فرنسا تحظر ارتداء الحجاب للمسلمات دون سن 18 عاماً، وهذه ردة فعل النساء على الخبر

”إنّه هويّة وليس مجرد وشاح يغطي الرأس“

by

بدايةً، قامت فرنسا بحظر النقاب في المدارس العامة في عام 2004، ثم تبعه حظر ارتداء النقاب في الأماكن العامة في عام 2011، وبعد ذلك تم حظر البوركيني في عام 2016. من الواضح بأنّ معركة فرنسا ضد الحجاب ما تزال مستمرة، فقد حظرت البلاد بشكل رسمي ارتداء الحجاب للمسلمات دون سن 18 عاماً في كافة الأماكن العامة.

وتأتي هذه الخطوة كجزء من مشروع قانون “مناهضة النزعات الانفصالية”، والذي من شأنه أن يمنع القاصرات من ارتداء أي شيء “يظهر انتماءً دينياً” أو يدل على أنّ “المرأة أقل شأناً من الرجل”. بالرغم من عدم ذكره للحجاب بشكل مباشر، إلا أن الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون لطالما تبنى وجهة النظر القائلة بأن الحجاب لا يتماشى مع مبادئ البلاد العلمانية.

كما يمنع مشروع القانون الأمهات المحجبات من مرافقة الأطفال في الرحلات الميدانية المدرسية. بالرغم من أنّ مشروع القانون لم يدخل حيز التنفيذ بعد، إلا أنّه سيتحول إلى قانون حالما تقرّه الجمعية الوطنية الفرنسية.

ولقد أثار هذا الخبر جدلاً عالمياً كبيراً، حيث كتب أحد مستخدمي تويتر “حظر الحجاب و / أو التحكم في ملابس النساء المسلمات هو مجرد مثال آخر عن سيطرة الرجال على أجساد النساء، وهو الأمر الذي لا يحظى بنصف الاهتمام أو الغضب المطلوب”.

وكردة فعل على الخبر، استخدمت الرياضية الأولمبية ابتهاج محمد منصّتها على الإنستاغرام للتعبير عن وجهة نظرها حول هذا الموضوع ، حيث كتبت “ما هذا يا فرنسا؟ هذه نتيجة تطبيع خطاب الكراهية والتحيز والتمييز وجرائم الكراهية ضد الإسلام والمسلمين – إن حظر الحجاب هو بمثابة جعل الخوف من الإسلام أمراً قانونياً ورسمياً.”

كما تحدثت فنانة ومصممة الحناء عذراء خميسة على منصتها على الإنستاغرام عن الأسباب التي تجعلها وملايين النساء في جميع أنحاء العالم يخترن ارتداء الحجاب.

قالت إحدى المستخدمات: “إنه جزء مني. إنه هوية وليس مجرد وشاح يغطي الرأس.” في حين كتبت أخرى “إنه يجسّد شخصيتي وهويتي وقوتي وديني”. وأضافت مستخدمة أخرى “لأنه خياري”.

بالرغم من رد الفعل العنيف الذي عن الخبر على الإنترنت، إلا أنّ هذه الخطوة لم تكن بالمفاجئة. إذ لطالما اتّبعت الهيئات الحكومية في فرنسا نهج الاندماج والانصياع المتكامل الذي يتماشى تماماً مع ديمقراطيتها العلمانية أو ما يطلق عليه بالفرنسية إسم ” laïcité”.

بالرغم من أنّ هذا المفهوم يطرح بشكل نظري مبدأ الفصل بين الدولة والدين، إلا أنّه يسلط الضوء من الناحية العملية على الإسلاموفوبيا. إذ لطالما تعرض المسلمون قبل طرح مشروع القانون إلى وحشية الشرطة في الدولة التي تدعمها “قوانين الطوارئ” والتي تسمح بالتفتيش دون الحصول على إذن مسبق. وهذا مجرد مثال واحد.

على عكس نهج التعددية الثقافية الذي يتيح المجال أمام الفردية (كما هو الحال في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة)، تدفع الأفكار “العلمانية” الفرنسية الناس نحو اتباع نهج جماعي يحقق مفهوم الفصل بين الكنيسة والدولة، مما يمهد الطريق أمام نهج اندماجٍ سافرٍ يجعل الأقليات من السكان عرضةً لخطر التهميش وحتى الاختفاء – وهذا ما يسلبهم الشعور بالقوة والحرية.

وباعتبار فرنسا موطناً لأكبر عدد من المسلمين في الغرب (إذ يعيش فيها أكثر من 5 ملايين مسلم منذ عام 2019، حيث يشكل المغاربيون نسبة 82% منهم)، فقد أدى ذلك بالطبع إلى تطور مجتمع متصدّع، غالباً ما تتحمل النساء المسلمات العبء الأكبر من عواقبه كما هو الحال في مشروع قانونمناهضة النزعات الانفصالية”.

شارك هذا المقال

France Bans Hijab for Muslim Women Under 18, Here’s What They Have to Say

“It’s an identity not only threads on skin”

by

First it was banning veils in public schools in 2004, then a ban on niqabs in public spaces in 2011, then the burkini ban in 2016, and France’s battle against the hijab has yet to be over. The nation has officially banned women who are under the age of 18 from wearing the hijab anywhere in public.  

The move comes as part of a proposed Separatism bill, which prohibits minors from wearing anything that “ostensibly manifest a religious affiliation” or “would signify the inferiority of women to men.” Whilst the hijab is not directly named, French President Emmanuel Macron has always maintained the view that the hijab did not align with the nation’s secular ideals. 

The bill also bans hijab wearers from accompanying their children on school trips. The bill has not yet gone into effect, only once confirmed by the National Assembly will it become law. 

The news sparked global outrage. “Banning the hijab and/or controlling how Muslim women dress is just another example of men policing women’s bodies, but it just doesn’t get half the attention or outrage,” wrote one Twitter user. 

Olympic athlete Ibtihaj Muhammad took to her Instagram to express her views on the matter, writing: “WTH FRANCE?! This is what happens when you normalize anti-Islamic and anti-Muslim hate speech, bias, discrimination, and hate crimes— Islamophobia written into law.”

Henna artist and designer Azra Khamissa decided to take matters into her own hands, taking to her Instagram stories to share the reasons she and millions of women across the globe choose to wear the hijab. 

“It’s my second skin,” said one user. “It’s an identity not only threads on skin.” “It defines my character, personality, strength, religion,” wrote another. “Because it’s my choice,” another user added.

Whilst backlash ensued on the internet, the move is hardly surprising. Throughout its history, the nation’s governmental bodies have made clear their leniency towards a fully-entrenched assimilation model that defined its democracy through a lens of secularism—or laïcité in French. 

But while the concept puts forward the principle of the separation of the state and religious affairs in theory, in practice it shed light on the nation’s islamophobia. Prior to the bill, Muslims had long been subjected to police brutality in the nation which are supported by ‘emergency laws’ that allow warrantless searches. That’s just one example. 

Unlike multiculturalist models that give way to individualism like in the United States and the United Kingdom, France’s ‘secularist’ ideals push forward a more collective approach to the concept of separation of church and state, paving the way for a more blatant assimilation model that puts its minority populations at risk of erasure—removing a sense of agency and freedom. 

Being home to the largest number of Muslims in the West (over 5 million as of 2019, with those of Maghrebi origin making up 82 percent of it) this of course has led to a fractured society, with Muslim women often bearing the brunt of its consequences as exhibited by the Separatism bill.

Share this article