معرض Desert X يعود إلى صحراء العلا

المعرض الفني العالمي يعود بنسخته الجديدة

في حدث هام ومثير للاهتمام، وبعد انقطاع دام لمدة عامين جراء انتشار وباء كورونا، يعود معرض Desert X في نسخته الثانية ليُقام في وسط المناظر الطبيعية الصحراوية الاستثنائية للعلا.

تحت عنوان “سراب”، يستكشف المعرض الفني أفكار السراب والواحات المتأصلة في تاريخ الصحراء وثقافتها من خلال عرض الأعمال المعاصرة لفنانين سعوديين وعالميين.

وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ نسخة Desert X  التي ستبدأ من 11 فبراير وتمتد لغاية 30 مارس ستكون بالتعاون مع الهيئة الملكية للعلا (RCU) وستقام في صحراء العلا في موقع مختلف عن النسخة الافتتاحية في عام 2020، حيث تقع داخل وادٍ بمساحةٍ أكبر، وستوفر للزوار تجربة غامرة لاستكشاف المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة وهم يستمتعون برحلتهم بين الأعمال النابضة بالحياة.

وعلى هذا الصعيد، علّق نيفيل ويكفيلد، المدير الفني لمعرض Desert X Coachella في كاليفورنيا قائلاً “لطالما كانت العلا على مفترق طرق التجارة والثقافة. طبيعتها وتاريخها كانا ولا يزالان يجتذبان الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم.”

وكجزء من التغييرات الكبيرة التي شهدتها المملكة العربية السعودية خلال الشهرين الماضيين، سيعزز هذا الحدث العالمي الكبير مكانة الدولة الخليجية على خارطة المشهد الثقافي العالمي، ويجعلها واحدة من العواصم الثقافية في المنطقة. ونحن نتشوق لنشهد هذه اللحظات التاريخية المذهلة.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

Desert X is Travelling Back to Al Ula

The international art expo is finally returning

by

Now in its second edition, Desert X will be settling back into the ancient desert region of Al Ula once again, after a two-year break owing to the pandemic. 

This year, things are a little different. The art event, which places contemporary works by Saudi and international artists at the centre of the gathering, will be put under the theme of ‘Sarab’ exploring the ideas of mirage and oasis.

Running from this February 11 to March 30, Desert X will be working in collaboration with the Royal Commission for Al Ula (RCU) and will take place in a different location than where it was initially held for its inaugural launch back in 2020. This time, the art space will ground itself in a larger valley that will invite visitors to discover spectacular landscapes while they venture between various vibrant works. 

“AlUla has always been at the crossroads of trade and culture (..) Its landscape and history have drawn, and continue to draw, people from across the globe.” commented Neville Wakefield, artistic director of Desert X Coachella in California. 

On a meteoric rise for the past couple of months, KSA is about to host another major global event that will surely reinforce the Gulf country’s status as one of the cultural capitals of the region.  We’re keeping our eyes on it. 

Share this article