7 صور نمطية عن الخليج علينا وضع حد لها

ليس كل الخليجيين أمراء

by

منذ فترة والعرب في دائرة الضوء، لكن ليس للأسباب الجيدة. فقد تم الحكم على شعب منطقتنا واتهامه بأشياء مختلفة عدة مرات وأُثقلوه بالأفكار والصور النمطية منذ أحداث الحادي عشر من سبتمبر، وقد حان الوقت لوضع حد لذلك.

ورغم ما قد تدفعكم هوليوود إلى تصديقه، فليس كل عربي إرهابياً أو فاحش الثراء. لقد وقعت دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بشكل خاص ضحية الصورة النمطية تلك (مثل الثراء الفاحش)، والتي قد لا تبدو سلبية بظاهرها، ولكنها مثل كل الصور النمطية، فإنها تمنع ضحاياها من التعبير عن أنفسهم وعن حقيقة هويتهم.

وما ذكرناه مجرد البداية، فقائمة الصور النمطية المؤذية لدول الخليج لا حصر لها. لذا وضعنا لكم قائمة بالمفاهيم الخاطئة الأكثر شيوعاً والتي يجب وضع حد لها:

ليس كل رجل خليجي متزوج من أربع زوجات
تعدد الزوجات قانوني بالفعل في العديد من دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ولكن هذا لا يعني أن الجميع يطبقونه. حيثُ أظهرت دراسة حديثة أن معدلات تعدد الزوجات تقدر بأقل من 10% من جميع الزيجات عبر دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

ليس كل خليجي ملك أو سلطان
عدا عن كونها مستحيلة، فهي صورة نمطية مؤذية للغاية تتغذى على التصورات والأفكار غير الدقيقة عن العرب بشكلٍ عام.

ليس كل خليجي غنياً
إلى جانب التألق والسحر اللذين تمتاز بهما عواصم دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مثل دبي، هناك فئة من الطبقة الوسطى نادراً ما يتم الاعتراف بها.

ليس كل خليجي كسول
تستمد هذه الصورة النمطية وجودها من فكرة أن جميع الخليجيين أغنياء، وبالتالي فهم كسولين ولا يعملون، ولكن كما قلنا سابقاً، ليس كل الخليجيين أغنياء في الواقع، وحتى لو كانوا كذلك، فالثروة لا تعني الكسل.

ليست كل امرأة خليجية مضطهدة
وهذا لا ينطبق على الخليج فقط، بل على جميع النساء العربيات والمسلمات بشكل عام. ففي حين أن بعض السياسات في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي قمعية تجاه المرأة بالفعل، لكنها غير منتشرة في كل مكان ولا تنطبق على الجميع. ويبدو ذلك واضحاً عند رؤية جميع الناشطات المدهشات اللواتي حاربن لتغيير هذه السياسات.

ليست كل امرأة خليجية معتمدة على والدها أو زوجها
تُعتبر قوانين الوصاية في السعودية، إحدى مسببات هذه الصورة النمطية. ولحسن الحظ، تعمل المملكة على إلغاء هذا القانون الآن، بحيث لا تكون المرأة ملزمة قانوناً بالرجوع لأبيها أو زوجها أو الاعتماد عليهما. وفي أي حال، من المهم أن نعرف أن النساء في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لسن مجردات من حقوقهن.

ليست كل امرأة خليجية عاجزة عن قيادة السيارة
بالفعل كان هناك حظر على قيادة المرأة في السعودية، لكن ذلك لم يكن يعني أبداً أن المرأة السعودية لم تستطع قيادة السيارة فعلياً. فقد تكون السعودية أكبر دولةٍ في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ولكن ليس من العدل أن تطغى قوانينها على جيرانها الأصغر منها.

شارك هذا المقال

7 Gulf Stereotypes We Need to Abolish

No, they’re not all princes

by

Arabs have been in the limelight for some time now, but it’s not always been for the best reasons. People from the region have been pigeonholed countless times and burdened with stereotypes since 9/11—and it’s time for that to come to an end. 

Despite what Hollywood may lead you to believe, not every Arab is a terrorist or excessively wealthy. The GCC, in particular, has fallen victim the latter stereotype, which may not seem that negative on the surface, but like all stereotypes, they limit its victim from expressing the multitudes of their identity. 

That’s just the beginning, the list of stereotypes hurting the GCC are endless. We’ve put together a list of the most common misconceptions that need to come to an end: 

Not every Khaleeji man has four wives
Polygamy is indeed legal in many states in the GCC, but that doesn’t mean everyone participates in it. In fact, a recent study, estimated polygamy rates count to less than 10 per cent of all marriages across GCC states. 

Not every Khaleeji is a monarch
Aside from being impossible, it’s a harmful stereotype that feeds into the trail of inaccurate perceptions of Arabs as a whole. 

Not every Khaleeji is rich
Beyond the glitz and glamour of GCC capitals like Dubai, there is a middle class population that is rarely acknowledged

Not every Khaleeji is lazy
This stereotype is rooted in the idea that all khaleejis are rich, therefore they do not work, and are lazy, but as previously debunked, not every khaleeji is in fact rich, and even if it were the case—wealth does not imply laziness. 

Not every Khaleeji woman is oppressed
This doesn’t only apply to Khaleejis, but to all Arab and Muslim women in general. Whilst some policies in the GCC are indeed oppressive towards women, it’s not the case everywhere and does not apply to everyone. Just take one look at all the amazing female activists who have pushed to change these policies. 

Not every Khaleeji woman is dependent on her father or husband
Thanks in part to Saudi Arabia’s guardianship laws, the stereotype found a policy to base itself off of. Thankfully, the kingdom is working towards abolishing the law, so that women are not legally bound to depend on their fathers or husbands. In any case, it’s important to understand that women in the GCC are not all stripped of their agency.  

Not every khaleeji woman is incapable of driving
Once again, whilst there was indeed a ban on women driving in Saudi Arabia, it never meant that Saudi women could not actually drive. Also, Saudi Arabia might be the largest nation in the GCC, but it’s not fair for its laws to overshadow its smaller neighbours’.

Share this article