حليمة عدن تتحدث عن رمزية الحجاب

"بالعودة إلى الوراء، لقد فعلت ما قلت بأني لن أفعله ابداً"

by

بعد ظهورها على منصّات عرض حملات علامتي تومي هيلفجر وفنتي بيوتي، باتت حليمة عدن اليوم واحدة من أكثر العارضات شهرة في مجال الأزياء في العالم. تمكنت حليمة وهي مرتدية حجابها الذي كان الغير قابل للتفاوض عند توقيع عقدها من كسر الحواجز لتصبح أول عارضة محجبة. ولكن على الرغم من شروطها، يبدو أنّ عدن قد قدمت بعض التنازلات.

مع وجود مسألة التمثيل العادل تحت الضوء، لعبت عدن دوراً هاماً في تغيير المفاهيم المحيطة بالحجاب. وعلى الرغم من إشادة المعجبين في جميع أنحاء العالم بجهودها، إلا أنّ العارضة المسلمة وضعت حياتها المهنية بأكملها موضع تساؤل.

عارضة الأزياء الصومالية الأمريكية التي نشأت في ولاية مينيسوتا بعد فرارها من مخيم كاكوما للاجئين في السادسة من عمرها، استخدمت القصص على الإنستاغرام لتكشف عن مسيرتها المهنية مشيرة إلى التسويات التي أجرتها خلال تلك الفترة، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بطريقة ارتداء حجابها.

Halima AdenHalima Adenكانت عدن وجه عدد من أغلفة المجلات ومشروعات عرض الأزياء التي علّقت عليها بأنّها تفسيرات خاطئة لحجابها. من استخدام قبعة صغيرة أو جينز لتغطية شعرها بدلاً من وضع حجابها التقليدي لإبراز المجوهرات أو المكياج الكثيف، أوضحت العارضة أن افتقار هذه الصناعة لوجود مصممات أزياء من النساء المسلمات هو جزء من القضية المطروحة.

Halima AdenHalima Adenوأضافت حليمة “بالعودة إلى الوراء، لقد فعلت ما قلت بأني لن أفعله ابداً، وهو التخلي عن جوهري بهدف الاندماج مع محيطي”. كما كتبت “لقد فهمت الآن لماذا انتهى بي الأمر إلى المساومة. بغض النظر عن المواعظ الذي قدمتها أنا أو أي شخص آخر بشأن الصناعة، إنها لم تكن يوماً لنا، لذا ادخلي هذا المجال وأنت على دراية بكل ذلك وعلى دراية بنفسك.”

“كان علي أن أرتكب هذه الأخطاء لأكون قدوة يمكنكم الوثوق بها جميعاً. لم يكن هناك أحد قبلي ليمهد لي الطريق، لذا فإن الأخطاء جزء من تجربة التعلم. لقد قمت بعمل جيد، لكن هذا لا يكفي. يجب إجراء هذه المحادثات من أجل تغيير هذه المنظومة بشكل فعلي”.

Halima AdenHalima Adenوقد ألمحت حليمة إلى أنها ستبتعد عن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وعن صناعة الموضة لفترة وجيزة، لكنها وعدت معجبيها بالعودة.

شارك هذا المقال

Halima Aden Opens Up about Hijabi Tokenism

“Looking back now, I did what I said I would never do.“

by

With campaigns for Tommy Hilfiger and Fenty Beauty under her belt, Halima Aden is undeniably one of the world’s biggest models today. With her hijab a non-negotiable clause in her contract, she’s broken barriers and taken on a position as a role model as the first hijab-wearing model. But as it turns out, despite her stipulations, Aden has admittedly fallen into compromise. 

With representation concerns front-running in the fashion industry, Aden has undeniably played a big role in shifting perceptions surrounding the hijab. And although fans around the world have always applauded her efforts, the Muslim model herself has put her entire career into question.

The Somali-American model, who grew up in Minnesota after fleeing the Kakuma refugee camp at six years old, took to her IG stories to open up about her trajectory, pointing out compromises she made along the way, particularly in the way she’d worn her hijab. 

Halima AdenHalima Aden
Aden shared several magazine covers and modeling projects that she remarked as misinterpretations of her hijab. From using a beanie or jeans to cover her hair instead of a hijab to compromising her traditional hijab style to show off jewellery or heavy makeup, the model made clear that part of the issue at hand is the lack of Muslim women stylists in the industry.

Halima AdenHalima Aden
“Looking back now I did what I said I would never do, which is compromise who I am in order to fit in,” Halima added. “But I can now understand why I ended up compromising. No matter what I or anyone else has preached to you about the industry…it’s not for us. Never was. So, go in knowing that and knowing you,” she wrote. 

“I had to make those mistakes to be the role model you all can trust. Remember I had no one before me paving the way so mistakes are part of the learning experience. I did good, but that isn’t enough. We got to have these conversations in order to change the system truly.”

Halima AdenHalima Aden
Halima hinted that she will be taking a break from social media and the fashion industry for a while, but promised her fans a comeback. .

Share this article