فيروس كورونا جعلني أدرك بأنني أريد أن أكون مزارعة

أنا جادّة في كلامي!

by

لقد حوّل فيروس كورونا خطتي طويلة المدى لأن أكون مزارعة إلى خطة قصيرة المدى للغاية. فعلى ما يبدو سيتّخذ عالمنا واقعاً جديداً على المدى الطويل، ولهذا أريد أن تكون حياة الريف هي واقعي الجديد!

لن أقوم بعد الآن بكتابة مقالات عن رأيي حول كل ما يحدث في العالم. فما أريده الآن هو قضاء أيامي مع عائلتي وأصدقائي والعناية ببعضنا البعض والاهتمام بكوكبنا. أنا أعد نفسي لحياة تبدو على النحو التالي:

أستيقظ كل صباح وأقوم بروتيني الصباحي للجمال. أغسل وجهي ، وأفرش أسناني وأستعمل بعض المرطب لأن بشرتي تكون جافة جدًا في الصباح. ثم أعصر كوبًا من عصير البرتقال إذا كان الشتاء. خلال فصل الصيف، ربما كنت سأستبدل عصير البرتقال بعصير الليمون. ثم أقوم بالتبديل بين رشفات مشروبتي الطازجة وقهوتي حيث أستمتع بالخبز المحمص مع الزبدة والمربى المحلي.

في حياتي الجديدة، سأعيش في مزرعةٍ في مكانٍ ما، ويُفضل أن تكون في سليانة بتونس حيث ترعرعت. وسيظل بإمكاني استخدام الإنترنت لأنه حقٌّ من حقوق الإنسان (شأنه شأن الماء والكهرباء). حيثُ سأستعمل الإنترنت لأتفقد عائلتي وأصدقائي، ولكن ليس قبل أن أتأكد من إطعام كلبتي فيفي ودجاجاتي التسع عشرة.

ثم أود أن أكتب قليلاً. وإذا كان العالم ما يزال مكاناً يجب أن أعيل نفسي فيه وأجني المال، فسأطلق على هذا الجزء من يومي بـ “العمل”. وستكون الكتابة ببساطة هي مساهمتي في المجتمع.

في هذه الحياة التي سأعيشها، لن يكون هناك وجود للأغنياء وأصحاب الملايين لأنه سيكون من الواضح جداً أن الرأسمالية لا تضمن لأحدٍ البقاء أو السيطر، لذا ستصبح سياسات الهوية شيئاً من الماضي. إذ سيتم حل أزمة الهوية بالنسبة للجميع لأن البشر أدركوا أن العنصرية هي منظومة تُستخدم للحفاظ على الأنظمة القمعية التي تعطي الأولوية للاقتصاد على حياة البشر.

وبدلاً من الكتابة عن العنصرية والطبقية، سأكتب قصصاً خيالية (وهو نوع لم أكن مهتمةٌ به أبداً)، ولكن ربما بدأن الاهتمام به بعد فترة الحجر الصحي هذه التي تستغرق 20 يوماً!

ثم سأعود لمزرعتي الصغيرة التي سأزرع فيها البطاطس والطماطم والفلفل والبصل وبعض الأشياء الأخرى التي أود طهيها.

أعلم أن هذا كله تفكير خيالي وساذج للغاية. إذ ليس لدي أصلاً مهارات أولية كمزارعة. وأعلم أيضاً أن مجرد التفكير بهذه الأحلام يعتبر رفاهيةً كبيرة في الوقت الحالي. وأنا أعلم أنني، وعلى الأغلب، لن أكافح بنفس القدر الذي سيكافح به الكثيرون غيري من أجل النجاة من هذه الجائحة. فلطالما كنت واعيةً بالامتيازات التي أملكها في حياتي وما زلت واعيةً بها.

لا يمكنني أن أتخيل حياةً غير مستدامة في أعقاب هذه الجائحة، هي الحلّ لكل البشرية والكوكب ولصحتي العقلية.

أرفض تصديق فكرة أن العالم في متوقف في الوقت الحالي، رغم أن تلك الفكرة كانت أساس كل الأفكار الخيالية التي راودتني. كل شيء نفعله الآن سيكون حجر الأساس للمستقبل القادم، وكل ما يمكنني فعله هو الجلوس في المنزل والاستعداد للحياة التي أريد أن أعيشها.

شارك هذا المقال

Coronavirus Made Me Realize I Just Want to Be a Farmer

Seriously.

by

Coronavirus has turned my long-term plan of being a farmer into a really, really short-term one. If our world goes on to find a new kind of normal after this pandemic, life on the countryside is all I can imagine.

Life will no longer involve me writing opinion pieces on everything that’s wrong with the world. As idealistic as it might be, I now want to spend my days with family and friends, caring for each other and caring for the planet. It’s entirely plausible. I’m unironically preparing myself for a life that looks like this:

I wake up every morning and go through my morning routine. It’s quite simple. I wash my face, brush my teeth and dab some moisturizer on my face because my skin is always very dry in the morning. Then, I’ll squeeze a glass of orange juice if it’s winter. During the summer I’d probably swap the orange juice for lemonade. Then I’ll alternate between sips of my fresh drink and my coffee as I enjoy toasted bread smothered with butter and homemade jam.


I will be living on a farm somewhere—preferably in Siliana, Tunisia where I grew up. I would still have access to the internet because it’s officially been deemed a human right (or at the very least a utility, the same as water and electricity). I would get online and check on my family and friends, but not before I make sure that my dog Fifi and my 19 chickens have been fed. 

Then I would write a little. If the world is still a place where I have to fend for myself and make money, I’ll call this part of my day “work”. Ideally though, writing would simply be my contribution to society. 

By the time I’m living this life, billionaires will no longer exist because it would have become immensely clear that capitalism doesn’t ensure survival. Identity politics will become a thing of the past. Everyone’s identity crisis will have been resolved because humans realized that racism is a construct used to sustain oppressive systems that prioritise an economy over human lives. 

Rather than writing about racism and classism, I’d be writing fiction—a genre I’ve never truly had an interest in, but am growing to appreciate. This 20-day-long quarantine probably has a little to do with its sudden appeal. 

I’d then tend to my farm. It would be a small one where I would grow potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, onions, and a few other things that I like to cook with. 

I know, this is all blue-sky thinking and massively naïve. I literally have no preliminary skills as a farmer. I also know it’s a privilege to even have these dreams at this time. Chances are, I won’t struggle nearly as much as many others will in order to survive this pandemic. I’ve always recognized my privilege—that hasn’t changed in  my current train of thought. .

I just can’t imagine a life that’s not sustainable in the wake of this pandemic; for the planet humanity, and for my own mental health. 

I refuse to subscribe to the idea that the world is currently on pause, and that’s been the key to every imaginative thought I’ve had as I’ve been sitting still. Everything we do now will shape the future that’s to come, and all I can do is sit at home and prepare for the life I want to live.

Share this article