بودكاست يستكشف الحقيقة القاسية للسفر كعربي

إن كان هناك شيء يستحق الاستماع إليه في هذه الأيام، فهو هذا البودكاست

by

في أعقاب أحداث 11 سبتمبر بات السفر كعربي أمراً غاية في الصعوبة. أصبح الرفض غير المبرر لمنح تأشيرات الدخول وعمليات الفحص الاعتباطية في المطارات وفي كثير من الأحيان حالات حجز المسافرين لساعات طويلة في المطارات التي تبعد آلاف الأميال عن الوطن هو المعيار الطبيعي. يستكشف الفنان تامر غرغور هذا الواقع في بودكاست جديد.

لقد تأثر بتجربته الخاصة وبتجارب من حوله، لذا فقد ابتعد الفنان الأردني عن مسيرته الموسيقية لاستكشاف تحديات السفر كعربي. قال غرغور في بيان “يعرض هذا البودكاست التمييز في المعاملة الذي يواجها العرب أثناء السفر، وهو عبارة عن خلاصة ستة أشهر من البحث والمقابلات والتأمل الذاتي”.

يقوم غرغور من خلال موشور التكنولوجيا والخصوصية والمساواة بالتوازي مع قائمة الضيوف التي تضم محامي الهجرة والعرب ذوو الخبرات المباشرة في التنميط العنصري بتحليل جميع عناصر تجربة سفر العرب.

في الحلقة الأولى يتعمق غرغور في البروتوكولات الأمنية المتخذة قبل وبعد 11 سبتمبر. تبدأ الحلقة بسرد تفاصيل تجربة شاب أردني منع من دخول الولايات المتحدة بسبب صورة العرب النمطية، ويتابع الحديث عن تواصله مع ضباط الجمارك الأمريكيين الذين بحثوا في ملفاته الشخصية على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي وقاموا بقراءة رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الخاصة به ورسائل الواتساب وفي النهاية يشارك محاميه الذي كانت مهمته إثبات التمييز غير القانوني في المعاملة الذي تعرّض له هذا الشاب.

في حلقات لاحقة، يدعو غرغور الضيوف الذين تم تصنيفهم بشكل عنصري في الولايات المتحدة بمن فيهم المواطنين الأمريكيين. قال في إحدى الحلقات “هل تعتقد بأن السفر كأميركي يحميك من التنميط العنصري؟ فكر مرة أخرى”.

سواء كنتم عرباً أو مجرد أنّ الفضول يدفعكم لمعرفة طبيعة هذه التجربة، فإنّ هذا البودكاست يستحق الاستماع إليه.

شارك هذا المقال

The Podcast Exploring the Harsh Reality of Travelling as an Arab

If there’s one thing to listen to today, it’s this

by

In the wake of 9/11, travelling as an Arab has been difficult. Unjustified visa denials, random checks at airports and in many cases, hours of detentions at airports thousands of miles away from home, have become the norm. In a new podcast, artist Tamer Gargour explores that reality. 

Influenced by his own experiences and of those around him, the Jordanian artist has stepped away from his music career to explore the challenges of travelling as an Arab. “This podcast showcases the discrimination faced by Arabs upon travel, and is the culmination of six months of research, interviews, and self-reflection,” Gargour announced. 

Through the prisms of technology, privacy and equality, Gargour–alongside a guest list that includes immigration lawyers and Arabs with first hand experiences of racial profiling—breaks down all elements of the Arab travel experience. 

In the first episode, Gargour dives deep into the pre and post-September 9/11 security protocols. The episode starts off with the details of a young Jordanian man’s experience as he was refused entry into the United States due to stereotyping, going on to discuss his interaction with American customs officers who searched his social media profiles, read his emails and WhatsApp messages, and eventually his lawyer’s involvement and mission to prove the unlawful discrimination he faced. 

In later episodes, Gargour invites guests who have been racially profiled in the United States, even American citizens. “Think travelling as an American prevents you from being racially profiled? Think again,” he said in one episode. 

Whether you’re Arab or simply curious about what the experience is like, this podcast is a must-listen.

Share this article