نتفليكس تقوم بتمثيل العرب، ونحن نحب ذلك

مثال على التزامها المستمر بالشموليّة

by

قالت نهى الطيب مديرة نيتفلكس في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا “نسعى لإتاحة الفرصة أمام المزيد من الأشخاص حول العالم للوصول إلى قصص رائعة تمكّنهم من مشاهدة حياتهم مجسّدة على الشاشة”. في عالم يغلب عليه التنوّع الرمزي سوف تثبت شاشة البث العملاقة تدريجياً التزامها بالشموليّة الحقيقية.

منذ أن أصبحت عالمية في عام 2017،  قامت نيتفلكس عمداً بتنويع قائمتها، كما أنّها في هذا الوقت لم تستثني الأفلام العربية من قائمتها، ومع ثراء نيتفلكس بالمسلسلات الأصلية وبرامج تلفزيون الواقع التي يمكن مشاهدتها يسير الأمر على نحو أفضل. قبل يومين تمّ إضافة 44 فيلم عربي إلى قائمة الأفلام العالمية ممّا جعل بعضاً من أكثر الأفلام الأيقونيّة المعاصرة في المنطقة في متناول يد 181 مليون مشترك في قناة نيتفلكس .

من الأيقونات العربية إلى الأفلام الحائزة على جوائز مهرجان كان للأفلام المعاصرة، تضع هذه القائمة المعدّة بدقّة الأفلام العربية التقليدية القديمة في مواجهة طليعة جديدة من صانعي الأفلام، وذلك لإعادة التعريف بالأفلام العربية، ومع عناوين من السودان ولبنان ومصر وتونس والكويت وسوريا والجزائر والإمارات العربية المتحدة يتم تسليط الضوء بقوّة على المنطقة.

تتضمّن القائمة أيضا المخرج السينمائي الأيقوني المصري يوسف شاهين الذي أخرج عدداً من أقوى أفلام الشرق الأوسط الكلاسيكية مثل إسكندرية ليه وإسكندرية كمان وكمان، وكلا الفيلمين متاح الآن على قناة البث.

كما سيتم تسليط الضوء بشكل كبير على مخرجة عربية وهي المخرجة اللبنانية نادين لبكي التي صنعت التاريخ في عام 2019 إثر إخراج فيلمها كفرناحوم والذي جعل منها أوّل مخرجة عربية تُرشّح لجائزة الأوسكار لأفضل فيلم. كما تمّ ترشيح فيلمها الرائع لجائزة Best Picture Golden Globe ضمن فئة اللغات الأجنبية، وقد فازت بجائزة لجنة التحكيم في مهرجان كان السينمائي تزامن مع احتفاء طويل دام لمدة 15 دقيقة. يجسّد انضمام كلاسيكيات شاهين وفيلم كفرناحوم نظرة نحو المستقبل المعاصر للفيلم العربي. 
الفيلم الوثائقي السوري المثير للجدل والمرشّح لجائزة الأوسكار For Sama متاح أيضاً الآن على قناة البث. هذه النظرة المؤلمة والصادقة القويّة في حياة الصحفية السورية وعد الكاتب تشكّل على نحو مؤثر جانباً هاماً من المجتمع العربي الذي يزداد تعقيداً.

لا تكتمل القائمة دون فيلم “ستموت في العشرين” للمخرج أمجد أبو العلا. لا تقتصر أهميّة هذا الفيلم على روعته فقط بل بسبب التهميش الكليّ لصانعي الأفلام السودانيين في صناعة السينما في الشرق الأوسط. يروي هذا الفيلم قصّة حزينة لطفل حُكم عليه بالموت في العشرين، وكان حصوله على جائزة في مهرجان الجونة السينمائي في مصر ثورة في حدّ ذاتها حيث تشتهر هذه البلاد بتمثيلها العنصري للشعب السوداني.

أول فيلم رعب تونسي “دشرة” هو الآن أيضاً على نيتفلكس جنباً إلى جنب مع الفيلم الجزائري الآسر “بابيشا” (الذي أسهم في فوز الممثلة لينا خضري بجائزة الأوسكار الفرنسية). للحصول على قائمة الأفلام العربية الكاملة التي يمكنكم مشاهدتها على نيتفلكس، انظروا أدناه.

Ali And Alia
Fan Of Amoory
Bilal: A New Breed Of Hero
The End
Wajib
In Paradox
Widdi Atkallam
Freej Al Taibeen
Match
Aerials
Grandmother’s Farm
Grandmother’s Farm Part 2
Heaven Without People
Beauty And The Dogs
The Other (El Akhar)
Destiny (Al Massir)
The Emigrant (Al Mohager)
Alexandria Again And Forever (Iskanderija, Kaman Oue Kaman)
Alexandria Why
Return Of The Prodigal Son (Awdet Al Ibn Al Dal)
Dark Waters (Siraa Fil Mina)
The Blazing Sun
The Land (Al Ard)
Saladin (El Naser Salah El Dine)
Cairo Station (Bab El Hadid)
Summer Thefts (Sariqat Sayfeya)
The City (Al Medina)
Mercedes
An Egyptian Story
Rock The Casbah
Stray Bullet
Zozo
Al Resala
The Message: The Story Of Islam
Lion Of The Desert
Kalek Shanab
122
Sofia
Dachra
For Sama
Capernaum
Papicha
You Will Die At 20
A Son

شارك هذا المقال

Netflix is Doing Arab Representation Right, And We Love It

An example of ongoing commitment to inclusion

by

“We want more people around the world to have access to great stories and have the chance to see their lives represented on screen,” stated Nuha El Tayeb, Netflix’s MENA director. In a world where diversity is tokenized, the streaming giant is slowly proving itself to be genuinely committed to inclusion. 

Since going global in 2017, Netflix has consciously diversified its catalogue. As it stands, it isn’t short of Arab films either. With an abundance of Netflix original series and reality tv shows to watch, it’s only getting better. Two days ago, 44 Arab films were added to its global catalogue, making some of the region’s most iconic and contemporary films accessible to Netflix’s 181 million subscribers. 

From Arab icons to contemporary Cannes-favourites, the carefully curated list positions the traditionalism of early Arab films against a new vanguard of filmmakers redefining what even constitutes as an Arab film. With titles from Sudan, Lebanon, Egypt, Tunisia, Kuwait, Syria, Algeria, and the UAE – the region is being put firmly in the spotlight. 

The list also includes iconic Egyptian filmmaker Youssef Chahine, the force behind a number of Middle Eastern classics like Why Alexandria and Alexandria Again and Again, both of which are now available to stream. 

Female Arab filmmakers will also be firmly placed in the spotlight. Lebanese director Nadine Labaki, who made history in 2019 upon the release of her film Capernaum (which made her the first Arab female director to be nominated for an Oscar) is a film festival favourite. Her smash hit film was also nominated for a Best Picture Golden Globe in the Foreign Language category, and won the Jury Prize at Cannes Film Festival, alongside a 15-minute long standing ovation.

Critically acclaimed (and Oscar-nominated) Syrian documentary For Sama is now available to stream as well. This gut-wrenching and powerfully honest look into the life of Syrian journalist Waad al-Kateab poignantly presents an important facet of an complex Arab society. 

The list wouldn’t be complete without Amjad Abu Alalala’s You Will Die at 20. The film is significant not only because it is brilliant, but because of the sheer marginalization of Sudanese filmmakers in the Middle East’s film industry.

Tunisia’s first ever horror movie, Dachra, is also now on Netflix, alongside ultra-gripping Algerian film, Papicha (which led to actress Lyna Khoudri’s win of a French Oscar). For the full list of Arab films you can watch on Netflix, see below. 

Ali And Alia
Fan Of Amoory
Bilal: A New Breed Of Hero
The End
Wajib
In Paradox
Widdi Atkallam
Freej Al Taibeen
Match
Aerials
Grandmother’s Farm
Grandmother’s Farm Part 2
Heaven Without People
Beauty And The Dogs
The Other (El Akhar)
Destiny (Al Massir)
The Emigrant (Al Mohager)
Alexandria Again And Forever (Iskanderija, Kaman Oue Kaman)
Alexandria Why
Return Of The Prodigal Son (Awdet Al Ibn Al Dal)
Dark Waters (Siraa Fil Mina)
The Blazing Sun
The Land (Al Ard)
Saladin (El Naser Salah El Dine)
Cairo Station (Bab El Hadid)
Summer Thefts (Sariqat Sayfeya)
The City (Al Medina)
Mercedes
An Egyptian Story
Rock The Casbah
Stray Bullet
Zozo
Al Resala
The Message: The Story Of Islam
Lion Of The Desert
Kalek Shanab
122
Sofia
Dachra
For Sama
Capernaum
Papicha
You Will Die At 20
A Son

Share this article