هؤلاء هم المخرجين العرب المشاركين في مهرجان “صندانس” السينمائي

مخرجان سعوديان في طريقهما إلى

قد تكون شبكة نيتفلكس استحوذت على جوائز غولدن غلوب، ولكن الأفلام العربية تسيطر على مهرجان “صندانس” السينمائي. ومع اقتراب دورة عام 2020 لهذا المهرجان السينمائي، نحن بغاية الشوق لرؤية بعض الأفلام الإقليمية المفضلة لدينا تفوز بجائزة أو اثنتين.

وكالعادة يمنح المهرجان الأفلام العربية فرصة مميزة، حيثُ أدرجت إدارة مهرجان صندانس العام الماضي على سبيل المثال ثلاثة أفلامٍ عربية في قائمة الأفلام المشاركة.

كما ستشهد الدورة القادمة والتي تقدم برنامجاً أكثر تنوعاً، العرض الأول لـ 118 فيلماً من أكثر من 27 دولة، مع المشاركة الأولى لـ 44 مخرجاً سينمائياً.

وقد صرح روبرت ريدفورد، مؤسس المهرجان بما يلي “يخلق الفنانون المستقلون الثقافة العالمية ويقومون بإثرائها، إذ يمكن لفنهم، الذي نفخر بتقديمه، أن يقدم لنا المتعة والسعادة كما يمكنه أن يمنحنا المعرفة والإثارة والدعم. فالمهرجان هذا العام مليء بالأفلام ذات القصص التي تعبر عن التغيير وعن تآلف القلوب والعقول والمجتمعات”.

واحتفالاً بالخطوة الهامة التي يقوم بها هذا المهرجان نحو تعزيز الشمولية والتنوع، إليكم بعض المعلومات عن الأفلام العربية المشاركة.

الأقصر

Hana and Sultan from the movie Luxor

تقوم ببطولة هذا الفيلم للمخرجة زينة درة، كل من النجمتين الشهيرتين إقليمياً: شهيرة فهمي وشيرين رضا بالإضافة إلى أندريا ريسبورو من فيلم “بلاك ميرور”. يروي الفيلم قصة هانا، عاملة الإغاثة البريطانية التي تلتقي لدى عودتها إلى الأقصر، بحبيبها السابق عالم الآثار سلطان.

الفضائي العربي

يقوم ببطولة هذا الفيلم الممثل الكوميدي السعودي محمد الحمدان (والمعروف أيضاً لمتابعيه على الإنستاغرام والبالغ عددهم 4 ملايين متابع بإسم @warchieff)، ويُعتبر الفضائي العربي فيلم خيالي عن رجل يدعى سعد تتحول حياته للأفضل بعد دخول كائن فاضي إليها.

المرشحة المثالية

قليلة هي الأفلام السعودية التي أحدثت ضجة كبيرة كفيلم المخرجة السعودية هيفاء المنصور “المرشحة المثالية“. يروي هذا الفيلم الحاصل على دعم المجلس السعودي للأفلام حياة الدكتورة مريم التي تتحدى كل الأعراف والتقاليد وتترشح للمجلس البلدي.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

These Arab Filmmakers Are Heading to Sundance

Two Saudi directors are headed to Salt Lake City

by

Netflix might have taken over the Golden Globes, but Arab films are taking over Sundance. The film festival’s 2020 edition is almost here and we can’t wait to see some of our favourite regional films win an award or two. 

The festival is no stranger to putting a spotlight on the region; last year Sundance counted three Arab-directed films on the official line-up. 

Next year’s edition, which will mark its most diverse program yet, will see 118 films premiered from over 27 countries, with 44 first-time filmmakers in the running. 

Independent artists create and enrich global culture. Their art, which we’re proud to present, can entertain – and much more: it can, illuminate, agitate, and empower,” said Robert Redford, the festival’s founder. “This year’s Festival is full of films that showcase myriad ways for stories to drive change, across hearts, minds, and societies,” he continued. 

To celebrate the festival’s move towards championing diversity, here’s everything you need to know about the Arab films that made the running. 

Luxor

Hana and Sultan from the movie LuxorThe Zeina Durra directed feature, stars regionally-renowned actors Shahira Fahmy and Sherine Reda as well as Black Mirror’s Andrea Riseborough. The film tells the story of Hana, a British aid worker who, upon returning to Luxor, meets Sultan, an archaeologist and a former lover. 

Arabian Alien

Starring Saudi comedian Mohammed AlHamdan (also known as ‘@warchieff’ to his 4 million Instagram followers), ‘Arabian Alien’ is a sci-fi film about a man named Saad whose life takes a turn for the better after an alien comes into his life. 

The Perfect Candidate

Few Saudi films have created as much buzz as Haifaa Al Mansour’s ‘The Perfect Candidate’. The Saudi Film Council-backed film explores the life of Dr. Maryam, who goes against all odds and runs for municipal council.

Share this article