هل بريتني سبيرز هي أيقونة “الماركسية” التي كنا بانتظارها؟

انسوا السياسين! لأن نجمات موسيقى البوب هنّ من سيغيّرن العالم!

by

لطالما شعرت بالشك والريبة من إفصاح المشاهير عن أرائهم السياسية، لأنها برأي تخدم مصالحهم الشخصية في نهاية المطاف. صحيح أن مشاهير مثل جورج كلوني وبونو وأنجلينا جولي ساهموا في دعم قضايا هامة، ولكنهم في نفس الوقت كانوا يروّجون لأجندتهم الخاصة. واليوم يطلب منا رايان رينولدز وجيه لو البقاء في منازلنا وهم يعيشون في قصورٍ رائعة للسيطرة على جائحة كوونا، مما جعلني أشعر من جديد بالشك بنواياهم. ولكن من المشاهير الذين لفتوا انتباهي بصورةٍ إيجابية وتركوا شعوراً جميلاً في قلبي هي بريتني سبيرز التي شاركت شعارات ماركسية على صفحتها على إنستاغرام.

في 23 مارس، شاركت نجمة موسيقى البوب قولاً للكاتبة ميمي زو على إنستاغرام وهو “سنطعم بعضنا البعض ونعيد توزيع الثروة. شاركوا في الإضراب” وعلقت على الصورة قائلةً “المشاركة تتخطى حدود الجدران”.

View this post on Instagram

Communion goes beyond walls 🌹🌹🌹

A post shared by Britney Spears (@britneyspears) on

كما شاركت بريتني في تحدي #DoYourPartChallenge أو “قم بدورك” ودعت فيه متابعينها إلى إرسال رسائل على صفحتها على إنستاغرام في حال كانوا بحاجةٍ إلى مساعدةٍ مادية لشراء المواد الأساسية. أليست هذه المساعدة الحقيقية التي نحتاجها من المشاهير الآن؟

لا نريد من المشاهير أن يغنوا معاً أغنية Imagine لجون لينون (والتي كانت من أكثر اللحظات إحراجاً على الإنترنت حتى الآن في عام 2020) وأن يطلبوا منا بعدها التبرع! نريد منهم أن يشاركوا بتلك التبرعات بكل صدق! فكما قالت مادونا من حمّامها في الفيديو الأخير لها “نحن لسنا معاً في هذه الضائقة” خاصةً وأن الأوبئة والجائحات تؤذي الفقراء أكثر من غيرهم. وفيما يقضي المشاهير وقتاً هانئاً ومريحاً في قصورهم الفاخرة، يتعرض الملايين من الناس حول العالم الآن إلى ضائقة مالية خانقة أو يعملون بجد ليزيدوا من ثروة الأغنياء وصحتهم ورخائهم.

كما أن مغنية الراب كاردي بي التي لطالما عبرت عن أفكارها السياسية الاشتراكية طالبت في الأشهر الأخيرة الماضية أن يتم رفع الحد الأدنى للأجور وإلغاء ديون الطلاب، كما هاجمت الرئيس الأميركي دونالد ترامب على حسابها على إنستاغرام بسبب الرعاية الصحية المتحيزة في الولايات المتحدة.

يؤكد لنا فيروس كورونا أن السياسة لعبة مخيبة للآمال حول العالم. حان الوقت للتخلي عن الرؤساء والوزراء إذا كنا نتوقع المساعدة من المشاهير ويبدو أن هذه المساعدة حتى الآن لا تأتي إلا من نجمات البوب والراب! قد تتخلى المؤسسات الحكومية عن الناس في وقت الشدة ولكن نساء ملهمات مثل كاردي بي وبيرتني سبيرز سيقفن معهم!

View this post on Instagram

I said what I said

A post shared by Cardi B (@iamcardib) on

شارك هذا المقال

Is Britney Spears the Marxist Icon We’ve Been Waiting For?

Forget political leaders, female pop icons will change the world

by

I have always felt like celebrities being outspoken about political views can be shady. Angelina Jolie? Bono? George Clooney? They might have helped bring serious issues to a wider audience, but isn’t it their personal brands that benefit from it the most? And as I watch J-Lo and Ryan Reynolds encouraging us to stay home during the Coronavirus crisis from their mansion and Manhattan loft, I’m forced to still ask myself the same question. But there’s one celebrity out there who surprisingly caught my attention (and warmed my heart) sharing Marxist slogans on social media: Britney Spears.

On March 23, the 2000’s pop icon shared a quote from writer Mimi Zhu on Instagram, which said, “we will feed each other, re-distribute wealth, strike”, with the caption “communion moves beyond walls”. 

View this post on Instagram

Communion goes beyond walls 🌹🌹🌹

A post shared by Britney Spears (@britneyspears) on

Britney Spears also took part in the #DoYourPartChallenge, inviting fans to DM her if they needed financial help to buy groceries. And isn’t that the real help we need from celebrities right now? 

We don’t want to see celebrities sing John Lennon’s “Imagine” (the most cringey thing we’ve witnessed in 2020) and ask us to donate. We need them to genuinely pitch in. Because the truth is, Covid-19 isn’t a “great equaliser”, as Madonna said from her bathtub.  We’re not “all in this together” and in case you were still unsure: yes, pandemics still hit the poor the hardest. And while celebrities are chilling in their sprawling backyards and mansions having a rather pleasant time, millions are either loosing their jobs or working to optimise wealthy people’s health and comfort.

Cardi B—who’s been vocal about her socialist political views over the last few months, calling to raise the minimum wage and cancel student debts—also took to her Instagram to attack President Trump about the unequal access to tests and healthcare in the United States. 

All over the world, the Coronavirus crisis is showing us that politics is a disappointing business. It’s time we ditch presidents and ministers if we’re expecting celebrity help and engagement. And as unlikely as it might sound to some, the alternative right now seems to be female pop stars. The establishment might be dismissing their disenfranchised populations, but Britney and Cardi B are willing to have theirs back.

View this post on Instagram

I said what I said

A post shared by Cardi B (@iamcardib) on

Share this article