أغنية فلوكة الأخيرة احتفاء بالهوية العربية

استمعوا جيداً إلى هذا التعاون الأخير

by

من غير المتوقع أن يتعاون طالب سابق في كليّة الطب مع كاتب مبدع لإطلاق أغنية، فما هي القواسم المشتركة بينهما؟ إنّها الرغبة في استكشاف المعنى الحقيقي لكونك عربي من خلال الموسيقى.

وفي هذا الشأن فقد تعاونت ملكة الهيب هوب المصرية فلوكة مع الفنان الفلسطيني الأردني الشهير بلقب “السينابتيك” لإطلاق أغنية رائعة وهادفة، وفي حين كان من المقرر أن يشارك الثنائي في وقت سابق من هذا الصيف في حفل مشترك على مسرح العروض الموسيقية الشهير Jazz Café في كامدن لإطلاق الأغنية، إلا أنّ هذا الحدث قد تأجّل جراء انتشار الوباء، إلا أنّ هذا التأجيل لم يحول دون رغبة الثنائي في الكشف عمّا كانا يحضّرانه خلف الكواليس خلال الأشهر القليلة الماضية.

وفي هذا الشأن، تتولى مرسم، وهي شركة تنظيم وإنتاج الفعاليات العربية التي تتخذ من المملكة المتحدة مقرّاً لها، ومهرجان شُبّاك رعاية الأغنيتين اللتين تتطرّقان لبعض أهم القضايا الشائكة في المنطقة لا سيما الهوية والوعي الذاتي. تمتاز الأغنية الجديدة بالتنقل بين الإيقاعين البطيء والسريع وحرص الثنائي على البقاء وفياً لصوتهما المميز. وفي محاولةٍ مهما لنقل رسالة قوية وعميقة يوثّق الفنانان تجربتهما ضمن سياق عالمي بات أكثر أهميّة من أيّ وقت مضى.

وعلى هذا الصعيد، التقينا مع الفنانة فلوكة الأمريكية – المصرية أثناء جلسة تأمل مع الذات وتنقلها بين لغتيها الأم – الإنجليزية والعربية – للاستماع إلى وجهة نظرها بشأن الموسيقى في المنطقة، وكيف توازن بين هويّتيها وثقافتها المزدوجة وسؤالها عن خططها المستقبلية.

بالرغم من أننا في منتصف عام 2021 إلا أنها لم تكن سنة سهلة أبداً. كيف أمضيت وقتك خلال هذه الفترة العصيبة؟ وما معنى أن تكوني فنانة في عالم ما بعد الوباء؟
بالرغم من أننا مررنا بعام عصيب وبالرغم من كل الانتكاسات والمناخ الاجتماعي الذي فرضه الوباء، إلا أنني تعلمت الكثير من هذه التجربة التي منحتني فرصة التركيز بشكل أكبر على عملي، وما زلت حتى الآن مشغولةً في الاستوديو وأقوم بابتكار محتوى يعكس واقعي الحالي. أعتقد أنّ عالم ما بعد الجائحة لا يشبه العالم الذي عرفناه قبلها، حيث أصبح الضعف والوجودية أمران مقبولان اجتماعياً.

يُعتبر هذا التعاون والشراكة مع مغني راب وفنان عربي من المنطقة تجربة غير مسبوقة بالنسبة لك. ما الذي دفعك لخوض هذه المغامرة الجديدة مع الفنان السينابتيك؟ حدثينا كيف حدث الانسجام؟ إلى أين تتجه الصناعة المحلية من وجهة نظرك؟
لقد شعرت بسعادة غامرة عندما أعلمتني شركة مرسم بشأن التعاون مع السينابتيك، لطالما أحببت صوته ولم أتوقع أن نتعاون في أغنية خلال وقت قريب، فما بالك بإطلاق أغنيتين، وأنا سعيدة جداً لذلك. أما فيما يتعلق بمستقبل الفنانين المصريين والعرب في المشهد الموسيقي، أشعر بالسعادة والفخر لكوني جزء من هذا المستقبل المشرق.

لقد أطلقت منذ أسبوعين مقطعاً من أغنية “نفسي”، التي تحمل معنيين: الأول “أنا” باللغة العربية الفصحى والثاني “أتمنى” باللغة المصرية العامية. من الواضح أنّ الأغنية تستكشف عالم الهوية والذات، لماذا هذا التركيز على هذه القضيّة والأهم من ذلك، لماذا في هذا الوقت بالذات؟
“نفسي” هي في الحقيقة احتفاء بأي شخص يشعر بأنه مقيّد في مجتمعه ويتوق إلى أن يحيا على سجيّته. لطالما اعتبرت أنّ عالم فهم الهوية ومكانة المرء في المناخ الاجتماعي ذو أهمية كبيرة. لم يتأثر العام الماضي بتداعيات كوفيد-19 فحسب، بل كان لظهور حركة #MeToo في مصر أثراً كبيراً أيضاً. لقد كان عاماً صعباً بشكل عام وأغنية “نفسي” تمثل إعلاني بأن نفسي هي فقط من يجب أن أقف بجانبها وأدعمها.

بما أن خمسة أشهر فقط تفصلنا عن بداية العام الجديد، ماذا يمكن أن نتوقع منك في الجزء الثاني من هذا العام؟
إنني أتشوق لمشاركة هذه الموسيقى الجديدة مع كل العالم، ووبوسع المستمعين توقع إطلاق مشروع جديد في أواخر الخريف؛ إنني أعمل جاهدة دون كلل للتعبير عن نفسي وحقيقتي، لذا تجدون مزيجاً من الموسيقى المصرية التي تجسّد أسراري وأحلامي.

شارك هذا المقال

Felukah’s Latest Track Is an Ode to Arab Identity

Her collaboration needs to be carefully listened to

by

Not many would expect a former medical student and a creative writer to collaborate on a track. What do they have in common ? Exploring the confusing meaning of being an Arab through music. 

Egyptian hip-hop queen Felukah met her Palestinian-Jordanian equivalent, The Synaptik, half way on a very engaging and purposeful track. The duo was initially scheduled to share the stage in Camden’s notorious Jazz Café earlier this summer to debut the track, but the event’s postponement did not impede on their eagerness to reveal what both have been cooking behind the scenes these past few months. 

Commissioned by MARSM, an Arab-centred and UK-based event producer, for Shubbak Festival in London; both tracks released recognise some of the region’s main troubles— namely identity and self-awareness. Navigating through both realms in rhythm and flow whilst remaining true to their respective sounds, the slow-tempo and fuzzy beat carries soothing auto-tuned voices and harnesses a powerful message at the same time. Deep in meaning and interpretation, both artists frame their memorandum in a global context that is now more relevant than ever. 

Pondering over the self while hopping between both of her mother-tongues, English and Arabic, we sat down with the American-Egyptian flag bearer Felukah to hear her perspective on music in the region, steering between identities and dual-cultures and questioning her future plans.

We’re past the halfway line of 2021 after what was a hell of a year to say the least. How have you been riding the wave so far ?
It really has been one hell of a year and I’ve honestly learned so much because of it. Despite all the setbacks, the social climate of the pandemic has humbled me and allowed me to hone my focus. I’m staying busy in the studio and drafting content that reflects my current reality. The post-pandemic world is nothing like the world we once knew. Vulnerability and existentialism are finally socially acceptable things to be.

This is one of your first major collaborations with a fellow Arab rapper and artist from the region. Why begin this new adventure with The Synaptik ?
I was so glad when MARSM hit me up about this collaboration with The Synaptik. I’d liked his sound before but didn’t think us meeting on a track was going to happen anytime soon, let alone two tracks. I’m really happy about the way they turned out. The future for Egyptian and Arab artists in music is an exciting prospect and I feel honored to be a part of it.

You released a taster of the collaboration a couple weeks back – Nefsi – a track that carries two meanings: on one hand “myself” in standard Arabic and “I wish” in Egyptian vernacular. Seemingly exploring the realm of identity and the self, why such emphasis and more importantly why now ?
“Nefsi” is really an ode to anyone who feels trapped in their society and longs to be themselves. I’ve always found this realm of understanding identity and one’s place in the social climate of critical importance. This past year was not only hit by Covid-19, but also by the rise of the #MeToo movement in Egypt. It’s been intense overall and “Nefsi” is my declaration to be nothing but myself cause that’s who I have to stand by. 

We’ve got five months left before tipping into the new year. What can we expect from you in the second part of this year’s calendar ?
I can’t wait to share this new music I’ve been working on with the rest of the world. Listeners can expect a new project in the late fall; where I’m not holding my truth back for anything. Egyptian sounds and samples are in the mix and my secrets/dreams are laid out on a platter. 

Share this article