مهرجان القاهرة السينمائي يوقع على ميثاق للمساواة بين الجنسين

مع اقتراب أول مهرجان سينمائي عربي يمكننا القول بأننا سندخل التاريخ

by

يحقق مهرجان القاهرة السينمائي الدولي (CIFF) الآن وفي عامه الثاني تحت رعاية المنتج المصري محمد حفظي، شهرة كبيرة لعدة أسباب.

إذ يضع حفظي، الذي تم تعيينه في لجنة تحكيم مهرجان البندقية السينمائي العام الماضي، كل طاقته في السينما الإقليمية. ليس ذلك فحسب، بل تمثل دورة هذا العام مناسبة مهمة جداً، حيث تم الإعلان عن الإلتزام بالمساواة بين الجنسين بنسبة 50/50 بحلول عام 2020.

سيكون مهرجان CIFF واحداً من بين 60 مهرجاناً سينمائياً من جميع أنحاء العالم قاموا بالتوقيع على هذا الميثاق الذي تم إطلاقه في مهرجان كان السينمائي في عام 2018 لضمان مساواة المرأة في صناعة الأفلام. وتعد مهرجانات البندقية وتورنتو ونيويورك ولندن من بين المهرجانت التي وقعت هلى الميثاق، وسيقوم مهرجان CIFF بإجراءات التوقيع الرسمية خلال عرض فيلم “سيدة البحر” للكاتبة والمخرجة السعودية شهد أمين في دورة المهرجان لهذا العام.

وبقدر ما يتم تسليط الضوء على السينما العربية، تتضمن إستراتيجية حفظي تقليل عدد الأفلام السينمائية في المهرجان مع التركيز على الجودة بدلاً من الكمية. ومع ذلك، فقد ارتفع عدد العروض السينمائية العربية من 8 إلى 12، مع تقديم جائزتين جديدتين وهما (أفضل فيلم غير روائي وأفضل أداء).

هناك الكثير لنتطلع إليه هذا الموسم، وإذا كنتم تتساءلون عن أهم الأفلام المشاركة، نستعرض لكم هنا أهم خمسة أفلام عربية لمشاهدتها في مهرجان القاهرة السينمائي لهذا العام.

فيلم “أوفسايد الخرطوم” للمخرجة مروة زينCairo film festival

يروي هذا الفيلم قصة مجموعةٍ من الشابات في الخرطوم يحلمن بلعب كرة القدم الاحترافية، حتى لو كان ذلك يعني مواجهة الحكومة العسكرية الإسلامية في السودان. ورغم اعتقال زين مرتين أثناء تصويرها لهذا الفيلم، إلا أنها نجحت في القيام به.

فيلم “احكيلي” للمخرجة ماريان خوري

تشتهر ماريان خوري بعملها كمنتجة لبعض أفلام عمها يوسف شاهين. أما في فيلم “احكيلي” فتروي خوري تايخ جذور عائلتها متعمقةً بنجاح شاهين من وجهة نظر إخوتها وأمها وعمتها.

فيلم “جدار الصمت” للمخرج أحمد غصينCairo film festival

فاز فيلم “جدار الصوت” للمخرج أحمد غصين بثلاث جوائز في مهرجان البندقية السينمائي، ومنها جائزة “أسبوع النقاد الدولي”. يستعرض غصين في فيلمه صراعات بلاده السياسية خلال صراع حزب الله مع إسرائيل. تدور أحداث الفيلم حول رجل يدعى مروان يقوم بالبحث عن والده أثناء وقف إطلاق النار ليجد نفسه في خضم التفجيرات بسبب انتهاء وقف إطلاق النار.

فيلم “بيك نعيش” للمخرج مهدي برصاوي

تم ترشيح فيلم مهدي برصاوي لأربع جوائز في مهرجان CIFE. وتروي هذه الدراما قصة عائلة رجل تم إطلاق النار على ابنه بطريق الخطأ في كمين زرعه إرهابيون في جنوب تونس خلال عطلة صيفية. ثم يحتاج ابنه عزيز إلى عملية زراعة كبد، الأمر الذي يُساهم في كشف سر من أسرار عائلته.

فيلم “بغداد في خيالي” للمخرج سمير جمال الدين

تدور أحداث فيلم “بغداد في خيالي” للمخرج سمير جمال الدين عن مقهى أبو نواس العصري في لندن والذي يمتلكه كاتب عراقي مهاجر وزوجته ورجل مثلي. يقع هذا المقهى بجوار مسجد سلفي، إذ يحث شيخ راديكالي ابن أخ الكاتب على مهاجمتهم، مما يتسبب بقلب حياتهم رأساً على عقب.

شارك هذا المقال

Cairo Film Festival Signs Gender-Equality Pledge

History is made as the first Arab film festival commits

by

Now in its second year under the guardianship of Egyptian producer Mohamed Hefzy’s, Cairo International Film Festival (CIFF) is making waves for all the right reasons.

Hefzy, who was inducted into Venice Film Festival’s jury last year, is putting all his energy in to regional cinema. Not only that, but this edition marks a momentous occasion for the festival, with the announcement of a 50/50 by 2020 gender equality commitment having been announced.

CIFF will be one of 60 film festivals from around the globe to have signed the pledge, which was launched at Cannes Film Festival in 2018 to ensure women’s equality in film. Venice, Toronto, New York, and London film festivals are amongst the pledgees, and CIFF will make things official with a signing of the pledge at a screening of ‘Scales’ by Saudi filmmaker Shahad Ameen, at this year’s festival.

As far as putting the spotlight on Arab cinema, Hefzy’s strategy includes reducing the number of total film screening at the festival—focusing on quality over quantity. The number of Arab film screenings however, has been raised from eight to 12, with two new awards having also been introduced (best non-fiction film and the best acting performance).  

There’s a lot to look forward to this season, and if you’re wondering what to watch out for, we’ve rounded up five Arab films to watch at Cairo Film Festival.

Khartoum Offside – Marwa Zein Cairo film festival

The film follows a group of young women in Khartoum longing to play professional football, even if it means going against Sudan’s Islamic Military government. Also, Zein was detained twice while making the film, and made it happen. 

Let’s Talk Marianne Khoury

Marianne Khoury is known for her work as the producer of some of her uncle Youssef Chahine’s films. For ‘Let’s Talk’ Khoury traces the roots of her family, digging deep into Chahine’s success through the eyes of her siblings, mother, and aunt. 

All This Victory – Ahmad Ghossein Cairo film festival

Ahmad Ghossein’s ‘All This Victory’ won big at Venice Film Festival, scoring the Venice Critics’ Week Award. In the film Ghossein explores his native country’s political struggles during the Hezbollah and Israeli conflict. The film is about a man named Marwan who goes on the hunt for his father during a ceasefire, only to find himself in the midst of bombings as the ceasefire comes to an end. 

A Son – Mehdi Barsaoui

Mehdi Barsoui’s feature film has been nominated for four awards at CIFF. The drama follows the family of a man whose son was accidentally shot in an ambush by terrorists in southern Tunisia during a summer holiday. His son, Aziz, winds up needing a liver transplant, which exposes a family secret. 

Baghdad in my Shadow – Samir 

At the centre of Samir’s ‘Baghdad in my Shadow’ is Abu Nawas, a trendy café for an exiled Iraqi author and his wife and a gay man. The café, however, is located next to a Salafi mosque and a radical Sheikh incites the author’s nephew to attack them, turning their life upside down.

Share this article