السعودية تستضيف سباق الفورمولا 1 لأول مرة

سيجري الحدث في جدة

by

من إطلاق أول رحلة بحرية إلى إصلاحات عمالية جديدة غير مسبوقة، تشهد المملكة العربية السعودية كل يوم تطوراً كبيراً ملحوظاً. سيشهد الموسم المقبل لحظة تاريخية أخرى حيث تستعد المملكة لاستضافة أول سباقات بطولة العالم للفورمولا 1.

في حين لم يتم الإعلان عن تاريخ محدد لهذه الفعالية، إلا أنّها ستقام في شوارع مدينة جدة في عام 2021. ووفقاً للخطط الأولية فإنّه سينظم على شكل سباق ليلي في مسارات الشوارع احتفاءً بكورنيش جدة البديع الواقع في الساحل الغربي للبلاد. وعلى أيّ حال من المتوقع أن ينتقل سباق الجائزة الكبرى في المستقبل إلى مسار دائم مخصص لهذا الغرض.

 

View this post on Instagram

 
BREAKING: F1 adds Saudi Arabian Grand Prix night race for 2021 . #F1 #SaudiArabianGP @saudiarabiangp

A post shared by FORMULA 1® (@f1) on

صرّح سمو الأمير عبد العزيز بن تركي الفيصل آل سعود وزير الرياضة : “بغض النظر عن مكان إقامته في العالم، فإن الفورمولا 1 يؤدي إلى جلب العديد من الناس ليكونوا معاً والاحتفال بمناسباتٍ تتعدى مجرد كونها رياضة”. ثم تابع “نتطلع لمشاركة هذه التجربة الفريدة ومشاركة جدة مع العالم بأكمله. بالنسبة للعديد من السعوديين هذا الإعلان هو حلم يتحقق”.

على الرغم من أنّ هذه الخطوة ستجعل من المملكة العربية السعودية ثالث دولة في الشرق الأوسط تستضيف هذا الحدث إلى جانب البحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة، إلا أنّ هذه الدولة ليست غريبة على رياضة السيارات. إنّها في الواقع موطن لسباقات فورمولا إي  ورالي داكار ومن المقرر أن تستضيف Extreme E في عام 2021.

في السابق، كان للمملكة حضور كبير في الفورمولا 1 في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال صفقات رعاية كبرى. في عام 1978 استثمرت الخطوط الجوية السعودية في فريق السباق البريطاني ويليامز وشهدت الفوز في أول بطولة عالمية للفريق في عام 1980 مع آلان جونز. في الوقت الراهنن تعتبر أرامكو السعودية وهي شركة رائدة عالمياً في مجال الطاقة والكيماويات شريك عالمي في الفورمولا 1.

قال تشيس كاري رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة فورمولا 1. “يسعدنا أن نرى المملكة العربية السعودية في الفورمولا 1 لموسم 2021. السعودية بلد يتحول بسرعة إلى مركز للرياضة والترفيه من خلال العديد من الفعاليات الكبرى التي بدأت تقام هناك خلال السنوات الأخيرة، ويسعدنا جداً أن الفورمولا 1 ستبدأ السباق هناك اعتباراً من الموسم المقبل”.

شارك هذا المقال

Jeddah

Formula 1 to Host its First Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

And it’s taking place in Jeddah

Jeddah

From setting sail to its first cruise, to new unprecedented labor reforms, Saudi Arabia is practically making history every single day. The upcoming year will witness yet another historical moment, as the Kingdom is set to host its first Formula 1 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. 

While no specific dates have been announced, the event will be taking place on the streets of Jeddah in 2021. According to initial plans, it will take shape in the form of a night race on a street track, celebrating the picturesque Jeddah corniche on the west coast of the country. However, it is expected that the Grand Prix will move to a purpose-built circuit in the future. 

 

View this post on Instagram

 

BREAKING: F1 adds Saudi Arabian Grand Prix night race for 2021 . #F1 #SaudiArabianGP @saudiarabiangp

A post shared by FORMULA 1® (@f1) on

“No matter where in the world it’s held, Formula 1 is an event that brings people together to celebrate an occasion that goes far beyond sport,” stated the Minister of Sport, his Royal Highness Prince Abdulaziz Bin Turki AlFaisal Al Saud.We look forward to sharing this unique experience and sharing Jeddah with the world. For many Saudis this will be a dream come true.”

The move will see Saudi Arabia become the third Middle Eastern country to join the calendar alongside Bahrain and the UAE. But the nation is no stranger to motorsport. In fact, it’s already home to FIA Formula E and Dakar Rally races and is set to host Extreme E in 2021. 

Previously, the Kingdom had quite a presence in Formula 1 across the globe with major sponsorship deals. In 1978, the national airline Saudia invested in the British racing team Williams and witnessed the team’s first world championship win in 1980 with Alan Jones. Currently, Saudi Aramco—the world’s leading integrated energy and chemicals company—is a global F1 partner.

“We are excited to welcome Saudi Arabia to Formula 1 for the 2021 season and welcome their announcement following speculation in recent days. Saudi Arabia is a country that is rapidly becoming a hub for sports and entertainment with many major events taking place there in recent years and we are very pleased that Formula 1 will be racing there from next season”, added Chase Carey, chairman and CEO of F1.

Share this article

Related stories