5 تغيرات اجتماعية أحدثت فرقاً كبيراً في منطقة الخليج في العقد الماضي

هل ستتحقق المزيد من التطورات في العقد الجديد؟

by

إذا زرت أي دولة خليجية قبل عقد من الزمن، فمن المحتمل أنك لن تتعرف إليها اليوم! من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى البحرين، فقد طرأت تغيرات كثيرة على المنطقة، وانبثقت طرق ومدن وناطحات سحاب جديدة وانضمت إلى خرائط Google بشكلٍ تصعب مواكبته.

ولكن التغير الأكبر كان ذلك الذي طرأ على النسيج الاجتماعي في شبه الجزيرة العربية. إذ أن المملكة العربية السعودية، التي كانت ذات يوم بلداً متزمتاً تم حظر السينما فيه طوال أكثر من ثلاثة عقود، تشهد اليوم على سبيل المثال صناعة أفلام مزدهرة

في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، شهد العقد الماضي نمواً كبيراً بعيداً عن الهوس بأوسمة موسوعة غينيس. إذ أصبحت المدينة الصحراوية الآن مركزاً إقليمياً للفنانين الناشئين ومصممي الأزياء، ووضعت المصممين العرب على المنصة العالمية.

على الرغم من أن أماكن مثل الكويت وعمان والبحرين لم تشهد تحولات جذرية في المشهد الثقافي (إنها مسألة وقت فقط …) إلا أن الإمارات والسعودية تقودان الطريق. في الوقت الذي نودع فيه عقداً آخر، جمعنا لكن أبرز التغييرات الاجتماعية التي شهدتها المنطقة.

حصول المرأة السعودية على حق القيادة

حتى يونيو 2018، لم يُسمح للنساء السعوديات بالجلوس خلف عجلة القيادة. لكن قيام المملكة برفع حظر المرأة للقيادة كان لحظة هائلة في التاريخ السعودي، وخطوة صغيرة أخرى نحو المساواة بين الجنسين.

تعيين الإمارات تسع وزيرات في مجلس الوزراء

في عام 2015، أنشأت الحكومة الإماراتية مجلس التوازن بين الجنسين. بعد عامين فقط، عينت الدولة تسع وزيرات في مجلس وزرائها. من بينهن نورا الكعبي، التي تم تعيينها وزيرة للثقافة وتنمية المعرفة.

تعيين السعودية أول سفيرة لها

في عام 2019، صدمت المملكة العربية السعودية العالم عندما أصبحت الأميرة ريما بنت بندر بن سلطان بن عبد العزيز آل سعود أول سفيرة أنثى في تاريخ المملكة العربية السعودية.

حدث Sole DXB يحوّل دبي إلى عاصمة الموضة في الشرق الأوسط

بعد إطلاقه في عام 2011، نما المهرجان السنوي Sole DXB على نطاق واسع ليجذب عشرات الآلاف من الضيوف كل عام، كما حوّل دبي إلى وجهة الأزياء والموسيقى الأولى في المنطقة.

تزايد شهرة الشخصيات المؤثرة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

مع إطلاق تطبيق إنستاغرام في بداية العقد، و سناب تشات في عام 2011، وجد سكان الخليج منزلاً جديداً لهم على الإنترنت. حتى يومنا هذا، تصنف المملكة العربية السعودية كواحدة من أنشط الدول المستخدمة لتلك التطبيقات حول العالم. كما أصبح موقع YouTube مركزاً لصناعة الترفيه الناشئة في البلاد، كما انتشرت الشخصيات المؤثرة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي انتشاراً واسعاً في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والكويت.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Key Social Changes That Transformed the Gulf in 10 Years

Will a new decade signal even more progression?

by

If you visited any country in the Gulf a decade ago, you probably wouldn’t recognize it today. Whether it’s the UAE or Bahrain, the region has massively shifted and changed, with new roads, towns and skyscrapers being added to Google Maps faster than they can keep up with.

But beyond the surface, the gulf’s social fabric has been the Arabian Peninsula’s biggest transformation. Saudi Arabia, a once ultra-conservative kingdom where cinema was banned for over three decades, is beginning to witness a film industry thrive on it’s own turf. 

In the UAE, the last decade has seen the nation grow beyond its Guinness-record accolades. The desert city is now become a regional hub for emerging artists and fashion designers, placing Arab designers on a global platform.

Although places like Kuwait, Oman and Bahrain haven’t experienced radical shifts in their cultural sphere (it’s only a matter of time…) the UAE and Saudi Arabia are leading the way.  As we wave goodbye to the 2010s, we rounded up the major social changes the region has experienced. 

Saudi Women gained the right to drive

Until June 2018, Saudi women weren’t allowed behind the wheel. The Kingdom having lifted  the driving ban proved to be a monumental moment in Saudi history, and more importantly another small step towards gender-equality. 

The UAE appointed nine female ministers into its cabinet

In 2015, the Emirati government established a Gender Balance Council. Just two years later, the nation appointed nine female ministers into its cabinet. Among them is Noura Al Kaabi, who was appointed Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development. 

Saudi Arabia appointed its first female ambassador

In 2019, Saudi Arabia shocked the world when Princess Reema bint Bandar bin Sultan bin Abdulaziz Al Saud became the first female envoy in Saudi Arabian history. 

Sole DXB turned Dubai into a Middle Eastern fashion capital

Having launched in 2011, the annual festival Sole DXB has grown massively to bring in tens of thousands of attendees every year. Its continuous growth over the years has transformed Dubai into a fashion and music destination of its own. 

The rise of social media influencers

With the launch of Instagram at the turn of the decade, and Snapchat in 2011, gulf residents found a home on the internet. To this day, Saudi Arabia ranks as one of Snapchat’s highest active daily users across the world. YouTube became home to the nation’s budding entertainment industry and Instagram influencers have flooded the creative industries in the UAE and Kuwait.

Share this article