نظرةٌ على معرض فرح القاسمي المنفرد الأول في أميركا

المصورة الإماراتية تصنع اسماً لنفسها

by

“لقد اعتدت تسجيل برامج نيكولوديون على أشرطة “في إتش إس” أثناء رحلاتي إلى الولايات المتحدة في التسعينات لأعيد مشاهدتها في الإمارات”، هذا ما أخبرتنا به فرح القاسمي في مارس الماضي. لكن علاقة الفنانة الإماراتية مع الولايات المتحدة قد تغيّرت بشكلٍ كبير منذ ذلك الحين وذلك بعد انتقالها إلى بروكلين.

إذ ستفتتح المصورة البالغة من العمر 28 عاماً هذا الشهر أول وأكبر معرضٍ لها حتى الآن في الولايات المتحدة، بعنوان “قائمة المشاريع: فرح القاسمي” والذي سيُفتتح يوم 30 يوليو في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا، حيث ستعرض فيه الفنانة أول فيلمٍ لها إلى جانب مجموعة مختارة من أحدث أعمالها الفوتوغرافية.

يتحدث هذا الفيديو الذي تبلغ مدته 40 دقيقة وعنوانه “أم النار” عن الظوهر الخارقة للطبيعة، وذلك من خلال تتبّع “جنّ” بأسلوب تلفزيون الواقع وبطريقة المونولوج. تقع أحداث الفيلم خلال قرون الحكم الاستعماري البرتغالي والبريطاني في أقصى شمال الإمارات، بإمارة رأس الخيمة.

كما ستُعرض أيضاً سلسلةٍ من الصور، بما فيها “ليفينغ روم فيب” والتي تم التقاطها في عام 2017 و”أيه’أس ريفليكشن”، التي تجسد موضوعاتٍ مجهولة الهوية ضمن مساحةٍ حميمة – وكلتا الصورتين تجسدان مفهوم التمويه والخدع وفي نفس الوقت تطرح مفهوم الهوية والجنس في الخليج.

صنعت القاسمي والتي اشتهرت بصورها الغنية، اسماً لنفسها على مر السنين وذلك لاستكشافها الجريء لمفاهيم التمثيل والطبقية. أما بالنسبة لأسلوبها، فهو ما بين التصوير الوثائقي والصحفي، مع لغة بصرية تفصّل خلفيتها الإماراتية وخبراتها بالحياة في الخارج.

قائمة المشاريع: فرح القاسمي، في الفترة ما بين 30 يوليو – 20 أكتوبر، بمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا، مركز أم آي تي ليست للفنون البصرية، كامبريدج أم أيه.

شارك هذا المقال

Inside Farah Al Qasimi’s First US Solo Exhibition

The Emirati photographer is making her mark

by

“I used to record Nickelodeon on VHS tapes during trips to the US in the 90s and bring them back to the Emirates to watch”, Farah Al Qasimi told us last March. The Emirati artist’s relationship with the US has dramatically changed since then, after having moved to Brooklyn.

This month, the 28-year-old will open her first exhibition in the US (and her biggest yet), entitled List Projects: Farah Al Qasimi, which will open on July 30 at MIT, where the artist will premiere her first film alongside a selection of her most recent photographic works.

Entitled Um Al Naar, (or Mother of Fire, in English), the 40-minute video looks to the supernatural, following a jinn in a reality TV-style monologue, set during the centuries of Portuguese and British colonial rule in the UAE’s northernmost emirate, Ras Al Khaimah.

Also on display will be a series of portraits, including Living Room Vape, taken in 2017 and A’s Reflection, which features faceless subjects set in staged intimate settings – both of which play with the concept of camouflage whilst simultaneously putting to question the concept of identity and gender in the Gulf.

Known for her richly textured photographs, Al Qasimi has made a name for herself over the years for her unabashed exploration of the concepts of representation and classism. As for her style, the artist’s work falls somewhere between documentary photography and editorial, with a visual language that details her Emirati background and life experiences abroad.

List Projects: Farah Al Qasimi, July 30 – October 20, MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge MA

Share this article