هذا الفيلم المصري يكشف عن حياة المراهقين المزدوجة

"سعاد" فيلم مصري يلقى نجاحاً باهراً في مهرجان كان السينمائي 2020

by

إن كنتم تعتقدون أنّكم بحاجة لميزانيّة ضخمة لإنتاج فيلم كاسح في هوليوود لتتمكّنوا من المشاركة في المهرجان، فإنّ فيلم “سعاد” خير دليل على أنّ الأمر عكس ذلك. إنّ هذا الفيلم الذي تمّ اختياره في مهرجان كان السينمائي 2020 قد تمّ تصويره في بلدة مصريّة صغيرة ويضمّ مجموعة من الممثّلين غير المحترفين.

يروي هذا الفيلم الواقعي قصّة رباب وسعاد وهما شقيقتان في سن المراهقة تعيشان بهدوء. لدى الفتاتين هوس بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وتجربة مستحضرات التجميل والإغراء والعلاقات الحميمة في حين أنّهما تعيشان في ظل في مجتمع محافظ.

شأنهما شأن العديد من الفتيات في العائلات العربيّة المحافظة هناك الكثير من الأشياء التي لا يُسمح للشقيقتين بفعلها، وهذا الفيلم يكشف ذلك بمنتهى الدقّة والحساسية، فهو يستكشف طريقة تعلّمهما الكذب وكيف أنّهما تعيشان حياة مزدوجة خوفاً من إهانة كرامة العائلة والتقليل من احترامها.

كتبت إدارة مهرجان كان السينمائي على موقعها على الإنترنت عن هذا الفيلم “تمّ تصوير هذا الفيلم بطريقة انسيابيّة سلسة حيث تمكّنت الكاميرامن إبراز صورة حقيقية متحرّكة للشباب في مصر. تبني المخرجة آيتن أمين بحذر شديد عالماً ثميناً تلتحم فيه التقاليد المحليّة والآمال العالميّة. هنا تحلم الفتيات الصغيرات ويتمنّين أن يكنّ جميلات ومغريات وطموحات حتى يجدن الحب وهنّ يعشقن وضع مستحضرات التجميل ويرغين أن يولدن من جديد في هذا العالم “.

يوثّق هذا الفيلم بطريقة واقعيّة شبه وثائقيّة رحلة بحث هاتين الشقيقتين عن الحرّية الشخصيّة لأنّهما تشكّكان في القوانين المفروضة عليهما.

في بلد تواصل فيه المرأة مواجهة التمييز في كلّ من القانون والمعاملة، يثير فيلم روائي مثل “سعاد” مجموعة معقّدة من الأسئلة التي تحتاج إلى أجوبة.

شارك هذا المقال

This Egyptian Coming of Age Film Explores the Double Lives of Teenagers

‘Souad’ is the Egyptian film making a smash at Cannes 2020

by

If you ever think that huge budget Hollywood blockbuster level production is needed to get your film into a festival, ‘Souad’ is proof that that isn’t the case. The Cannes 2020 selected film was shot in a small Egyptian town and features an entire cast of nonprofessional actors. 

This honest coming-of-age teen drama tells the story of two social media obsessed, carefree sisters, Rabab and Souad, as they experiment with makeup, seduction and intimacy, while growing up in a conservative society. 

Like many girls in conservative Arab families, there are plenty of things the sisters aren’t allowed to do, and the film explores this with sensitivity, exploring how they learn to lie, and even live a double life, in fear of dishonouring the family’s dignity and respectability.

Fluid, seamless, up-close-and-personal camera work in a moving portrait of Egypt’s youth. Ayten Amin carefully builds a precious world where local tradition and universal hope are fused. Here, young girls dream, hope to please and seduce, aspire to be loved, to wear make-up, to be born into the world,” the Cannes Festival wrote on its website.

In a naturalistic, quasi-documentary style, the film documents the sisters’ quest for personal freedom, as they question the rules imposed on them. 

In a country where women continue to face discrimination in both law and practice, a narrative film like ‘Souad’ opens up space for a complicated set of much-needed generation-defining questions.

Share this article