ما الذي يعنيه أن تكون مسلماً وناشطاً اجتماعياً

3 دروس رئيسية في الحياة من أكثر ناشطي الإنستاغرام إلهاماً

by

في عمر الـ 25 فقط، غيّرت بلير إيماني معنى أن تكون مؤثراً عصرياً على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. فإيماني ليست ناشطة مثليّة الجنس و إسلامية مسلمة أميركية من أصل إفريقي فحسب، بل هي ناشطة نسوية متحمسة لحقوق المرأة وفعالة والمديرة التنفيذية للمنظمة النسائية “المساواة من أجلها” ومؤلفة كتاب “مودرن هيرستوري: قصص عن النساء وعن الأشخاص غير العاديين الاستثنائيين الذي يقومون بإعادة كتابة التاريخ”.

كما تُعتبر الناشطة الشابة أيضاً صوتاً قوياً في حركة “بلاك لايفز ماتر”، والتي اكتسبت شهرة على الإنترنت لاإحتجاجها على إطلاق النار على “آلتون ستيرلنغ” وعلى الأمر التنفيذي رقم 13769، وغني عن القول بأن إيماني مصدر إلهامٍ كبير، ولذلك فقد جمعنا لكم ثلاثة دروس رئيسية في الحياة تعلمناها منها.

أعمال اللطف والمحبة لها صوتٌ أعلى من أعمال العنف

في أعقاب إطلاق النار على “آلتون ستيرلينغ”، شاركت إيماني في احتجاجٍ في باتون روج، لويزيانا. وبينما كانت تتظاهر بسلام، تم اعتقالها لتقوم بعد ذلك برواية تفاصيل لقائها مع ضباط قوات التدخل السريع في باتون روج، والذين قاموا بتهديدها لفظياً وجسدياً. وبعد أقل من أسبوع من اعتقالها، حاربت إيماني العنف من خلال تنظيم وقفةٍ اإحتجاجية جماهيرية مع رابطة هيئة الطلاب بجامعة ولاية لويزيانا رداً على جريمة قتل ثلاثةٍ من ضباط شرطة باتون روج وتكريماً لهم. وقد قالت في مقالٍ نُشِر في صحيفة لويزيانا الأسبوعية “ذا أدفوكيت”: “كل أعمال العنف خاطئة”، وصرحت بأنها ضد كل الأعمال والتصرفات الوحشية، بما فيها العنف ضد ضباط الشرطة.

النظر إلى الصورة الأكبر

لمجرد أن نشاط إيماني متجذر في حقوق الإنسان، فهذا لا يعني تجاهل أهمية النشاط فيأن نشاطها في المجال الفني أقل أهمية. فقد تحدثت إيماني في مقابلةٍ لها في مهرجان كان عن مدى أهمية تبني علامات الأزياء للشمولية. لقد فسرت إيماني هذا الأمر من جانبها كمستهلك بتصريحها لـفارايتي: “الحقيقة الصادقة هي أنه عندما تحتضن أية علامة تجارية المجتمعات التي تشتري سلعها بالفعل، فإن تلك المجتمعات ستشعر بالمزيد من الإلهام والمزيد من الولاء والاإخلاص لهذه العلامة التجارية”.

تحلّوا بالإيمان

اعتنقت إيماني الإسلام عام 2015، حين قامت بالتحدث علانية خلال الفترة التي سبقت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية لعام 2016، بخصوص تداخل الهوية والاإنتماء بين السود والمسلمين وتنافسهم السياسي في أميركا. ثم توسعت لاحقاً بهذا الحديثالحوار لتقدمه في جامعة هارفارد ومرتين على شاشة التلفزيون، ودعت إلى توفير أماكن آمنة في حرم الجامعات للمسلمين والمثليين الجنسيين والأقليات الأخرى. أما ضد ما يُعتبر بروتوكولاً إجتماعياً، كما أن فإيماني ليس لديها أي تحفظ بخصوص تسييس إيمانها ومعتقداتها والتحدث عنهما عبر من خلال إحدى وسائلالحراك النشاط السياسي، وذلكوهدفها من ذلك لتسهيلتوفير مساحة آمنة لممارسة الإيمانالمعتقدات الدينية بشكلٍ آمن لأولئك الذين تلقوا تمييزاًتعرضوا لتمييزٍ عنصري مشابهٍ لهااً في أميركا.

شارك هذا المقال

What Being a Muslim Activist is Really Like

Three major life lessons from Instagram’s most inspiring activist

by

At only 25-years-old, Blair Imani is changing what it means to be a modern influencer. Not only is Imani a queer African-American Muslim activist, but an ardent feminist, Executive Director of feminist organisation ‘Equality for HER’ and the author of must-read book, Modern HERstory: Stories of Women and Non-binary People Rewriting History.

The young activist is also a strong voice in the Black Lives Matter movement, gaining repute online for protesting the shooting of Alton Sterling and Executive Order 13769. Needless to say, Imani is nothing short of inspiring, so we compiled three major life lessons we learned from her.

Acts of kindness speak louder than violence

In the aftermath of Alton Sterling’s shooting, Imani took part in a protest in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. While peacefully protesting, she was arrested and later detailed her encounter with Baton Rouge SWAT officers, who verbally and physically threatened her. Less than a week after her arrest, Imani fought the violence by organising a mass-vigil with the Louisiana State University Student Body Association in response to, and in honour of, the murder of three Baton Rouge police officers. In an article in the weekly Louisiana newspaper The Advocate, she said, “All violence is wrong,” and that she is against all brutality, including violence against police officers.

Look at the bigger picture

Just because Imani’s activism is rooted in human rights, doesn’t mean activism in the arts should be discredited. At Cannes, Imani famously spoke in an interview about how it is essential for fashion brands to embrace inclusivity. Imani interpreted this from the side of the consumer, by stating to Variety, “The honest truth is that when a company embraces the communities that already purchase their items, that community is going to feel even more inspired and even more loyal and dedicated to the brand”.

Have faith

Imani converted to Islam in 2015, gaining precedence to her faith by speaking out during the run up to the US’s 2016 presidential election, relating the intersection of Black and Muslim identity and its political contestation in the US. She later expanded this talk, delivering it at Harvard and twice on television, advocating safe spaces on college campuses for Muslims, LGBT people, and other minorities. Against what is deemed social protocol, Imani has no reserve in politicising her faith and speaking out about it through the medium of political activism, in order to facilitate safe practice of faith for those who have received similar discrimination in the US.

Share this article