المطالبة بهويتي العربية هي أقوى شكلٍ من أشكال المقاومة

تحذير: لا توجد مستويات للـ "العروبة"

by

“لكن سارة، أنتِ لست عربية بالفعل”، هذه هي الجملة التي غالباً ما كنت أسمعها خلال نشأتي في باريس ولندن بعد أحداث 11 سبتمبر. وقد جعلني ذلك أدرك تمام الإدراك كم من ذوي البشرة البيضاء يربطون العرب بالفقر أو المحافظة (التدين) أو التخلف أو العنف.

سأكون كاذبة إن أنكرت حقيقة امتلاكي لـ “امتياز” الظهور كجنوب أوروبية (فغالباً ما يتم سؤالي عما إذا كنت إسبانية أو إيطالية)، ولكن الغريب في الأمر أن هذا لم يجعلني أشعر بالرضا مطلقاً. بل شعرت في كثير من الأحيان بالتجاهل والانتقاص، حتى أنه أُسيء فهمي في بعض الحالات فقط لهذا السبب.

ولدت في باريس لأب تونسي وأم سورية ونشأت في لندن، لذا من الواضح أن هويتي كانت متقلبة. حتى أن البعض قد يقولون أن المواءمة مع مجموعة معينة أمر غير ملائم في الأساس.

لكن أولاً وقبل كل شيء، أنا عربية. فكلا الجانبين من عائلتي التونسية والسورية جاءوا من أصل عثماني جزئياً، لكنني عربية لأنها هويتي التي ورثتها عن جدي التونسي الذي قاتل مع الحركة الوطنية (وتم نفيه)، وعن جدي السوري الذي كان دبلوماسياً وطنياً. أنا عربية لأنني أجد نفسي في هذا التاريخ وهذه الثقافة واللغة والطقوس. أنا عربية لأن هذه هي الطريقة التي ستستمر بها قصص وروايات عائلتي.

قد يتساءل البعض عن سبب رغبتي الشديدة في المطالبة بهويتي العربية في عام 2019، في الوقت الذي تدمرت فيه منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بسبب الحروب والثورات، وازدادت فيه كراهية الأجانب للعرب بشكل كبير

تلقيت قبل بضعة أيام رسالة على الإنستاغرام من شابة تونسي لم ألتق بها قط ، وتقول الرسالة: “أنت لست عربية، أنت تونسية”.

لقد أزعجتني تلك الرسالة لعدة أسباب. إذ لا ينبغي استبعادي عن كوني عربية لمجرد أنه ليس لدي أجداد من شبه الجزيرة العربية. والقبول بهذا سيكون قبولاً بالتعريف المتعنت أو غير المرن للهوية العربية، وهو تعريف ضيق ومحدود. إذ لطالما كانت فكرة “العروبة” واسعة بما يكفي لتشمل أي شخص يقرر تبني وتقبل تجربتها الموحدة.

لم يكن تعريب المنطقة مرتبط بالإسلام أبداً. ففي الستينات، دافع الإصلاح المعروف بإسم “النهضة” عن إعادة تعريف الهوية العلمانية العربية التي كانت شاملة عرقياً ودينياً. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا قد يبدو مفاجئاً للبعض اليوم، إلا أن بغداد على سبيل المثال، كانت يهودية بنسبة 40% حتى إنشاء إسرائيل.

أنا اخترت التعريف عن نفسي كعربية لأنها هوية متنوعة للغاية، وهذا شيء أود الاحتفاء به. تعريف لـ “التعريب” الذي يعني في جوهره فكرة الجمع. حيث يمكن للمرء أن يشعر بعروبته دون أن يتخلى عن أشياء أو ينكر أشياء أخرى، فهناك عرب ذو بشرة فاتحة وعرب ذو بشرة داكنة وعرب بربريون وعرب من شمال إفريقيا وعرب بلاد الشام وعرب يساريون وعرب يمينيون وعرب مسلمون وعرب يهود ومسيحيون وعرب ملحدون. والكل سواسية.

وسماع شخص ما من بيئتي ذاتها يخبرني أنني لست عربية بما يكفي، جعلني أشعر بأسوأ مما فعله أصدقائي ذوي البشرة البيضاء. فقد أظهر لي ذلك كيف تمكن الاستعمار الأوروبي من التلاعب بمفهوم الهوية وبكل وقاحة.

فمن خلال كلماتها، رأيت كيف علّم الاستعمار شعبي أن يحاربوا أنفسهم من خلال تطبيق “مستويات” للعروبة بين الدول، وبعبارة أخرى، فهم يرفضون وجودهم بهوية معقدة ولكنها حقيقية وقوية للغاية.

بالنسبة لي، الانتقام من هذا الاستعمار وأفكاره يكون باختيار الانتماء الكامل للهوية العربية. إنه ليس أمر سياسي فحسب – بل ثوري أيضاً.

في عالمنا المنفتح على بعضه، أصبحنا نمتلك الكثير من الاختلافات الدقيقة في داخلنا وكل واحد منا يحاول خلق حالة من التوازن بين الهويات المختلفة الموجودة في داخله. لكن قبولي لمن أنا عليه يعكس مقاومتي الشديدة للانقسامات التي سببها الاستعمار والرأسمالية الحديثة.

اخترت أن أكون عربية أولاً وقبل كل شيء لأنني قررت الوقوف ضد عبودية الإمبريالية الغربية، التي أدت إلى تجزئة دولنا لتتمكن من تقسيمها واحتلالها. اخترت أن أكون عربية لأنني أرغب في تحدي الشعبوية والتخلص من الذين يعاقبوننا لكوننا من نحن عليه.

وعلى حد تعبير الكاتب إدوارد استلين كامينغز “أن تكون لا أحد سوا نفسك – في عالم يبذل قصارى جهده ليلاً ونهاراً ليجعلك شخص آخر – هو بمثابة خوض أصعب معركة يمكن لأي إنسان المحاربة فيها؛ وعليك ألا تتوقف عن القتال أبداً”.

رسوم @kahena.z

شارك هذا المقال

Claiming My Arab Identity is My Biggest Form of Resistance

Plot twist: there are no levels of ‘Arabness’

by

“But Sarah, you’re not really Arab anyway”, is a sentence I often heard growing up in post-9/11 Paris and London. It made me realise just how much white people confidently associate Arabness almost exclusively with poverty, conservatism, backwardness or violence. 

I would be lying if I denied the fact that I do have the “privilege” of being able to pass as Southern European (I’m often asked if I am Spanish or Italian), but funnily enough, this has never felt good. I’ve often felt even more ignored, discounted, and in some cases misunderstood, purely for that reason. 

Born in Paris to a Tunisian father and a Syrian mother, I was raised in London, so my identity has obviously been very fluid. Some people could even say that aligning with a specific group is basically irrelevant. 

But first and foremost, I am Arab. Both sides of my Tunisian and Syrian family came from partial Ottoman ancestry, but more than that, I am Arab because it is the identity I inherited from my Tunisian grandfather. He fought with the national movement (and was exiled), and then there was my Syrian grandfather, who was a patriotic diplomat. I am Arab because it is the history, the culture, the language and the rituals that I recognise myself in. I am Arab because this is how my family’s stories will live on.

Some might wonder why I would want to claim my Arab identity so fervently in 2019, at a time when the MENA region is ravaged and fragmented by wars and revolutions. A time when xenophobia against Arabs has essentially gone mainstream.

 A few days ago I received a message on Instagram from a young Tunisian I had never met. It said: “You are not Arab, you are Tunisian”. 

And this message upset me for a number of reasons. I shouldn’t be excluded from identifying as Arab just because I don’t have ancestors from the Arabian Peninsula. To accept this would be an acceptance of a monolithic definition of the Arab identity, one that was narrow. The very idea of being “Arab” has always been vast enough to include anyone who decides to embrace its unifying experience. 

The Arabization of the region wasn’t even necessarily tied to Islam. In the 1860s, a reform known as the Nahda (‘rebirth’ in English) championed the redefinition of an Arab secular identity that was ethnically and religiously inclusive. Although it might sound surprising to some today, Baghdad for example, was 40 per cent Jewish until Israel’s inception.

I choose to identify myself as Arab because it is so diverse, and that is something I wish to celebrate; a definition of ‘Arabness’ that is intrinsically plural. One can feel Arab without giving up on or negating other things. There are light-skinned Arabs, dark-skinned Arabs, Berber Arabs, North African Arabs, Levantine Arabs, left-wing Arabs, right-wing Arabs, Muslim Arabs, Jewish Arabs, Christian Arabs, and also atheist Arabs. All are equal.

Hearing someone from my own background try to tell me that I am not Arab enough felt worse than when my white friends have done. It demonstrated how European colonialism has managed to manipulate the concept of identity so brazenly.

Through her words, I saw how colonialism has taught my people to fight against themselves by implementing “levels” of arabness between countries, and in other words, disapprove their own existence of a complicated yet very real and powerful identity. 

To me, choosing to fully identify as Arab is a retaliation. It is not only political – it is revolutionary.

Life is a constant negotiation of ourselves. In our globalised world, we are all nuanced and each balance multiple identities. But self-acceptance of who I am reflects my staunch resistance to the divisions caused by colonialism and modern capitalism. 

I choose to be Arab first and foremost because I decide to stand against the Western imperialist yoke, which has fragmented our nations to divide and conquer. I choose to be Arab because I wish to challenge populism and cast off those who punish us for being who we are.

In the words of author E. E. Cummings, “To be nobody-but-yourself — in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else — means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.”

Illustration by @kahena.z

Share this article