الأردنيّون يطالبون بالعدالة والمساواة للمرأة

المحتجّون يثورون ضد جرائم الشرف

by

وقعت خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع جريمة شرف مروّعة في الأردن، أثارت هذه الجريمة ضجّة كبيرة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تنديداً بالعنف المستمر ضد النساء في المنطقة كالذي شهدناه في مصر خلال الأسابيع السابقة.

ولم يقف الأمر عند هذا الحد، حيث احتشد المتظاهرون خارج مبنى رئيس الوزراء في عمّان للتنديد بالممارسات العنيفة التي تتّسم بالتمييز الجنسي تحت مسمّى “جرائم الشرف”.

بعد ظهر يوم الجمعة تداول روّاد مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي مقطع فيديو لامرأة تصرخ طلباً للنجدة في شوارع عمّان أثناء مطاردة والدها لها وهو يحمل حجر قرميد.

لقد قتلت في تلك الليلة الضحيّة أحلام البالغة من العمر 40 عاماً على يد والدها. يقول الشهود بأنّ والدها بعد أن قتل ابنته جلس بجانب جثّتها يدخّن سيجارة ويشرب الشاي.

الأردن (وهي الدولة التي عادةً ما تشهد في كلّ عام ما بين 15-20 جريمة قتل بذريعة الدفاع عن الشرف بحسب تقارير منظّمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان) لم تتّخذ أيّ خطوة لحماية النساء من الممارسات المروّعة التي حدثت خلال السنوات الأخيرة، ممّا أدى إلى إشعال شرارة حركة جديدة ناشطة تطالب الأردنيين بإجراء تغيير فوري. 

في الوقت الذي تمّ فيه اعتقال والد أحلام، يطالب المتظاهرون بإلغاء المادة 340 من قانون العقوبات الأردني (التي تنص على تخفيف الحكم على الرجل إذا ثبت أنّه قتل أو هاجم زوجته أو قريبته لارتكابها جريمة الزنا).

صرّحت الصحفيّة والناشطة الحقوقيّة الأردنيّة رنا الحسيني التي وثّقت جرائم الشرف في بلدها الأصلي لمدّة 25 عاماً عن عدد الحالات التي مرّت خلال مسيرتها المهنيّة والتي صدر فيها الحكم على رجال قتلوا أطفالهم بمدّة تتراوح من شهر إلى عام.

كما أفادت الحسيني أنّه في كلّ الحالات تقريباً تُسقط عائلة الضحايا التهم الموجّهة إلى المدّعى عليهم والتي طبقاً للقانون الأردني تسهم في الحال في تخفيف العقوبة عنهم إلى نصف المدّة.

حتى الآن لم يعلّق المسؤولون في الحكومة الأردنيّة على قضيّة أحلام. يستمر هاشتاغ #ahlamscreams بالانتشار على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حيث يطالب المحتجّون بتغيير قانون العقوبات ومنح المرأة حقها في المساواة.

وقال متظاهر لصحيفة Arab News: “يجب أن تحظى المرأة في الأردن بحقها في المساواة، كما يتوجّب علينا اعتبار أي امرأة تتعرّض للعنف ضحية تحتاج إلى الدعم والحماية”.

شارك هذا المقال

Jordanians Demand Justice and Equality for Women

Protests erupt in the wake of ‘honour killing’

by

A horrific ‘honour killing’ in Jordan took place over the weekend, sparking a wave of social media outrage against persistent violence against women in the region, much like what we have witnessed take place in Egypt during previous weeks

And it didn’t stop there. Protestors then gathered outside of the Prime Minister’s building in Amman to denounce the violent, sexist practice of ‘honour killing’. 

On Friday afternoon, a video of a woman crying out for help on the streets of Amman whilst being chased by her father (who was carrying a brick) began circulating online. 

The 40-year-old victim, named Ahlam, ultimately died at the hands of her father that night. Witnesses say that her father smoked a cigarette and drank tea next to his daughter’s body after the murder. 

Jordan (a country that typically sees 15-20 cases of honour killings every year according to Human Rights Watch) has done little in the way of protecting women from the horrific act in recent years – sparking a newly-active demand for immediate change from Jordanians. 

Whilst Ahlam’s father has been arrested, protestors are demanding the removal of a provision in Jordan’s Penal Code: Article 340 (which stipulates that a man is allowed a reduced penalty if he is found to have killed or attacked his wife or female relative who has committed adultery).

Jordanian journalist and activist Rana Husseini, who has documented honour killings in her native country for 25 years, reported a number of cases over the course of her career in which men have received sentences ranging from one month to one year for killing their children. 

Husseini has also reported that in almost all cases, the family of victims drop charges against defendants, which according to Jordanian law, immediately halves their sentence.

As of now, Jordanian government officials have yet to comment on Ahlam’s case. A viral hashtag #ahlamscreams continues to circulate on social media, and protestors are demanding change to the penal code as well as equal treatment for women. 

Women need to be treated equally in Jordan and we should regard any woman who is subjected to violence as a victim that needs support and protection,” a protestor told Arab News.

Share this article