بينالي القاهرة يعود بعد توقفٍ دام 8 سنوات

لا تنسوا هذا التاريخ

by

من الطبيعي أن يتوقف بينالي القاهرة المصري منذ حوالي عقد من الزمن وذلك بسبب الأوضاع السياسية. لكن الروزنامة الثقافية للدولة الشمال إفريقية قد امتلأت هذا العام، حيث ازدحمت ملاعبها بزوّار كأس الأمم الإفريقية، بالإضافة إلى عودة أحد أكثر فعالياتها المرتقبة – وهي البينالي.

توقف البينالي الذي تأسس لأول مرة في عام 1984، بعد ثورة 2010. لكنه يعود اليوم وبقوة كبيرة بنسخته الثالثة عشر في ثلاثة مواقع مختلفة في حي الزمالك الراقي تحت عنوان “آيز إيست باوند”.

سيتم عرض أعمال 80 فناناً من 50 دولة، من بينهم الفنان الشهير يوسف نبيل الذي عاد إلى بلده الأم لعرض أعماله مستحوذاً على طابقٍ كامل من قصرعائشة فهمي.

كما سيشارك كل من الفنان الفرنسي الجزائري محمد بورويسة والذي تعاون مع فيرجيل أبلوه والفنان العراقي المقيم في هولندا صادق الفراجي، الذي سيقدم عرضاً من جزأين حول اإنتقال جده القسري من جنوب العراق إلى بغداد أثناء حكم النظام.

سيكون هذا البينالي الذي سيُقام برعاية إيهاب اللبان، أكثر شمولاً من أي وقت مضى متطلعاً إلى ما وراء العالم العربي ونحو الدول الإفريقية المجاورة لمصر، إذ سيشارك الفنان الإيفواري إرنست دوكو الذي يقدم سلسلة من الأعمال التي تتحدث عن الموروثات الاستعمارية.

أما الفنانة أدماير كامودزينغيرير من زيمبابوي فستقوم بعرض أعمالها المشحونة سياسياً. وينضم إليها عمر بول من موريتانيا والفنان السنغالي الفرنسي أنطوان تيمبي والفنانة هياسينث أواتارا المقيمة في بوركينا فاسو والفنانة الأوغندية سناء غاتيجة.

“آيز باوند إيست” إكس واي زد –10 أغسطس في قصر الفنون، دار الأوبرا في القاهرة، مصر

شارك هذا المقال

Cairo Biennale is Back After a 9 Year Hiatus

Save the date

by

With its political climate considered, it’s only natural that Egypt’s Cairo Biennale hasn’t seen the light of day in almost a decade. But the North African nation’s cultural calendar has been filling up this year, with its stadiums flooded by visitors for the African Cup of Nations, and now, the return of one its most anticipated events – the biennale.

First established in 1984, the biennale saw a halt following the 2010 revolution. Today, it returns in full force for its 13th edition, and is being held in three different locations in the posh neighbourhood of Zamalek under the title Eyes East Bound.

With 80 artists from 50 countries on display, among them being renowned artist Youssef Nabil, who made a return to his native country to put his work on display, taking over an entire floor of Aisha Fahmy Palace.

French-Algerian artist and Virgil Abloh collaborator Mohammed Bourouissa is also taking part, as is Netherlands-based Iraqi artist Sadik Alfraji, who will be presenting a two-part installation centered around his grandfather’s forced move from southern Iraq to Baghdad during the regime.

Curated by Ehab Ellabban, this biennale will be notably more inclusive than ever, looking beyond the Arab world and towards Egypt’s neighbouring African nations, with Ivorian artist Ernest Duku presenting a series of work that comments on colonial legacies.

Admire Kamudzengerere, an artist hailing from Zimbabwe brings forth her politically-charged work. Joining her is Omar Ball from Mauritania, French-Senegalese artist Antoine Tempe, Burkina Faso-based artist Hyacinth Ouattara, and Ugandan artist Sanaa Gateja.

Eyes Bound East, XYZ – August 10 at Palace of Arts, Cairo Opera House, Egypt

Share this article