5 مرات مثّلت فيها هوليود العرب بشكلٍ لائق

المرّات النادرة التي لم يظهر بها العرب كإرهابيين

by

اشتهرت هوليود منذ بداياتها بتكريس الصور النمطيّة العنصريّة المؤذية. وحتى في برامج التسلية الأمريكية كان هناك تشويه عنصري لمجتمع السود من خلال استخدام “الوجه الأسود” ثم “الوجه الأصفر” الذي تسخر فيه من سكان شرق آسيا.

لقد شهد القرن العشرين أيضاً عدداً لا يحصى من الصور النمطيّة التي تصوّر العرب على أنّهم إرهابيين. كما شهدت العقود الأخيرة ظهور النموذج النمطي لأثرياء البترول والذي لم يكن أقل عنصريةً عن غيره.

على الرغم من أنّ صناعة السينما قد توقّفت بشكل كبير (لكن ليس كليّ تماماً) عن الاستهزاء بالعرقين الأسود والأصفر، إلا أنّ معظم الشخصيات العربية لا تزال تندرج تحت فئتين وهما الإرهابي أو الملياردير.

ولكن مع زيادة الطلب على التمثيل والاعتراف بالوجود العربي – الأميركي وصلنا إلى مكان تمكّن فيه الممثّلون العرب من اختراق حصن هوليود المنيع والحصول على أدوار رئيسية مثل رامي مالك الذي أدى دور فريدي ميركوري ودور مخترق إلكتروني فائق الذكاء. 

بهدف الاحتفاء بالحالات النادرة التي تمّ تمثيلنا فيها بشكل لائق، جمعت MILLE خمس مرّات تراجعت فيها هوليود عن شنّ حملاتها العنصرية المعتادة.

رامي

Ramy tv seriesلن تكتمل القائمة دون هذا المسلسل الذي كان بمثابة تغييرٍ كبير حيث يلعب الممثّل الكوميدي رامي يوسف دور الشاب العربي الأمريكي المسلم. على الرغم من أنّ تسليط الضوء كان بالفعل على هويّته العربية، إلا أنّ المسلسل يحكي القصّة من وجهة نظر الممثّل الخاصّة.

NCIS لوس أنجلوس

Special Agent Fatima Namazi NCIS LAقدّم المسلسل في موسمه الحادي عشر العميلة الخاصة فاطمة نمازي وأصبح ظهورها مستمراً على الشاشة منذ ذلك الحين. ولكن أفضل ما في الأمر هو أنه رغم كونها شخصيّة مسلمة بشكل واضح (شخصيّتها ترتدي الحجاب) إلا أنّ معتقد نمازي الديني لم يكن أبداً محط التركيز.

Mr. Robot

Mr. Robotيمتلك الآن الممثّل رامي مالك الحائز على جائزة أوسكار قائمة طويلة تزخر بالجوائز، إلا أنّ دوره الأول كان في مسلسل Mr. Robot. لقد لعب هذا الممثّل المصري دور مهندس أمن معلومات غامض الخلفية العرقية. ولقد استطاع مالك من خلال هذا الدور كسر الصورة النمطية التي عادةً ما يقع بها الممثلون العرب في هوليوود. 

The Walking Dead

Nadine Marissa in The Walking Deadعلى الرّغم من ظهورها في حلقة واحدة فقط، استطاعت الممثّلة اللبنانية نادين ماريسا من ترك بصمتها الخاصّة، حيث لعبت دور شخصيّة مسلمة ترتدي الحجاب في هذا العرض الناجح. 

The Bold Type

Adena El-Amin in The Bold Typeقد تكون شخصيّة أدينا الأمين في مسلسل The Bold Type هي الشخصيّة الأكثر جدلاً في هذه القائمة. باعتبار أنّها شخصيّة مثليّة ومسلمة ومناصرة لحقوق المرأة، وهي المرّة الأولى التي يتمّ فيها تصوير المرأة العربية المسلمة على هذا النحو. 

شارك هذا المقال

5 Times Hollywood Correctly Represented Arabs

The rare times we weren’t depicted as terrorists

by

Since its earliest days, Hollywood has been no stranger to perpetuating harmful racial stereotypes. Afterall, the American entertainment industry saw the birth of blackface (which demonised black people) and yellowface (which mocked East Asians).  

The 20th century also bore witness to countless portrayals of the stereotype of Arabs as terrorists. And recent decades have seen the rise of the oil-rich billionaire archetype that’s no less harmful. 

Although blackface and yellowface have largely been abandoned by the cinema industry (but not entirely), Arab characters still mostly fall under two categories: bombers or billionaires.

But with an increasing demand for representation (one that also includes the recognition of Arabs on the American census), we’ve come to a place where Arab actors have managed to escape the once-impenetrable Hollywood pigeonhole to play everyone from Queen frontman Freddie Mercury, ultra-intelligent hackers, and just your average young man. 

To celebrate the rare instances where we’ve been represented properly, MILLE rounds up five times Hollywood broke down its usual racist tropes. 

Ramy

Ramy tv seriesThe list would not be complete without the game-changing series ‘Ramy’ in which actor and comedian Ramy Youssef plays your average Arab, Muslim American. And whilst the focus of the show is indeed on his identity, the series tells the story from his perspective. 

NCIS: Los Angeles

Special Agent Fatima Namazi NCIS LAThe series introduced Special Agent Fatima Namazi in its 11th season, who has now grown to have a recurring role. The best part? Despite being visibly Muslim (her character wears the hijab) Namazi’s religion is never at centre-focus. 

Mr. Robot

Mr. RobotOscar-winning actor Rami Malek now has a long list of accolades behind him. But his first is his role in ‘Mr. Robot’. The Egyptian actor played a racially-ambiguous cyber-security engineer. With his anxiety and his hacking in central focus, the actor broke the mould by being among the first to escape the pigeonhole many Arab actors inevitably fall into. 

The Walking Dead

Nadine Marissa in The Walking DeadDespite only being featured on a single episode, Lebanese actress Nadine Marissa’s character left its mark. Marissa played a hijab-wearing Muslim character in the hit show. 

The Bold Type

Adena El-Amin in The Bold Type
Adena El-Amin’s character in ‘The Bold Type’ might be the most controversial on the list. The character is a lesbian, Muslim, feminist, marking the first time Arab or Muslim women have been portrayed as such.

Share this article