6 photographes nord-africains se réapproprient leur identité maghrébine

Le dévoilement des complexités de l’Afrique du Nord

by

Les questions d’identité sont aujourd’hui au premier plan, et la maîtrise de la complexité de nos ethnies, races et identités culturelles a toujours été, et devrait toujours être essentielle. 

Une  nouvelle génération de jeunes photographes d’origine nord-africaine (certains d’origine amazighe et d’autre d’origine arabe mais tous unis au Maghreb) redéfinit ce que signifie être nord-africain, et comment cela se traduit dans leur propre esthétique. 

Dans une région où les projets créatifs bénéficient très peu voire pas du tout d’un soutien financier, le chômage chez les jeunes atteint le taux stupéfiant de 29,3% en Afrique du Nord (soit environ deux fois la moyenne mondiale selon l’Organisation internationale du travail).  Il n’a donc jamais été aussi important de soutenir les talents maghrébins.

Un nombre important de photographes ont leurs travaux exposés partout, d’Amsterdam à Paris, et ont fait la une de The New York Times et M le Monde. Il est temps que notre région commence à prêter attention aux futures stars qui se trouvent sous notre nez.

Hanane el Lourdani

View this post on Instagram

🔮🍬🍭

A post shared by @ hananelouardani on

Ilyes Griyeb

View this post on Instagram

Najia and her daughter Marwa

A post shared by Ilyes Griyeb (@ilyesg) on

Zied Ben Romdhane

Fethi Sahraoui

Youcef Krache

View this post on Instagram

#El_Houma #algeria #collective220

A post shared by Krache Youcef (@youcefkrache) on

Oumayma Ben Tanfous

View this post on Instagram

nouvelle muse, Cheb Yassine #preview

A post shared by OUMAYMA (@oumaymabtanfous) on

Partagez cet article

6 North African Photographers Reclaiming Their Maghrebi Identity

The complexities of North Africa unravelled

by

With identity issues being pushed to the forefront, navigating the complexities of our individual ethnicities, race and cultural identities has always, and should always bekey.

Hailing from across North Africa, a new generation of young photographers (some from Amazigh backgrounds and some from Arab backgrounds but each united in the Maghreb) are redefining what it means to be North African, and how that correlates into their individual aesthetics.

In a region with little to no monetary support for creative projects, youth unemployment sits at a staggering 29.3 per cent in North Africa (about twice the world average according to the International Labor Organization), supporting Mabrhebi talent has never been more important.

With a number of the photographers listed having had their work exhibited everywhere from Amsterdam to Paris, and featured on the front page of The New York Times and M Le Monde, it’s time for the region to start paying attention to the future stars who sit directly under our nose.

Hanane el Lourdani

View this post on Instagram

🔮🍬🍭

A post shared by @ hananelouardani on

Ilyes Griyeb

View this post on Instagram

Najia and her daughter Marwa

A post shared by Ilyes Griyeb (@ilyesg) on

Zied Ben Romdhane

Fethi Sahraoui

Youcef Krache

View this post on Instagram

#El_Houma #algeria #collective220

A post shared by Krache Youcef (@youcefkrache) on

Oumayma Ben Tanfous

View this post on Instagram

nouvelle muse, Cheb Yassine #preview

A post shared by OUMAYMA (@oumaymabtanfous) on

Share this article