استمتعوا بـ 1.4 مليون كتاب مجاناً

اقرأوها بدلاً من إضاعة الوقت على إنستاغرام

by

لكل عشاق الكتب، يسرنا إخباركم بأن واحداً من أكبر مشاريع المكتبات الإلكترونية أصبح متاح الآن وبالمجان! وإذا لم يسبق لكم أن سمعتم بأرشيف الإنترنت أو Internet Archive، فقد حان الوقت الآن للتعرف عليه، إذ تقدم هذه المنصة الآن 1.4 مليون كتاب مجاني.

نعم، هذا يعني أن كتب جي كي رولينغ أو ستيفن كينغ المفضلة لديكم متاحة الآن وبدون تكلفة.

يسمح هذا المشروع الذي بدأ منذ عقد من الزمن، للمستخدمين بالاطلاع عبر الانترنت على نسخ إلكترونية من كتبٍ حقيقية، أي ملف PDF مشفر تنتهي صلاحيته بعد أسبوعين. ولكن تماماً كما هو الحال في المكتبات العادية، كان هناك عدد محدود من كل كتاب متاحٌ للتحميل في وقت واحد، ولذلك كان هناك قوائم للانتظار على المنصة. 

بسبب جائحة كورونا التي تسببت في إغلاق المكتبات العامة لفترة غير محدودة، أزالت المنصة الإلكترونية جميع الحدود المفروضة على تأجير الكتب. واعتباراً من 24 مارس، ستتيح منصة Internet Archive إمكانية استعارة الكتب لأي شخص في العالم.

وقد صرحت المنصة في بيانٍ لها “سيلغي أرشيف الإنترنت قوائم الانتظار لكتبه البالغ عددها أكثر من 1.4 مليون كتاب وسينشئ مكتبة طوارئ وطنية لمساعدة كل طالبي العلم والمعرفة المتضررين من الأزمة. وسيستمر إلغاء قوائم الانتظار حتى 30 يونيو 2020، أو حتى نهاية حالة الطوارئ الوطنية الأمريكية، أيهما أبعد.”

وتأتي هذه الخطوة بعد تزايد الطلب على الكتب الإلكترونية على مدى الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، مما دفع الناشرين مثل Haymarket Books من بين آخرين غيرهم، إلى تزويد القراء بنسخٍ مجانية.

openlibrary.org

صورة Robert Anasch

شارك هذا المقال

1.4 Million Books Are Now Yours, For Free

Step away from Instagram for an hour…

by

One of the world’s biggest online library projects is now available for free. If you’ve never heard of the Internet Archive, it’s time to get acquainted. The platform has just made a whopping 1.4 million books available, for free. 

Yes, that means your favourite JK Rowling or Stephen King books are now available at no cost. 

The project, which began a decade ago, allows users to digitally ‘check out’ digital scans of physical books, i.e. an encrypted PDF that would expire after two weeks. But just like your local brick-and-mortar library, there is a limited number of each book available to download at any one time—so waiting lists were common. 

Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, which has caused public libraries to close for an undisclosed amount of time, the online platform has lifted all book rental limits. As of March 24, the Internet Archive will ‘lend’ books to anyone in the world—at the same time. 

“The Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners,” the Internet Archive said in a statement. “This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.”

The move comes after a rising demand for e-books over the last few weeks, which has prompted publishers like Haymarket Books, among others, to supply readers with free copies. 

openlibrary.org

Photo by Robert Anasch

Share this article