فاتن حمامة: أيقونة عربية لحقوق النساء على مدى الأجيال

5 أشياء يجب معرفتها عن هذه الممثلة المصرية الأسطورية

by

لطالما لُقبت فاتن حمامة بملكة الشاشة الفضية، باعتبارها واحدة من أكثر الممثلات شهرة في السينما العربية. 

فعلى الرغم من أن شهرتها المهنية قد بلغت ذروتها خلال فترة الخمسينات، عندما كانت متزوجة من زميلها الممثل – وأسطورة هوليود – عمر شريف (حيث كانا عند العرب مثل بوغي وباكال أو بيونسيه وجاي زي)، إلا أن فاتن حمامة بدأت التمثيل عندما كان عمرها سبع سنوات فقط.

استمرت هذه الطفلة النجمة، التي كان تُعرف بإسم “شيرلي تمبل مصر”، في القيام ببطولة أدوار تتحدى فيها أعراف المجتمع العربي بطريقةٍ غيرت وجه السينما الإقليمية كما نعرفها. فبفضل أدوارها المحفوفة بالمخاطر وأفلامها التي أثارت قضايا تتعلق بالجنسين وبالتقاليد – فإن بصمة حمامة في السينما العربية تتحدى الأجيال وما تزال تستحق الدراسة والاهتمام حتى الآن.

Faten Hamamaإليكم خمسة أشياء قد لا تعرفونها عن الممثلة الأسطورية فاتن حمامة.

لعبت دور ناشطة نسائية في عام 1963

في فيلم “لا للحب”، وهو فيلم يتحدث على الحريق الذي نشب في القاهرة عام 1952. ففي خضم الانتفاضة السياسية، تقع حمامة (التي تلعب دور الناشطة فوزية) في حب مهندسٍ يدعى حمزة. يروي الفيلم الدور غير المرئي أو غير المفهوم الذي تلعبه الناشطات النسائيات في العالم العربي. ناهيكم عن أنها تلعب دور إمرأة قوية ومستقلة.

اشتهرت بوقوعها في الحب في مواقع التصوير

فقد التقت بزوجها الأول المخرج عز الدين، في موقع تصوير فيلم “أبو زيد الهلالي” في عام 1947، وبعد طلاقهما منه بعد سبع سنوات، اختارت حمامة عمر الشريف ليشاركها بطولة أحد الأفلام في عام 1954. وعلى نحو غير معهودٍ منها (ولكن مفهوم تماماً) وافقت على تقبيله على الشاشة. وغني عن القول أنهما سرعان ما وقعا في الحب وانتهى بهما الأمر إلى البقاء معاً لمدة عقدين تقريباً.

لقد جعلت عمر الشريف يشهر إسلامه

ففي عام 1955، اعتمد نجم هوليود المولود في مصر لعائلة مسيحية (والذي كان اسمه آنذاك ميشيل ديميتري شلهوب)، لقبه الذي اشتهر به وهو عمر الشريف، واعتنق الإسلام من أجل الزواج بفاتن حمامة.

Faten Hamama and Omar Sharifلطالما كافحت في سبيل الديمقراطية دون كلل

اشتهرت حمامة التي كان ناشطةً صريحةً، بمعارضتها للضباط الأحرار المصريين ولنظامهم القمعي. وقد رفضت تغيير وجهة نظرها رغم منعها من السفر أو المشاركة في أي مهرجانات سينمائية دولية. وبعد إيجادها طريقة لمغادرة البلاد، قام الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر آنذاك باحتجاج عام أمام أصدقائه المشهورين وطلب منهم إعادتها إلى مصر. لكنها لم تعد إليها إلا بعد وفاته في عام 1971. ومنذ ذلك الحين، قامت بأدوار انتقدت فيها القوانين في مصر في معظم أفلامها وقاتلت دون كلل من أجل الديمقراطية.

كانت الأفلام شكلاً من أشكال الاحتجاج بالنسبة لها

قامت حمامة على مدار أكثر من 50 عاماً، ببطولة أدوار اجتماعية وسياسية وموضوعية في الأفلام التي ركزت على العدالة الاجتماعية وحقوق المرأة. وباعتبارها رمز إقليمي واسم أسطوري، فقد كانت هذه بمثابة خطوة كبيرة لأي شخص ناهيكم عن كونها امرأة. وقد تناولت  أفلامها مواضيع حساسة مثل المساواة بين الجنسين كما في فيلم (الباب المفتوح)، وقوانين الزواج والطلاق في مصر (أريد حلاً)، وحقوق توظيف المرأة (الآنسة فاطمة).

شارك هذا المقال

Faten Hamama: Our Multi-Generational Feminist Arab Icon

5 things to know about the legendary Egyptian actress

by

As one of the most iconic leading actresses in Arab cinema, Faten Hamama has long-been hailed the queen of the silver screen. 

Although the majority of her career peaked during the 1950s, when she was married to fellow actor—and Hollywood legend—Omar Sharif (they were the Arab equivalent of Bogie and Bacall… or Beyoncé and Jay-Z), Hamama’s career actually started when she was just seven-years-old. 

The former childstar, who was known as ‘Egypt’s Shirley Temple’ went on to helm roles that would ultimately defy Arab society’s norms, and change the face of regional cinema as we know it. Taking on risky roles, and films that raised issues surrounding gender and tradition – Hamama’s imprint on cinema defies generations, and is still worth unpacking, even now in 2019.

Faten HamamaHere are five things you might not know about Egypt’s legendary actress Faten Hamama.

She played a female activist in 1963

In ‘La Waqt Lel Hob’, a film that is centred on the 1952 Cairo fire. In the midst of a political uprising, Hamama (who plays the role of Fawzeya, a female activist) falls in love with an engineer named Hamza. The film unpacks the little-seen, or understood, role and importance of female activists in the Arab world. Not to mention she plays a badass independent woman. 

Falling in love on set was her thing

Having met her first husband, director Ezzel Dine, on the set of ‘Abu Zayd al-Hilali’ in 1947, following their divorce seven years later, Hamama chose Omar Sharif to co-star in a film with her in 1954. Uncharacteristically (but totally understandably) she agreed to kiss him on-screen. Needless to say they soon fell in love and ended up staying together for nearly two decades. 

She converted Omar Sharif to Islam

Born in to a Christian family, the Egypt-born Hollywood star (who was then known as Michel Dimitri Chalhoub) adopted his now-famous moniker Omar Sharif in 1955, and converted to Islam in order to marry Hamama. 

Faten Hamama and Omar SharifDemocracy was a cause she fought for tirelessly

An outspoken activist, Hamama famously became an opponent of Egypt’s Free Officers and their oppressive regime. Refusing to change her perspective, she was forbidden to travel or participate in any international film festivals. After finding a way to leave the country, the then President Gamal Abdel Nasser made a public outcry to his famous friends, begging them to get her to return to Egypt. But she didn’t return until after his death in 1971. From that point on, she took on roles that often criticized the laws in Egypt in her films, and fought tirelessly for democracy. 

Film was a form of protest for her

For over 50 years, Hamama took on socio-political and topical roles in films that focused on social justice and women’s rights. As a regional icon and legendary household name, this was a huge move for anyone, let alone a woman. Man of her films addressed gender equality (‘The Open Door’), marriage and divorce laws in Egypt (‘Oridu Hallan’) and women’s employment rights (‘Miss Fatma’).

Share this article