6 عرب من أبناء جيل Z يتحدثون عن تغير المناخ

"وللمرة الأولى، أشعر بأنني لم أعد وحيدة"

by

أصبحت حرائق أستراليا رمزا للحقائق الثابتة المتعلقة بتغير المناخ. فقد دمرت هذه الحرائق منطقة تعادل أكثر من ضعف حجم بلجيكا، مما أسفر عن مقتل 18 شخصاً وتدمير الآلاف من المنازل.

ووفقاً لتقرير المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي السنوي، ولأول مرة في تاريخ المسح الذي يمتد لعشرة أعوام، تهيمن التهديدات البيئية على أكبر خمسة مخاطر طويلة الأجل.

كيف ننقذ الأرض؟ هل سننجو فعلاً من عواقب تغير المناخ؟ هذه هي الأسئلة الكثيرة التي يسألها أبناء جيل Z لأنفسهم. وهذا طبيعي. لأن النشأة في عالمٍ يتجه إلى كارثة مناخية هائلة ليس مجرد أمر مزعج، بل إنه أمر محزن.

لا يمر يوم دون بثّ تحذيرات كارثية على شاشاتنا تعلن عن تقلص عدد السنوات المتبقية لدينا لتقليل الضرر الناجم عن تغيّر المناخ. فقد أصبحت الظروف الجوية القاسية والكوارث الطبيعية الوشيكة غير قابلة للإلغاء، ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ليست بمنأى عن تلك الكوارث.

ولكن وفقاً لمنظمة العفو الدولية، تم القبض على 63 ناشطاً وصحفياً وباحثاً في المنطقة خلال عام 2018، مما يطرح السؤال التالي: كيف يمكن للعرب من أبناء جيل Z متابعة التغيير حقاً وهم يخشون معقابتهم على القيام بذلك.

التقينا مع ستةٍ من الشباب العرب لنكتشف كيف يتعاملون مع قلقهم بشأن تغير المناخ.

نور، لبناني
“الطريقة الوحيدة بالنسبة لي للتغلب على ضغوطي هي العمل على بدء عمل تجاري يجعلني أشعر بأنني أحدث فرقاً. فهذا هو هدفي الأساسي. كما أشعر أننا بحاجة جميعاً إلى شيء يساعدنا على الخروج من التدفق المستمر للأخبار المحزنة. ففي بيروت حيث أعيش، تُعد النوادي الليلية الأماكن الوحيدة التي لا تتوقف عن العمل هذه الأيام. كما لاحظت أنني أنام كثيراً لأنها الحالة الوحيدة التي لا يعمل فيها عقلي. إذ شعرت أحد الأيام بسوء شديد لدرجة أنني نمت لمدة 12 ساعة”.

ياسين، مغربي
“كوني مغربيٌ الدم وفرنسي النشأة، لطالما شعرت بالنزاع بين هذين العالمين القريبين جغرافياً من بعضهما ولكن البعيدين أيديولوجياً وسياسياً وثقافياً، وخاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بتغير المناخ. فمن ناحية، عشت حياتي في الغرب الذي يبدو ظاهرياً بأنه أكثر مسؤولية وإدراكاً للكوارث البيئية التي تحدث في جميع أنحاء العالم بالإضافة إلى أهمية الحالة التي يتعين علينا التعامل معها. ومن ناحية أخرى، أشعر بالكثير من الضغط في التعامل مع حقيقة أن العالم العربي يحمل سمعة سيئة كونه واحداً من أكثر المناطق تلوثاً على هذا الكوكب. فهل أقع في فخ المستشرقين المتمثل في تسمية شعبي بالبدائي لكونه غير مدرك لأهمية ذلك الموضوع؟ ذلك عندما فهمت وتذكرت بأن كل شيء يحدث لسبب ما. نعم، أوافق على أن معظم بلدان منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا يمكنها أن تفعل ما هو أفضل من ذلك وأن تحسن طرقها للحد من تلك المشكلة، ومع ذلك، فإن تحميلها وحدها المسؤولية عما يجري هو أمر وهمي وغير منطقي تماماً بالنظر إلى تاريخ أوروبا في هذا الشأن. فهل من المفترض أن ننسى أن السبب الرئيسي وراء استمرار سيطرة الغرب على ما يسمى “دول العالم الثالث” هو الثورة الصناعية التي أدت إلى إزالة الغابات وازدياد مستويات التلوث بشكلٍ جنوني والتسمم المائي؟ أنا أعمل على تحسين طرقي قدر الإمكان، ولكنني أريد التأكد أيضاً من أنه إذا ساءت الأمور أكثر، فسيتم توجيه اللوم لكل المتسببين بهذا الضرر”.

كنزا، تونسية
“لقد بذلت قصارى جهدي للحد من التلوث من خلال تطبيق للقواعد الأربعة (تقليل الهدر وإعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير وإعادة الصنع). فأنا لا أستعمل القمامة وأمشي سيراً على الأقدام قدر الإمكان أو استخدم وسائل النقل العام. وإذا كنت أقود السيارة، أحاول إنجاز كل أموري في رحلةٍ واحدة. وأعتقد أن التعلم عن الزراعة الدائمة وزراعة طعامكم بأنفسكم أمر بالغ الأهمية في مكافحة تغير المناخ. كما تلعب مشاركتكم لمجتمعاتكم المحلية في تنظيف النفايات وزراعة الأشجار ووضع السماد وتوفير البذور وتنظيف المجاري المائية دوراً كبيراً في الحد من التلوث. بالإضافة لشراء الأشياء المستعملة والحد من استهلاك اللحوم ومنتجات الألبان والتبرع للسكان المحليين واستخدام الموارد المتجددة (كالطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح والطاقة المائية). أنا أجد أن الاحتجاجات على أزمة المناخ ملهمة لأنها تُعرّف الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم بمواضيع هامة مثل عدالة الأرض، وتجعلهم يرغبون في تجاوز نواحي تقصير العلوم الإنسانية السابقة مثل حرق الوقود الحجري والتلوث. فنحن لدينا التكنولوجيا والمعرفة والحب الموجود في قلوبنا لخلق عالم آمن ونظيف ومستدام. إنها فقط مسألة وقت”.

آيات المحيسن، أردنية
“والداي نباتيان وقد أثّرا علينا أنا وإخواني لتناول الطعام النباتي (بشكل أساسي). وقد يبدو الأمر جنونياً بأننا توقفنا كأسرةٍ عربية عن تناول المنتجات الحيوانية، لأن العديد من الأطباق التقليدية لدينا تعتمد على اللحوم مع نوع من مكونات الألبان. ولكن والدتي كانت مدهشة، فقد اكتشفت كل هذه البدائل المذهلة لجعل الطعام يتمتع بنفس المذاق. ومن خلال تغيير نظامنا الغذائي والتزامنا كأسرة بالحد من هدر الطعام بشكلٍ كبير، أعتقد بأننا اتخذنا بعض الخطوات الرئيسية نحو درجةٍ أكبر من الوعي البيئي. فهذه الأشياء الصغيرة مثل الأكل الأساسي والروتين المنزلي، ستقلل دون شك من آثار الكربون ببطء ولكن بثبات. وعلى الرغم من اعتمادنا على النباتات في وجباتنا بشكل رئيسي، إلا أننا ما زلنا نشعر ونأكل مثل العرب تماماً”.

خالد، مصري
“لا أعتقد أنني أشعر بقلق بالغ حيال البيئة، لأن ما تشعر به في الداخل سيتحقق، لذلك ليس من عقليتي أو عقلية أسرتي بأن تكون لدينا أفكار سلبية عن البيئة. لقد ربتنا والدتي على أن نكون متفائلين ونتخيل عالماً جميلاً من حولنا. لذا أنا مدفوع بالأمل أكثر من الخوف. ومن الناحية العملية، نحاول في المنزل تقليل استهلاكنا للحوم والألبان طوال الأسبوع. حتى أنني أصبحت نباتياً في الأشهر السبعة الماضية. كما أننا لا نستخدم الزجاجات البلاستيكية ونتجنب شراء الأزياء السريعة”.

لمياء، سورية
“المبادرات والإجراءات الشخصية جيدة ولكنها فعلياً لا تُحدث فرقاً على نطاقٍ واسع. هذا لا يعني أننا يجب أن نيأس ونفقد الأمل. لكنني أعتقد أن الجواب على القلق المناخي هو العمل الجماعي. لقد أحسست بشعورٍ جيد عند المشاركة بالاحتجاجات في لندن (حيث أعيش) والانضمام إلى المجموعات التي تهتم بهذا الأمر. ولقد تعلمت الكثير على المستوى الشخصي، كما أننا ألهمنا كمجموعة الكثير من الأشخاص الجدد للانضمام إلى التحركات، وللمرة الأولى، أشعر بأنني لم أعد وحيدة”.

شارك هذا المقال

6 Gen Z Arabs Open Up About Climate Change

“for once I no longer feel alone”

by

Australia’s wildfires have become a symbol of the unflinching realities of climate change. Fires destroyed an area more than twice the size of Belgium, killing 18 people and destroying thousands of homes. 

According to the World Economic Forum’s annual report, for the first time in the history of the survey’s 10-year outlook, ecological threats dominate the top five long-term risks.

How will we save the Earth? Will we actually live to survive climate change? These are the questions countless Gen Z are asking themselves. And that’s natural. Growing up in a world heading for an epic climate catastrophe isn’t just alarming—it’s heartbreaking.

Not a day goes by without catastrophic warnings being littered across our screens declaring the shrinking number of years we have left to minimise the climate change damage we’ve caused. Impending extreme weather and natural disasters are becoming irrevocable, and the Middle East and North Africa will not be exempted. 

But according to Amnesty International, 63 environmental activists, journalists and researchers were arrested in the region in 2018. So it raises the question: how can Gen Z Arabs really pursue change when they fear being punished for doing so.

We caught up with six young Arabs to find out how they’re coping with the anxiety of climate change.

Nour, Lebanese
“The only way for me to cope with my stress is by working towards starting a business that makes me feel like I’m making a difference. That’s my ultimate goal. I also feel like we all need a trance to get out of the constant flux of depressing news. In Beirut, where I live, nightclubs are the only businesses not going out of business these days. I’ve noticed that I sleep a lot more too because that’s the only time my mind isn’t running around. I was feeling so bad the other day; I ended up sleeping for 12 hours.”

Yassine, Moroccan
“Being Moroccan by blood and French by upbringing, I have always felt conflicted between these two worlds that are so geographically close but yet so far ideologically, politically and culturally, and especially when it comes to climate change. On one hand, I have experienced life in the West, which, on surface, appears to be more responsible, and aware of the ecological disasters taking place around the world as well as the urgency of the situation we have to deal with. On the other hand, I feel so much pressure in having to deal with the fact that the Arab world carries the heavy reputation of being one of the most polluted areas on the planet. Do I blindly fall into the orientalist trap of calling my people primitive for being unaware? And that’s when it clicked that everything happens for a reason. Yeah, I agree that most MENA countries could do better and improve their ways, however, holding them single-handedly responsible for what is going on would be completely delusional and irrational considering Europe’s history in the matter. Are we supposed to forget that the main reason why the West still has the upper hand over the so-called “third-world” is because of the industrial revolution that entailed mass deforestation, insane levels of pollution and water poisoning? I try and improve my ways as much as I can but I also want to make sure that if things go south, that everyone gets their fair share of blame.”

Kenza, Tunisian
“I’ve been doing my best to reduce my footprint by applying the four R’s (reduce, reuse, recycle, recreate). I don’t litter. I walk by foot as much as I can, or use public transportation. If I do drive, I try to get everything done in one trip. I believe learning about permaculture, and growing your own food is extremely important in combating climate change. Getting involved in your local community for trash clean ups, planting trees, composting, saving seeds and cleaning waterways play a huge part. Buying second hand anything, reducing the consumption of meat and dairy; donating to indigenous peoples, utilizing renewable resources (solar, wind and hydro) is important. I find the climate crisis protests inspiring because people from around the world are identifying with themes like Earth justice, and wish to move past humanities’ shortcomings like burning fossil fuels and pollution. We have the technology, the knowledge, and the love in our hearts to create a safe, clean and sustainable world. It’s just a matter of time.”

Ayat Almuhaisen, Jordanian
“My parents are vegan and have influenced my brothers and I to (mainly) eat plant-based. It’s crazy to think that as an Arab household we stopped eating animal products since many of our traditional dishes are meat based with some sort of dairy component going on as well. But my mama is amazing, she’s discovered all of these incredible alternatives to make the food still taste like home. In changing our diets and committing to seriously reducing food waste as a household, I think we’ve taken some major steps towards being more environmentally conscious. It’s these little things, like basic eating and domestic routines that will slowly but surely minimize our carbon footprints. Even though we mainly eat plants, we still feel and eat like Arabs.”

Khaled, Egyptian
“I don’t think I’m super anxious about the environment, because what you feel on the inside manifests, so it’s never really part of my mentality or my families for that matter to project negative thoughts about the environment. My mother raised us to be optimistic and envision a beautiful world around us. I’m more driven by hope than fear. Practically speaking, at home, we try and cut down our meat and dairy intake throughout the week. I actually turned vegetarian for the last seven months. We also don’t use plastic bottles and avoid fast fashion.”

Lamia, Syrian
“Personal actions are good, but they don’t actually make a difference on a big scale. That doesn’t mean we have to become hopeless though. I think the answer to climate anxiety is collective action. Taking part in protests in London (where I live) and joining groups has felt so good. I’ve learnt so much on a personal level, and as a group, we have inspired so many new people to join movements—for once, I have felt like I am no longer alone.”

Share this article