Ya Bint est la nouvelle série arabo-américaine à connaître

Serait-ce la version féminine de "Ramy" ?

by

Après avoir été catégorisés pendant des décennies comme des terroristes et des danseuses du ventre, les Arabes s’affirment enfin à Hollywood, et pour de bonnes raisons. Depuis la vague de nomination de Ramy aux Emmy, plusieurs bonnes nouvelles sont arrivées. Une nouvelle série arabe intitulée ‘Ya Bint’ sort bientôt. 

La série sera diffusée sur la chaîne de télévision câblée FreeForm appartenant à Disney, et s’intéressera à un groupe de femmes qui ont quitté le Moyen-Orient pour s’installer à Los Angeles, et font face aux différences culturelles.

Qui est derrière cette série ? C’est l’actrice saoudienne Dina Shihabi qui l’a écrit avec la grande cinéaste du Sundance Rolla Selback. La série sera produite par la réalisatrice et productrice marocaine Sanaa Hamri qui a notamment produit les séries ‘Empire, ‘Glee’, ‘Elementary’, ‘90210’ et ‘The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants’(Quatre filles et un jean). Hamri partagera les crédits de production exécutive avec le cocréateur de « Empire », Danny Strong.

Et à l’instar de Ramy Youssef, en plus d’écrire la série, Shihabi jouera aussi un rôle devant la caméra en tant qu’un des personnages principaux, qui s’appelleraient Maya, Jumana et Lara.

 “Tellement contente d’enfin partager cette nouvelle!!!💋J’ai aimé chaque seconde de la production de cette série avec mon âme sœur @rollaselbak et cette équipe de collaborateurs de RÊVE” a annoncé Shihabi sur instagram. Inutile de dire qu’elle a ce qu’il faut pour réussir, et qu’on a hâte.

Partagez cet article

Ya Bint is the New Arab-American Series to Know

Could this be the female ‘Ramy’?

by

After decades of being typecast as terrorists and belly dancers, Arabs are finally taking over Hollywood, and for the right reasons. After Ramy’s huge sweep of Emmy-nominations, more good news has followed. A new Arab series, entitled ‘Ya Bint’ is coming.

The show will air on Disney-owned cable network Freeform, and is said to focus on a group of young women who moved from the Middle East to Los Angeles, with a focus on their struggles with cultural differences.

Wondering who’s behind it all? It’s Saudi actress Dina Shihabi who penned it along with Sundance veteran filmmaker Rolla Selback. The series will be executive produced by Moroccan-born director and producer Sanaa Hamri—whose production credits include ‘Empire’, ‘Glee’, ‘Elementary’, ‘90210’, and ‘The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants’ just to name a few. Hamri will share executive production credits with ‘Empire’ co-creator Danny Strong.

And just like Ramy Youssef, Shihabi not only wrote the show, but will also take on a role in front of the camera as one of its leading characters, who are said to be named Maya, Jumana, and Lara.

“So excited to finally share this news!!💋I love every second of creating this show with my soul sister @rollaselbak and this absolute DREAM team of collaborators” wrote Shihabi on instagram to make the announcement.

The writer and actress made a name for herself in Hollywood with acting credits in major productions such as Netflix’s ‘Altered Carbon’ and in  ‘Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan’. And if you’re a fan of ‘Ramy’, the 31-year-old also starred as Nour in the award winning first season. Needless to say, she’s got what it takes—and we can’t wait.

Share this article