمخرجة نادين لبكي والذي تم ترشيحه لجائزة الأوسكار إلى فوز رامي يوسف مؤخراً بجائزة غولدن غلوب، شهدنا على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ازدياداً كبيراً في المواهب العربية في جميع مجالات صناعة السينما، أمام الكاميرا وخلفها.

وبالتالي ليس من المفاجئ الإعلان عن ترشيح أربعة أفلامٍ عربية عند إصدار قائمة الترشيحات لجوائز الأوسكار لعام 2020. والمثير للدهشة أنه لم يتم إدراج أي منها في فئة الأفلام الأجنبية، بل تمّ وضعها بدلاً من ذلك في فئة أفلام الحركة القصيرة بالإضافة إلى فئة الأفلام الوثائقية.

من تونس إلى سوريا، إليكم الأفلام العربية التي ستنافس على جوائز الأوسكار لهذا العام.

الكهف

A still from The Caveيروي مخرج الفيلم فياض في هذا الفيلم قصة أماني بلور، وهي طبيبة أطفال تعمل في مستشفى مؤقت في الغوطة الشرقية. حيث خاطرت هذه الطبيبة بحياتها ببقائها في بلدتها التي مزقتها الحرب لتقديم المساعدات الطبية للناس. تم ترشيح هذا الفيلم عن فئة أفضل فيلم وثائقي.

فيلم آدم للمخرجة مريم توزاني

a still from Adam by Maryam Touzaniتم عرض فيلم “آدم” لأول مرة ضمن الأفلام المشاركة عن فئة “نظرة ما” في مهرجان كان السينمائي هذا العام، ومنذ ذلك الحين انتشرت التوقعات باحتمالية ترشيحه لجائزة الأوسكار. يحكي الفيلم الذي يُعتبر العمل الأول للمخرجة توزاني، قصة إمرأة تدعى عبلة تدير مخبزاً في الدار البيضاء والتي تنقلب حياتها رأساً على عقب بعد أن قامت إمرأة حامل غير متزوجة بالطرق على بابها.

فيلم الإخوان

a still from Brotherhoodيتمحور فيلم “الإخوان” للمخرجة التونسية مريم جبور حول رجل تونسي يعود إلى وطنه مع زوجة سورية ترتدي النقاب، ليواجه الرجل شكوكاً عائلية بأنه كان يقاتل سراً مع داعش، الأمر الذي يخلق الكثير من المشاكل والتوتر بين الزوجين والأسرة. تمّ ترشيح هذا الفيلم عن فئة أفضل فيلم حي قصير.

نادي نفطة لكرة القدم 

a still from Nefta Football Clubتم ترشيح فيلم “نادي نفطة لكرة القدم” للمخرج الفرنسي إيف بيات عن فئة أفضل فيلم حي قصير. وهو من بطولة الممثلين الشباب: ضاوي الطايف ومحمد علي عياري وليث سالم وهشام مصباح. يروي الفيلم قصة أطفال يعيشون في قرية تونسية، ويلعبون كرة القدم على أرض مقفرة. ثمّ يجدون حماراً مع سماعات على أذنيه وأكياس مليئة بمسحوق أبيض على ظهره. لينتهي الأمر بالإخوة الصغار بإعادة تلك الأكياس.

شارك هذا المقال

Four Arab Films Are Nominated for an Oscar This Year

A small step towards representation in Hollywood

by

From Nadine Labaki’s Oscar-nominated ‘Capernaum’ to Ramy Youssef’s recent Golden Globes win, over the last few years, we’ve bore witness to a steep rise in Arab talent across the film industry, both in front of and behind the camera.

So it should come as no surprise that when the list of Academy Awards 2020 nominations were released, four Arab films were announced as being in the running. Surprisingly, none have been flung in the Foreign Film category, instead they’ve been placed in the Action Short category as well as the Documentary Feature category.  

From Tunisia to Syria, here are the Arab films that are in the running for this year’s Oscars.

The Cave

A still from The CaveFayyad tells the story of Amani Ballour, a paediatrician working in a makeshift hospital in Eastern Ghouta. Risking her life, Ballour stays in her war-torn town to provide medical aid to the people. The film is nominated for Best Documentary feature. 

Adam by Maryam Touzani

a still from Adam by Maryam TouzaniFirst screened at the Un Certain Regard section at Cannes Film Festival this year, ‘Adam’ has been building Oscars buzz ever since. The film, which marks Touzani’s directorial debut, tells the story of a woman named Abla who runs a bakery in Casablanca whose life is interrupted after an unmarried pregnant woman knocks on her door.  

Brotherhood

a still from BrotherhoodDirected by Tunisian filmmaker Myriam Jeboor. The film is cantered around a Tunisian man who returns to his homeland with a Syrian wife that wears the niqab. The man is faced with familial suspicion that he had been secretly fighting for ISIS, igniting tensions between the couple, and the family. ‘Brotherhood’ is nominated in the Live Action Short Film category. 

Nefta Football Club

a still from Nefta Football ClubAlso nominated in the Live Action Short Film category is ‘Nefta Football Club’. Directed by French director Yves Piat, the film stars young actors Eltayef Dhaoui, Mohamed Ali Ayari, Lyes Salem and Hichem Mesbah. The film tells the story of children living in a Tunisian village, where they play football on a wasteland. They wind up finding a donkey with headphones on his ears and bags full of white powder on his back. The young brothers end up taking the bags back.

Share this article