شانيل تعيّن أول مدير للتنوع والشمولية

إنتصارٌ كبير للعارضات ذوات البشرة الملونة

by

على خطى غوتشي و بربري، قامت شانيل بتعيين مدير للتنوع والشمولية. تم إيجاد هذا المنصب لتعزيز ارتباطٍ أكثر شموليةً بالعلامة التجارية وإعطاء المنصة والرؤية والتمثيل للعاملين من ذوي البشرة الملونة. في تقريرها لعام 2018 إلى المجتمع، أعطت شانيل الأولوية لتعزيز مبدأ الشمولية والتنوع على أنه “فرصة مستمرة”، على الرغم من أن معنى هذه الخطوة لا يزال مبهماً.

وقد اختارت شانيل كوجهٍ للتنوع فيونا بارغيتر، التي شغلت سابقاً المنصب ذاته في بنك سويسرا.

Fiona-Pargeter-Chanel-diversity

بصرف النظر عن النجاحات التي نأمل أن تحققها بارغيتر، فإن صناعة الأزياء قد غيرت نظرتها في الآونة الأخيرة من خلال إعادة تقييم رؤيتها لأصحاب البشرة الملونة. وقد ظهر ذلك بوضوح في عرض برادا في فبراير، عندما أعلنت دار الأزياء الإيطالية عن إنشاء مجلس استشاري للتنوع والشمولية، يهدف إلى “زيادة أصوات الأشخاص الملونين في الصناعة”.

ستتم مراقبة بارغيتر عن كثب، وخصوصاً بعد ازدياد الاهتمام بهذه العلامة بسبب وفاة كارل لاغرفيلد وتعيين خليفته فيرجيني فيارد. وبينما تقوم فيارد بشق طريقها الإبداعي الخاص لدى شانيل، نأمل نحن في ميل، أن تتخذ بارغيتر أيضاً منهجاً إبداعياً وشاملاً لمستقبل هذه العلامة الشهيرة.

شارك هذا المقال

Chanel Hire Their First Diversity and Inclusion Officer

A big win for POC models

by

Following in the footsteps of Gucci and Burberry, Chanel hire their first diversity and inclusion officer. This role is set to enable a more inclusive association with the brand and give platform, visibility and representation to POC collaborators. In their 2018 Report to Society, Chanel prioritised enhancing inclusion and diversity as “an ongoing opportunity”, although what this entails is yet to be expanded.

Chanel’s chosen face of diversity is Fiona Pargeter, who previously held the same position at a Swiss bank. 

Fiona-Pargeter-Chanel-diversityRegardless of what we hope will be Pargeter’s success, the fashion industry has been changing face, re-evaluating its visibility of POC representatives. This was most prominently seen at Prada in February, when the Italian fashion house launched a Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Council, aiming to “amplify voices of colour within the industry”.

Pargeter will be watched closely, as increased interest is circulating around the brand due to Karl Lagerfeld’s recent passing, and the appointment of his successor Virginie Viard. As Viard forges her own creative path for Chanel, at MILLE we hope Pargeter also takes a creative and inclusive approach to the future of the iconic brand.

Share this article