الفيلم المصري ‘The Swimmers’ يفتتح مهرجان التورنتو السينمائي

ضع ايموجيات الاحتفال

by

ستقوم المخرجة المصرية الويلزية سالي الحسيني بقص شريط افتتاح مهرجان تورنتو السينمائي الدولي 2022 في 8 سبتمبر.   حيث تم اختيار الفيلم الأحدث للمخرجة ليكون في العرض التقديمي المسائي الافتتاحي للنسخة 47 من TIFF.

شارك في إنتاج الفيلم عملاق البث الأمريكي Netflix جنبًا إلى جنب مع وكالة Working Title Films التي تتخذ من لندن مقراً لها . بعد تأخر إصداره بسبب الوباء المستمر، حصل الفيلم على العريف والاهتمام اللذين يستحقهما بالفعل.  يروي الفيلم المقتبس عن قصة حقيقية،  حكاية شقيقتين ، يسرى وسارة مارديني ، اللتين فرتا من موطنهما الأصلي، سوريا، بعد أن مزقتها الحرب  عام 2015 لتجدا نفسيهما بعد أقل من عام في أولمبياد ريو 2016.

تعود الحكاية إلى عام 2015 ، عندما كانت الأختان مارديني على متن قارب هجرة قادم من تركيا نحو اليونان لتبدأ السفينة المكتظة بالغرق. كان على الأختين الاستمرار في السباحة لثلاث ساعات من أجل الحفاظ على تحرك القارب وسلامة الركاب لغاية الوصول إلى برّ الأمان. ما أظهرته الأختان من شجاعة وتصميم  لامتناهيين أوصل يسرى، بعد أن سبحت حرفياً للنجاة من رحلتها الخطرة  مع أختها بغاية اللّجوء، كي تنافس في نهاية المطاف تحت راية فريق اللاّجئين في البرازيل.

كل تفاصيل الحكاية جعلت من الأختين مارديني تتصدران عناوين الصحف الدولية قبل عامين، والآن سيشاهد العالم القصة في قلب المسرح السينمائي عندما يتم عرضها لأول مرة في العالم في TIFF. ضم فريق The Swimmers ، الذي تم تصويره في ثلاث دول مختلفة ، وهي المملكة المتحدة وتركيا وبلجيكا، الممثلتين اللبنانيتين منال وناتالي عيسى ، وهما أيضًا شقيقتان في الحياة الواقعية ، لأداء دور الأختين المعروفتين على الشاشة الكبيرة. يشمل فريق العمل أيضا الممثل الفلسطيني علي سليمان ، والنجم المصري أحمد مالك، والممثلة السورية كندة علوش.

علق كاميرون بيلي ، الرئيس التنفيذي لمهرجان تورنتو السينمائي الدولي: “تأثرت بشدة بقصة هتين الأختين وأذهلني طرح الحكاية وقصها”. “كان The Swimmers أفضل مفاجأة هذا الصيف – رحلة مثيرة وملحمية تبشّر بنشأة مخرجة مهمة.”

“يسعدني أن يكون الجمهور في تورنتو أول من يكتشف الفيلم  الرائع لسالي الحسيني وأن تكون  ليلة الافتتاح هذا العام تكريما لكل من يخاطر بكل شيء للوصول إلى حياة أفضل وأكثر أمانًا.”

ستكون هذه هي المرة الثانية التي يكون فيها إنتاج Netflix حاضرا في افتتاح مهرجان سينمائي هذا العام. ففي وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع، تم الإعلان عن فيلم White Noise ، وهو دراما من إخراج Noah Baumbach، في افتتاح مهرجان فينيسيا السينمائي.

شارك هذا المقال

Egypt’s ‘The Swimmers’ to Open the 2022 Toronto Film Festival

*insert celebratory emojis*

by

Egyptian-Welsh filmmaker Sally El Hosaini will be cutting the ribbon on the 2022 Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) on September 8. Running consecutively for the ensuing 10 days, the director’s latest title, The Swimmers, will be kicking off the cinematic gathering as it has been chosen as the Opening Night Gala Presentation for the 47th edition of TIFF.

Co-produced by US streaming giant Netflix hand-in-hand with London-based agency Working Title Films, the feature, whose release got delayed owing to the ongoing pandemic, is finally getting the introduction, and attention, it rightfully deserves. Based on a true story, the plot centers around the story of two sisters, Yusra and Sarah Mardini, who fled their native war-torn Syria in 2015 only to find themselves at the 2016 Rio Olympics less than a year later. 

In 2015, the sisters were on a boat from Turkey to Greece when the overcrowded vessel began sinking. The sisters had to keep swimming for three-hours to keep the boat moving and propel the passengers to safety. Through courage and infinite determination, Yusra, who literally swam to survive her risky journey towards asylum with her sister, went on to eventually compete under the Refugee Team’s banner in Brazil.

Inherently moving and intrinsically motivating, Mardini’s story made international headlines a couple of years ago, and is now about to be put at the center of the world’s cinematographic stage when it makes its world premiere at TIFF. Shot in three different countries, namely the United Kingdom, Turkey, and Belgium, The Swimmers called on Lebanese actresses Manal and Nathalie Issa, who also happen to be sisters in real life, to imitate the now-famed siblings on the big screen. Other members of the cast include Palestinian actor Ali Suliman, Cairo-born star Ahmed Malek, as well as Syrian actress Kinda Alloush. 

“I was deeply moved by the story of these two sisters and wowed by the storytelling,” commented the Toronto International Film Festival’s CEO Cameron Bailey. “The Swimmers was the very best kind of surprise when we saw it this summer — an exciting, epic journey and the arrival of an important filmmaker.

“I’m thrilled that audiences in Toronto will be the first to discover Sally El Hosaini’s remarkable film, and that this year on our opening night we can honor everyone who risks everything to reach a better, safer life.” he continued. 

This will be the second time that a Netflix production will serve as an opening act to a film festival this year. White Noise, a Noah Baumbach-directed drama from the US streaming service, was announced as the Venice Film Festival’s opening film earlier this week.

Share this article