كل ما ترغبون معرفته حول فيروس كورونا في المنطقة

هل نحن حقاً على وشك تسميته بالوباء؟

by

لقد انتشر فيروس كورونا وبشكلٍ رسمي في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. حيثُ تمّ تشخيص إصاباتٍ بهذا الفيروس في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي من الإمارات إلى الجزائر.

فوفقا للتقارير، تم تشخيص ما لا يقل عن 80,000 إصابة بهذا المرض في جميع أنحاء العالم، متسبباً بقتل 2600 شخص. أما بالنسبة لمنطقتنا، فقد أبلغت تسعة بلدان عن حالات مصابة بهذا الفيروس.

إذ أبلغت الإمارات عن 13 حالة، فيما صرح العراق عن ست حالات. أما إيران فقد أكدت وجود 139 حالة، حيث فرضت السلطات الإيرانية عدداً من القيود على السفر الداخلي.

صرح لبنان عن وجود إصابتين بهذا الفيروس، لمريضين قادمين إلى لبنان من إيران على نفس الرحلة. كما أكدت مصر عن أول حالة لديها في الأسبوع الماضي، وأعلنت الكويت عن وجود 25 حالة مؤكدة، في حين يبلغ عدد الحالات الموجودة  في البحرين 26 حالة. أما الجزائر فلديها حالة واحدة مؤكدة (وهو مواطن إيطالي وصل إلى الجزائر في 17 فبراير قادماً من إيطاليا)، وأعلنت سلطنة عُمان عن ثلاث حالاتٍ مؤكدة حتى الآن.

لا يزال هذا الفيروس دون لقاح بعد، وعلى الرغم من أن درجة الإصابة معتدلة بالنسبة لمعظم الأشخاص المصابين، إلا أنه يمكن أن يكون قاتلاً بالنسبة للمسنين ولأولئك الذين يعانون من ظروف صحية سابقة.

وبينما يواصل الفيروس انتشاره السريع في جميع أنحاء العالم، بدأت آثاره ونتائجه تظهر في جميع الصناعات. ففي الأسبوع الماضي، ألغى المصمم الإيطالي جورجيو أرماني عرض أزيائه في ميلانو. كما تم إلغاء أسبوع الموضة في سيؤول والذي كان من المقرر إقامته في الفترة من 17 إلى 21 مارس بسبب تهديد الفيروس. إذ توجد في سيؤول 1000 حالة مؤكدة حتى الآن، وهو أعلى رقم خارج الأراضي الرئيسية للصين.

كما كانت لهذا الفيروس آثار سلبية على كل الآسيويين في جميع أنحاء العالم. حيثُ صرحت الممثلة وعارضة الأزياء اليابانية تاو أوكاموتو في بيان لها حول هذا الموضوع “في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، رأيت بعض ردود الأفعال غير المناسبة والعنصرية تجاه الشعب الصيني خصوصاً والآسيويين عموماً، على كل من الأخبار ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعية. ومثل هذا الكلام يمكن أن يكون مؤذياً وضاراً”.

وعندما سُئلت المصورة الصينية الأميركية كاثرين لي جونسون عما إذا تمت معاملتها بعنصرية في تونس مؤخراً، قالت: “سمعت بعض العبارات المسيئة من الكثير من المراهقين في الشارع، ليس كل يوم ولكنه يحدث في كثير من الأحيان. فهم يقولون كلمة “كورونا” حين أمر بجانبهم أو يقولونها بصوتٍ عالٍ عبر الشارع”.

“هناك تناقض بين الطريقة التي نسارع بها برفض العنصرية بمجرد أن تحدث في دول العالم الأول، ولكننا لا نمانع في نفس الوقت بالتغاضي عن الطريقة التي تؤذي فيها عاداتنا الاستهلاكية ملايين الآسيويين كل يوم، وبشكلٍ أسوأ من بعض التعليقات عن فيروس كورونا”.

شارك هذا المقال

Everything You Need to Know About Coronavirus in the Region

Are we really on the brink of a pandemic?

by

It’s official. Coronavirus has spread across the region. From the UAE to Algeria, the virus has been diagnosed across the Arab world. 

According to the World Health Organisation, at least 80,000 people have been diagnosed with the illness across the globe, and 2,600 have been killed. As for the region, nine countries have reported cases of infections. 

The UAE reported 13 cases. Iraq has confirmed six cases of the virus. Iran confirmed 139 cases, with Iranian authorities having placed a number of domestic travel restrictions. 

Lebanon has confirmed a second case of the virus, with both patients having returned to Lebanon from Iran on the same flight. Egypt confirmed its first case last week and Kuwait now has 25 confirmed cases, while Bahrain now counts 26. Algeria has one confirmed case (an Italian national who arrived on February 17 from Italy) and Oman has three confirmed cases to date.

The virus still has no vaccine and although it has proven to be mild for most infected people, it can be fatal for the elderly and those who have pre-existing health conditions. 

As the virus continues its rapid spread across the globe, its effects are being felt across all industries. Last week, Italian designer Giorgio Armani cancelled his runway show in Milan. Seoul Fashion Week, which was due to take place from March 17 to 21 was also cancelled due to the threat of the virus. Seoul currently counts 1,000 confirmed cases so far, the highest number outside of Mainland China. 

Its effects are also being felt by Asians across the globe. “In the last few weeks, I have seen some inappropriate and racial reactions towards Chinese people and Asian individuals in general, on both the news and social media. A rhetoric like that can be hurtful and harmful” said Japanese actress and model Tao Okamoto, in a statement regarding the matter. 

When asked if she’s recently dealt with racism in Tunisia, Chinese-American photographer Katherine Li Johnson says: “There are a lot of teenagers heckling in the street. It’s not every day but it happens often enough to notice. It’s people saying “Corona” as I walk by or calling it loudly from across the street”.  

“I’m also extremely sceptical of how much we are willing to push back against racism once it affects us in the first world but incredibly happy to turn a blind eye to how our consumption choices are hurting millions of Asian people every single day, in ways that are far more corrosive and harmful than comments about coronavirus,” she adds.

Share this article