5 مخرجين عرب ناشئين يصنعون تاريخ السينما العربية

هذه الأسماء التي تستحق التعرّف إليها

by

ما الذي يجعل السينما العربية متميّزة ورائعة؟ إنّه بالتأكيد نجاحها في تخطي الكلاسيكيات الأزليّة لعصرها الذهبي. لقد نشأ جيل جديد من صانعي الأفلام العرب الذين يستحقون التقدير بفضل سعيهم الدؤوب لإتقان مهنتهم والارتقاء بالروايات العربية إلى آفاق عالمية، وقد نجحوا بالفعل في تحقيق ذلك.
شهدت السنوات القليلة الماضية ظهور عدد غير مسبوق من الأفلام العربية التي وصلت إلى العروض الدولية الأولى، وحصدت جوائز في أبرز المهرجانات السينمائية في العالم. مع مرور الوقت حقق المخرجون العرب حضوراً كبيراً في عالم السينما من خلال تجسيد الروايات من مجتمعات الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، في محاولة لتحدي الصور النمطية الثقافية التي قدّمتها هوليوود لعقود من الزمن.

ونحن هنا اليوم للاحتفاء بهؤلاء المخرجين العرب بدءاً من مصر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، ونعرض لكم قائمة تضم بعض صانعي الأفلام العرب الناشئين المفضلين لدينا والذين يستحقون المتابعة.

سامح علاء

حقق فيلم علاء “أخشى أن أنسى وجهك” نجاحاً كبيراُ في العام الماضي ليصبح أول فيلم مصري يفوز بجائزة السعفة الذهبية في مهرجان كان السينمائي، كما حصد الفيلم جوائز في مهرجان موسكو السينمائي ومهرجان الجونة السينمائي. يتبع الفيلم القصير الذي تبلغ مدته 15 دقيقة قصّة شاب يدعى آدم وهو يحاول التصالح مع صديقته بعد مرور 82 يوماً على انفصالهما. يشتهر المخرج المصري الذي يعيش بين القاهرة وبروكسل بأسلوبه الارتجالي في الإخراج وتركيزه على التجارب الشخصية والمشاعر خلال سرد الأحداث. في ظل إخراج أربعة أفلام قصيرة، يعتبر علاء أحد مخرجي الأفلام الذين يستحقون المتابعة.

عبد الحميد بوشناق

بوشناق هو مخرج “دشرة” وهو أول فيلم رعب في تونس. يروي الفيلم قصة طالب يدرس الصحافة مع أصدقائه العالقين في قرية معزولة أثناء محاولتهم حل قضية إجرامية عمرها عقود. اشتهر نجل المغني التونسي لطفي بوشناق بإخراج المسلسل التلفزيوني “نوبة” الذي عرض خلال شهر رمضان، حيث يصور قصص الحب وفن “المزوّد” التقليدي في تونس من التسعينيات.

أمين نايفة

ظهر فيلم “200 متر” للمخرج نايف الذي يعيش بين الأردن وفلسطين لأول مرة في الدورة 77 لمهرجان البندقية السينمائي. كما تم اختيار الفيلم ليمثل الأردن في الدورة 93 لحفل توزيع جوائز الأوسكار.  يتتبع هذا الفيلم لعام 2020 قصة زوجين يجدان نفسيهما يعيشان في قريتين فلسطينيتين تبعدان عن بعضهما 200 متر فقط، ولكن يفصل بينهما جدار الفصل العنصري. نال المخرج الفلسطيني شهرة كبيرة بعد حصوله على خمس جوائز في مهرجان الجونة السينمائي، وهذه البداية فقط.

هنا آل عمير

وهي المخرجة السعودية والمؤلفة الشريكة لأول فيلم تشويق سعودي Whispers بالتعاون مع نتفلكس، والذي يستكشف قضية الخلافات داخل العائلة التي تشهد وفاة رب الأسرة. حصلت العمير على منحة من مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي العام الماضي، وفاز فيلمها القصير “Swan Song ” بجائزة السفعة الذهبية لأفضل ممثل في مهرجان الفيلم السعودي. وهي تعمل الآن على إخراج فيلم روائي طويل بعنوان  Sharshaf.

أمجد أبو العلا

لا تكتمل القائمة بدون ذكر المخرج السوداني أمجد أبو العلا.  حقق أول ظهور لفيلمه “ستموت في العشرين” حضوراً كبيراً في عالم السينما، فقد حصل الفيلم على جائزة Luigi De Laurentiis في مهرجان البندقية السينمائي، وعلى النجمة الذهبية في مهرجان الجونة السينمائي، وعلى جائزة التانيت الذهبي في مهرجان قرطاج السينمائي. كما كان أول فيلم من السودان يترشح لجوائز الأوسكار. يستكشف الفيلم صراعات حياة مزمل توقع رجل في قريته أن تنتهي حياته في سن العشرين. قدّم العلا في السابق العديد من الأفلام القصيرة بما في ذلك Studio   لعام 2012 و Apple Pies  لعام 2013، إلا فيلمه الروائي الأول قد أحدث ضجة كبيرة، ولا يسعنا الانتظار لنرى ما في جعبة هذا المخرج السوداني.

شهد أمين

إذا لم تشاهدوا حتى الآن فيلم “الموازين” للمخرجة أمين، فقد حان الوقت لفعل ذلك. فاز هذا الفيلم السعودي بجائزة نادي فيرونا السينمائي وتم تقديمه لتمثيل المملكة في حفل توزيع جوائز الأوسكار القادم. تروي أمين قصة قرية صيد صغيرة حيث تتمرد فتاة صغيرة تدعى حياة على التقاليد السائدة في القرية التي تعيش فيها والتي تقضي بالتضحية بالأطفال لحوريات البحر الغامضة. كما قامت أمين بإخراج الفيلم القصير “عين وحورية البحر” الذي حاز على استحسان النقاد، والذي أحدث بالفعل ضجة كبيرة في المشهد السينمائي السعودي.

 

الصورة الرئيسية: “ستموت في العشرين”  لأمجد أبو العلاء

شارك هذا المقال

5 Emerging Arab Filmmakers Making Arab Cinema History

These are the names to keep an eye on

by

What makes Arab cinema great? It goes beyond the timeless classics of its golden age. There’s a new generation of Arab filmmakers worthy of praise, constantly striving to perfect their craft and take Arab narratives to global heights. And in that, they have succeeded.

The last few years saw an unprecedented number of Arab films at the receiving end of international premieres, snagging awards at the world’s most prominent film festivals. Time after time, Arab directors are making history, and they’re doing it with apt portrayals of what Middle Eastern and North African societies are really like, defying the cultural stereotypes that for decades were perpetuated by Hollywood. 

For that, we want to celebrate them, so from Egypt to Saudi Arabia, we’ve rounded up some of our favourite emerging Arab filmmakers to keep an eye on.

Sameh Alaa

Alaa’s film I Am Afraid to Forget Your Face made history last year becoming the first Egyptian film to win a Palme d’Or at Cannes Film Festival. The film also snagged awards at Moscow Film Festival and El Gouna Film Festival. The 15-minute short follows a young man named Adam as he tries to reconcile with his girlfriend after 82 days of separation. The Egyptian filmmaker, who lives between Cairo and Brussels, is known for his improvisational style in directing and his focus on personal experiences and feelings in narratives. With only four short films under his belt, Alaa is definitely one to watch.

Abdelhamid Bouchnak

Bouchnak is the man behind Tunisia’s first horror movie Dachra. The film sees a journalism student and his friends trapped in an isolated village whilst attempting to solve a decades-old criminal case. Son of Tunisian singer Lotfi Bouchnak, he is best known for Nouba, a TV series, which aired during Ramadan, depicting stories of love and the art of traditional mezwed in 90’s Tunisia.

Ameen Nayfeh

Nayef, who grew up between Jordan and Palestine, saw his debut feature 200 Meters premiere in the 77th Venice Film Festival. The film was also selected as Jordan’s 93rd Academy Awards submission. The 2020 film follows the story of a married couple who find themselves living in two Palestinian villages that are only 200 metres apart, but separated by the apartheid wall. The Palestinian director was catapulted to fame after snagging five honours at El Gouna Film Festival, and he’s only getting started.

Hana Al Omair

The Saudi filmmaker directed and co-wrote Netflix’s first Saudi thriller Whispers, which explores the issue of feuds in a family that is experiencing the death of the family patriarch. Al Omair received a grant from the Red Sea International Film Festival last year and her 2019 short film Swan Song won the Golden Palm Tree Award for best actor in the Saudi Film Festival. She is now working on an upcoming feature film titled Sharshaf.

Amjad Abu Alala

The list would not be complete without a mention of Sudanese director Amjad Abu Alala. His feature debut You Will Die at Twenty has had its fair share of history-making moments since its release. The film won the Luigi De Laurentiis Award at Venice Film Festival, the Golden Star at El Gouna Film Festival, and Best Screen Play at Carthage Film Festival. It was also Sudan’s first ever Oscars submission. The film explores the life struggles of Muzamil after discovering a sheikh’s prophecy dooming him to die at the age of 20. Alala has previously worked on several short films including Studio (2012) and Apple Pies (2013) yet his first feature film was his big breakthrough. We can’t wait to see what the Sudanese director has up his sleeve. 

Shahad Ameen

If you haven’t yet watched Ameen’s drama Scales, you’re definitely missing out. The Saudi film snagged the Verona Film Club Award and was submitted to represent the Kingdom at the upcoming Academy Awards. Ameen tells the story of a young woman named Hayat who grew up in a small fishing village where female children are typically sacrificed to mysterious mermaids. Ameen is also behind critically-acclaimed short film Eye & Mermaid and is already making waves in the Saudi film scene.

 

Main image: Amjad Abu Alala’s ‘You Will Die At Twenty’

Share this article