لا تدعوا المهرجان السينمائي السوداني التجريبي يفوتكم

جميع عائدات المهرجان ستذهب إلى إتحاد الأطباء السودانيين

by

مع وصول السياسة إلى نقطة الغليان في بوتقة الانصهار الجنوبية في المنطقة، يبدو أن جوائزها أو مهرجاناتها الأخيرة في السينما والفنون المرئية قد تبخرت من وجهة نظرنا. فقد أظهرت الأحداث الثقافية الاخيرة من ورش العمل الفنية العامة إلى مهرجانها السينمائي السنوي، أن المشهد الفني سياسي – وأنه تقديمي أكثر من أي طريقة أخرى، يتمتع الفن بالقدرة على التعبير عن الميل لكل من الحرية والديمقراطية.

يتم تمثيل هذا من الناحية التاريخية من خلال الأفلام التجريبية، من الكلاسيكيات السودانية مثل “إيسان”  لإبراهيم شداد في عام (1994) والإنتاج الأحدث لمصنع السودان للأفلام. وكما يتضح من العمل الأسطوري لفاروقي، فإن الفيلم التجريبي هو أفضل ما يتم تسهيله في أوقات الحرب أو الاضطرابات المدنية، نظراً لقدرته على الحركة وتكلفته المنخفضة، مما يخلق بعضاً من أجمل الأعمال في تاريخ السينما.

sudanese film festival 2كجزء من مبادرة جديدة اتخذتها شاكو ماكو، وهي مساحة ثقافية رقمية ومادية في مالمو بالسويد، تقوم بتسهيل الأعمال المعاصرة التجريبية لمبدعي الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا في المهجر، وفي أعقاب الثورة السودانية، تم التواصل مع مؤسِّسة فريق حبيبي ( جمعية صناعة الأفلام في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا التي تركز على النساء والأرشيف الرقمي) لإقتراح حدث خيري بهدف جمع التبرعات.

غالباً ما يكون التنسيق في المغترب أمراً مفروغاً منه، مع مزيد من القدرة على السفر وعامل اللغة. ومع ذلك، بعد أشهرٍ من التواصل مع مختلف الفنانين والمنظمات السينمائية والنقاد في السودان، كان من المفيد معرفة أن النضال الفني قد تم الإبقاء عليه خارج معضلة انقطاع الإنترنت وقضايا التأشيرات. يُعتبر الإنتاج الفني المتأثر بالحرب أكثر ملاءمة وإنتاجية من العمل الفني نفسه، بدلاً من التأثير الثقافي أو الفني الأوسع.
سيستمر المهرجان لمدة يومين وسيضم بعضاً من أفضل الأفلام التجريبية من المنطقة. والأفلام كلها قصيرة ومن إخراج مخرجين سودانيين. فيلم باهار (2015) للفنان السوداني ورسام الكاريكاتير السياسي خالد البيه، وأول فائزٍ بجائزة فريدوم (وهي منح الإقامة للفنان الفائز) من قِبَل بين أميركا و آرتكس.

Bahar sudanese film
ذا آرت أوف سين 2019) هو فيلم وثائقي من تأليف إبراهيم مرسال، يروي قصة أول فنان يكشف عن نفسه بأنه مثلي الجنس في السودان، وبحثه عن القبول والمصالحة من عائلته في الوطن. كما سنعرض أيضاً الفلم الفائز بجائزة “أس آي أف أف” وهو فيلم (السيروتونين 2017) للمخرج شهاب ساتي. والفيلم الوثائقي الموسيقي (في البحث عن الهيب هوب 2013) للمخرجة إسراء الكوجالي الموسيقي الوثائقي، والذي يتتبع مشهد الهيب هوب الناشئ في السودان.

ستُقام بعد العرض جلسة نقاشٍ مع المخرجين وناشطين فنيين ونقاد من السودان. حيث ستدور المحادثة حول الثورة في الفن المرئي، وستتم مناقشتها بين منسقة جماعة حبيبي فانك وأمينة أرشيفها لاريسا نور وعزة أبو بكر وريناد نورين وراحيل ويلديب سيباتو من منتدى السويديين من أصل أفريقي للعدالة.

sudanese film festival 3الآن وأكثر من أي وقت مضى، يمكن للفن أن يشعل ثورة، ونأمل أن تكون هذه واحدة من العديد من المبادرات التي تستخدم فيلماً تجريبياً لإشعال محادثة حول المنطقة.

سينما هيبنوس من 17 إلى 18 أغسطس، تذهب جميع التبرعات إلى اتحاد أطباء السودان.
لمزيد من المعلومات، اضغطوا هنا

شارك هذا المقال

Don’t Miss This Experimental Sudanese Film Festival

All proceeds go towards the Sudan Doctors Union

by

With politics brimming to boiling point in the region’s southern melting pot, its recent accolades in film and visual art seem to have been steamed from our view. From public art workshops to their annual film festival, recent cultural events have shown that the art scene is political – and that more than any other mode of representation, art has the capability to express a predilection for both freedom and democracy. 

This is historically best represented through experimental film, from Sudanese classics such as the dreamy Ibrahim Shaddad’s Isan (1994) and the more recent output of the Sudan Film Factory. As shown by the legendary work of Farocki, experimental film is best facilitated in times of war or urban unrest, given its mobility and low-expense, creating some of the most beautiful and harrowing works in cinematic history.

sudanese film festival 2As part of a new initiative taken up by Shako Mako, a digital and physical cultural space in Malmö Sweden which facilitates experimental contemporary works by MENA creatives in the diaspora, in the wake of the Sudanese revolution, the collective reached out to myself (the founder of female-focused MENA filmmaking community and digital archive Habibi Collective) proposing a fundraising event. 

Curating in the diaspora is often something that’s taken for granted, with more mobility of travel and language. However, after months communicating with various artists, film organisations and critics in Sudan, it was insightful to learn that artistic struggle was retained beyond internet blackouts and visa issues. Art production affected by war is almost more pertinent and productive in producing the artistic product itself, as opposed to wider cultural or artistic influence. 

The festival will span two days and will feature some of the best experimental films from the region. The films are all short, and by Sudanese directors. Bahar (2015) is by Sudanese artist and political cartoonist, alongside Khalid Al-Baih, the first recipient of the Freedom artist’s residency awarded by Pen America and ArtX. 

Bahar sudanese filmThe Art of Sin (2019) is a documentary by Ibrahim Mursal, following the outing of Sudan’s first openly gay artist, and his search for acceptance and reconciliation from his family back home. We will also be showing winner of the SIFF, Serotonin (2017) by Shehab Satti, and Issraa el-Kogali’s music documentary In Search of Hip-Hop (2013), which tracks the emerging hip-hop scene in Sudan. 

Following the screening will be a panel discussion with the filmmakers, art activists and critics from Sudan. The conversation will revolve around revolution in visual art, and will be discussed between acclaimed curator and Habibi Funk archivist Larissa Nour, Azaa Abubakr, Rinad Norein, and Rahel Weldeab Sebhatu from the Afro-Swedes’ Forum for Justice.

sudanese film festival 3More than ever, art can spark a revolution, and hopefully this is just one of many initiatives using experimental film to ignite conversation about the region. 

Hypnos Cinema from 17 – 18 August, all donations go to Sudan Doctors Union.
For more information, click here.

Share this article