هل سنتوقف يومًا عن قرصنة الموسيقى؟

ربما، ولكن ليس لأجل سبوتيفاي.

by

إنه صيف 2019، في منتصف النهار تقريباً في شارع شفشاوني، وهو أحد أكثر شوارع فاس شهرة وحيوية، حيث استبدل المسنون ملابس العمل الملطخة بالجلابية التقليدية من أجل حضور خطبة يوم الجمعة في المسجد، في حين اجتمع شباب الحي حول المقهى وهم يستمعون إلى الموسيقى ويدخنون السجائر.

في محاولة للتخلص من الضجيج الناجم عن خدمة الغداء، شربت قهوتي في الخلف، وبطريقة ما وجدت نفسي منسقاً للموسيقى لمدة ساعة من الزمن، وبناءً على طلب شعبي، قمت بتشغيل معزوفة لفرقة Erkez، وهي فرقة تونسية مشهورة تتمتع بشعبية منقطعة النظير، إلا أنّها غير معروفة على تطبيق سبوتيفاي.

بالطبع، تبع ذلك ضحكات ساخرة أعقبتها تعليقات ماكرة تسخر من استخدامي لتطبيق سبوتيفاي. على كل حال كنا في مقهى، حيث تبدأ كل نقاشات شمال أفريقيا. اليوم؟ لماذا تدفع مقابل خدمة لها العديد من البدائل المجانية؟

في ذلك اليوم وفي شارع شفشاوني تمت معالجة الأسئلة والشكوك التي حاولت منصات بث الموسيقى بخجل معالجتها دون جدوى. بما أنّ ممارسات القرصنة شائعة في المنطقة، فلماذا يدفع شاب في العشرين من عمره مقابل الاستماع إلى الموسيقى؟

تم إطلاق تطبيق سبوتيفاي في عام 2018، وكان من المتوقع أن يساعد إطلاق العملاق السويدي في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على الوصول إلى معالم جديدة. لكن إدخال منصة البث إلى هذا السوق لم يثبت بعد جدارته بالكامل.

بالرغم من كونه خطوة واعدة في البداية، إلا أنّ دخوله لم يخلُ من العقبات. وكما كان الحال مع منصات البث الأخرى، فقد أعاقت العديد من العقبات رحلة سبوتيفاي نحو إحداث ثورة في استهلاك الموسيقى داخل المنطقة. من توقع تحقيق النجاح الباهر إلى إدراك الواقع القاسي، هناك عدة أسباب حالت دون حصول سبوتيفاي على الإشادة المتوقعة.

ظاهرياً، يمتلك العالم العربي كل المقومات المناسبة لنجاح أي خدمة بث.

وفي منطقة يبلغ متوسط ​​أعمار سكانها  23 عاماً، ووفي ظل الزيادة المستمرة في عدد مستخدمي الهواتف الذكية، كان من الطبيعي الاعتقاد بأن الشرق الأوسط هو السوق المتسق التالي الذي ستستحوذ عليه خدمات بث الموسيقى.

ومن الجدير بالذكر حقيقة وجود 285 مليون مستخدم للإنترنت في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، حيث كشف العقد الماضي عن الكثير من الإشارات التي توحي بحدوث ثورة في استهلاك الموسيقى وإنشاء مؤسسة أكثر اتساقاً وعالمية من شأنها تعزيز وعرض وإتاحة الوصول السهل إلى العديد من المواهب الناشئة التي يقدمها العالم العربي.

لكن المستويات العالية من الاتصال واختراق الإنترنت واستهلاك الموسيقى لا تستلزم بالضبط الإرادة المالية أو القدرة على تخصيص الأموال في خدمات البث. شيء واحد (وربما هو أهم شيء) يجب مراعاته هو معدلات الفقر في المنطقة. وفقاً للأمم المتحدة ومع أخذ خط الفقر البالغ 1.9 دولار يومياً بعين الاعتبار، فقد بلغ متوسط ​​نسبة الفقر في عام 2015 في المنطقة 5.6 % ، وهي إحصائية لم يطرأ عليها زيادة منذ ذلك الوقت.

بالنظر إلى الدخل المتاح المنخفض، فإن الافتقار إلى الوسائل المالية كان يمثل مشكلة بالنسبة لعملية الدفع مقابل البث، مما يقلل فقط من فوائد الاستثمار والدفع لمنصّات البث. في نهاية المطاف، يُعتبر منح المزيد من الموارد ورأس المال للفنانين والمواهب المحلية في المنطقة عملية تعليمية لطالما أهملتها خدمات الموسيقى الغربية.

ورغم أن النسخة المجانية من هذه المنصات تقدّم خدمات وافية، إلا أن شريحة السوق العربي ما تزال مترددة بشأن الاشتراك في الخدمة المدفوعة لتلك المنصات. مما يجعل من الصعب على سبوتيفاي ومنصات بث الموسيقى المماثلة زيادة حضورها وإيراداتها. تمثل الأغاني المقرصنة ما يصل إلى 95% من حصص استهلاك الموسيقى داخل المنطقة، ويمثل يوتيوب 47% من البث الموسيقي في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تلاعبت القرصنة بالمنطقة لعقود من الزمان، الأمر الذي عزز مكانة موقع يوتيوب كمصدر رئيسي للبث الموسيقي. بالرغم من أن سبوتيفاي تأسست في البداية لمحاربة القرصنة، إلا أن خدمتها المجانية لم تكن مقنعة بما يكفي للعرب، حتى بعد تحديد أسعار خدمات متعددة المستويات وبحسب العملات المحلية في الأسواق. على سبيل المثال تقدر رسوم الاشتراك المصرية بمبلغ 49.99 جنيه وهو مبلغ أقل بكثير من الأسواق الأخرى حول العالم.

في منطقة تهيمن عليها طريقة الدفع النقدي، حاول بعض المنافسون الآخرون اعتماد طرق خاصة بهم أمثال ديزر “Deezer” التي اشترت رخصة الأغاني التي انتجتها روتانا لتقوم ببثها على منصّتها في محاولة منها لزيادة عدد الأغاني والمطربين على منصتها، مما صعّب الأمور على المنافسين الآخرين مثل سبوتيفاي، حيث أصبحت المنافسة أصعب بالنسبة لهم أمام ديزر والمنصّات المحلية الأخرى مثل أنغامي التي تمتلكها شركة لبنانية.

على عكس نظرائها من التطبيقات الأوروبية، لا تزال شهرة “أنغامي” وبصمة حضورها داخل المنطقة لا تُضاهى حتى يومنا هذا. وبرغم ذلك، فهو يدركون تماماً التهديد الذي تشكله القرصنة على شركتهم.

قال إيلي حبيب أحد مؤسسي منصّة أنغامي في مقابلة عام 2019 “لا أشعر بالخوف من المنافسة مع سبوتيفاي أو ديزر أو أي شيء آخر”، ثم أضاف “أنا مهتم أكثر بالمنافسة مع القرصنة وكيف يمكننا بالفعل مساعدة الناس أو جعلهم يستخدمون خدمة قانونية”.

يمكن القول بعد ذلك أنه بينما كان لدى سبوتيفاي أو ديزر رؤية عامة جداً للمنطقة من خلال فهم الناس كمجموعة متجانسة موحدة، طورت أنغامي إحساساً أكثر قوة بالموسيقى في العالم العربي.

نجح تطبيق أنغامي بالسيطرة على السوق من خلال اختياره لتطبيق أغاني تناسب ذوق الجمهور في المنطقة، مما جعلها تحتل الصدارة في المنافسة مع سبوتيفاي التي لا يزال أمامها أشواط كثيرة لتقطعها لتحتل مكانة مميّزة في السوق العربية، حيث يكمن مفتاح النجاح في امتلاك المعرفة ونظرة ثاقبة أكبر بالمنطقة والذوق الرائج فيها، وهذا أمر يفتقده تطبيق مثل سبوتيفاي حيث أن معظم فريق العمل من أصحاب البشرة البيضاء ومن غير العرب والذين يفتقرون إلى فهم ذوق السوق العربية.

بغض النظر عن المسار الذي تقرر سبوتيفاي اتباعه، كل ما يمكننا أن نتمناه هو أن يستفيد الفنانون المحليون والممثلون المعنيون من الحراك العفوي للصناعة على أمل أن يمهد الطريق فقط لمشهد أفضل وأكثر استدامة.

شارك هذا المقال

Will We Ever Stop Pirating Music?

Maybe, but not for Spotify’s sake.

by

It’s summer 2019. It’s around midday on Chefchaouni street, one of Fez’s most popular and vibrant avenues. Elders swapped their stained work clothes for traditional djellabas for Friday afternoon’s sermon at the mosque. The neighbourhood’s youth gathered round the cafe, playing music as they sparked their Marlboro lights. 

Brushing away the stress caused by lunch service, I drank my coffee in the back. I’ve also somehow become the DJ for the hour. By popular demand I was requested to play some Erkez, a renowned Tunisian band, but their name failed to appear on Spotify. They’re incredibly popular, though. 

Of course, sarcastic laughter ensued, followed by sly comments mocking my use of Spotify. We were in a café after all, where all North African debates see their beginnings. Today’s? Why pay for a service that has numerous free alternatives? 

Questions and doubts that music streaming platforms have timidly attempted to address through their launch in the region in vain were addressed on Chefchaouni street that day. Piracy is a common practice in the region, why would a 20-something young man pay to listen to music? 

Launched in 2018, Spotify’s opening to the Middle East and North Africa was expected to help the Swedish giant reach new milestones. But the streaming platform’s introduction to this market has yet to fully prove its worth. 

Very promising at first, their entry wasn’t without hurdles. As was the case for other streaming platforms, many obstacles have hindered Spotify’s journey towards revolutionising music consumption within the region. From projected glory to a realisation of a harsher reality, there are a few reasons why Spotify’s presence has not been rewarded with the expected acclaim. 

At face value, the Arab world ticked all the right boxes for any streaming service to see success. 

With a medium age of 23 and the number of smartphone users continuously increasing, the Middle East was naturally believed to be the next coherent market for music streaming services to take over. 

There’s also the fact that there exists a whopping 285 million internet users across the region. This last decade has shown a lot of green lights to prompt a revolution in music consumption and to set up a more coherent and global institution that would promote, showcase and grant easy access to the many emerging talents the Arab world has to offer. 

But high levels of connectivity, internet penetration and music consumption do not exactly entail the financial will or capacity to allocate money in streaming services. One thing—and perhaps the most important thing—to consider is the region’s poverty rates. According to the UN and with the $1.9 per day poverty line in consideration, the region’s headcount poverty ratio in 2015 averaged 5.6 percent—a statistic that has only increased since. 

Considering the low disposable income available, the lack of financial means has been problematic for the pay-to-stream process to take place, only decreasing the benefits of investing and paying streaming platforms. Ultimately granting more resources and capital to the region’s artists and local talents, this is an educational process that Western music services have seemingly neglected so far. 

Although such platforms’ freemium services cater relatively well, the Arab segment of the market is still weary of going premium as piracy and YouTube (well embedded habits and regional go-tos) only make it harder for Spotify and similar music streaming platforms to increase their presence and revenue. Pirated songs represent up to 95 percent of the shares of music consumption within the region and YouTube accounts for 47 percent of music streaming worldwide. 

Piracy has rigged the region for decades which has only comforted YouTube’s position as main musical streaming resource. Even though Spotify was initially founded to fight piracy, their freemium service was arguably not convincing enough for Arabs, even after scaling their prices to local markets and currencies. Egyptian subscription fees are valued at 49.99EGP, which is substantially lower than other markets around the world for instance.

In a region dominated by cash payments, other competitors have tried to play their cards better. This was seen through Deezer’s initial investment in acquiring Rotana’s licenses to extend their catalogue, only making Spotify’s efforts look ever so shy and harder for them to compete with the aforementioned competitors as well as local actors such as the Lebanon-based Anghami. 

Unlike their European counterparts, Anghami’s knowledge and footprint within the region remains unmatched to this day. After all, they understood one thing: the threat piracy poses to their company.

“It’s not like I’m afraid of competition from Spotify or Deezer or whatever,” Elie Habib, one of Anghami’s founders said in a 2019 interview. “I’m much more interested in competition with piracy and how we can actually help people or get people using a legal service.”

It can then be said that while Spotify or Deezer had a too general vision of the region through an understanding of its people as a homogenous monolithic group, Anghami has developed a much more acute sense of music in the Arab World. 

Through better curated playlists, as well as a much more tailored experience on the platform, Anghami has taken the lead in a race that Spotify is far from being able to compete in. It turns out, the value lies within regional insight and awareness that remains unreachable with white-majority and non-Arabic speaking teams amongst many Western platforms’ Middle-Eastern divisions.

Regardless of whichever route Spotify decides to follow, all we can wish for is for local artists and involved actors to take advantage of the industry’s spontaneous ebullition, in hopes that it will only pave the way for a better and more sustainable scene to thrive on.

Share this article