الشعور بالذنب تجاه البيئة علمني بأنّه لا يمكن الوصول إلى الكمال

وإليكم طريقة التعامل مع هذا الشعور

by

في ظل تهديدات التغيّرات المناخية التي تتزايد يوماً بعد يوم، تصاعدت الدعوات التي تركز على أهمية الاستدامة، ولكن في نفس الوقت، تم إغفال مناقشة مدى صعوبة العيش بشكل مستدام.

إن محاولة التخلص من البلاستيك الذي يستخدم لمرة واحدة أمر صعب ومربك، خاصةً وأن كل منتج نشتريه يأتي مغلفاً به، كما أنّ التخلي عن وسائل النقل التي تعمل بالغاز بينما نعيش في مدينة كبيرة هو صراع حقيقي.

أعترف بأنني اقترفت أخطاءً في هذا المجال، فقد استسلمت لإغراء الموضة السريعة واشتريت قطعة أو اثنتين لم أجدهما في متاجر التوفير أو العلامات المستدامة، مما جعلني أشعر بالذنب في كل مرة أقدمت فيها على هذا الفعل، وفي الواقع أنا لست الوحيدة التي واجهت هذا الأمر.

يُطلق على اللوم الذاتي الذي نشعر به عندما نفعل شيئاً يسيء للبيئة إسم “الشعور بالذنب البيئي”، وهو شعور كما يقول الدكتور غانجا شريدهار “قد يدفع الناس إلى تجنب التحدث عن موضوع تغير المناخ”. أوضح الأستاذ المساعد في العلوم السلوكية بكلية لندن للاقتصاد في مقابلة مع مجلة فوغ البريطانية “إنّه يجعلك تشعر بأنك شخص سيء كلما تعرّضت لمشكلة تتعلق بالبيئة”.

يتضح مما سبق، بأنّ الشعور بالذنب البيئي يمكن أن ينشأ من هوس العالم المعاصر بالكمال. وبالرغم من أنّه من غير المنطقي التفكير في إمكانية أن نصبح مستدامين بشكل تام بين عشية وضحاها، لكن لا يجب أن يكون ذلك سبباً لنا للتوقف عن محاولة تقليل بصمتنا الكربونية والعيش بشكل مستدام قدر الإمكان.

لذلك وبمناسبة يوم الأرض العالمي، قمنا بجمع بعض الأمور التي يمكنكم القيام بها لمعالجة شعوركم بالذنب البيئي.

تقبلوا هذا الشعور
إن الشعور بالذنب البيئي يعني أنكم تهتمون بالفعل بالبيئة وتتطلعون لإحداث تغيير ما. كل ما عليكم فعله هو تقبل هذا الشعور واستثمار قوته لتحقيق هدفكم.

لا تخشوا البدء بعمل بسيط
نحن بحاجة إلى عدد قليل من الأشخاص الذين يحاولون أن يكونوا مثاليين والمزيد ممن يحاولون إحداث التغيير. يمكن أن يكون لبعض الإجراءات الصغيرة أثراً كبيراً، لذا لا تنشدوا الكمال، وبدلاً عن ذلك خذوا الأمور خطوة بخطوة.

انضموا إلى مجتمعٍ بيئي
شأنّه شأن أي تحدٍ عقلي آخر، يجب عدم التعامل مع الشعور بالذنب البيئي بشكل فردي، لأنّ الانضمام إلى مجتمع يضم أشخاصاً يشابهونكم في التفكير ويمكنهم مساعدتكم في الممارسات المستدامة وتقديم بعض النصائح القيمة أمر بالغ الأهمية.

لا تنغمسوا بالشعور بالذنب
علينا ألا نتوهم بأننا المسؤولون الوحيدون عن قضايا تغيّر المناخ، لأنّها مشكلة جماعية حيث تلعب الصناعات والشركات الملوثة دوراً رئيسياً في تغيير الأمور من حولنا. يكمن دورنا كأفراد في تحميل هذه الشركات والحكومات المسؤولية ودفعها إلى اتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة من خلال القوة الجماعية.

لا تستسلموا
كما ذكر الدكتور شريدهار، فإن الشعور بالذنب تجاه البيئة يمكن أن يجعل الناس يتجنبون التحدث عن موضوع تغير المناخ، وبالتالي يفقدهم الرغبة في المحاولة. يجب ألا نسمح لصعوبة هذا التحدي أن تطغى علينا وتعيق رغبتنا في اتخاذ أيّ إجراء.

لا تقارنوا أنفسكم بالآخرين
قد تشاهدون بعض الأشخاص على الإنستاغرام الذين يزرعون حدائق الأطعمة العضوية أو يشترون جميع المنتجات المستدامة، مما يجعلكم تعتقدون بأنكم مقصّرون تجاه البيئة أو أنكم غير قادرين مادياً على العيش بشكل مستدام. لكن من المهم التركيز على الحاضر وما يمكنكم فعله بأي موارد صغيرة أو كبيرة لديكم. تذكروا دائماً، يمكن للتغييرات الصغيرة أن تترك أثراً هائلاً.

شارك هذا المقال

Eco-Guilt Taught Me There’s no Such Thing as Perfect

Here’s how to deal with it

by

With climate change threats becoming more and more urgent, everyone is preaching the importance of sustainability. We rarely discuss how difficult it is to live sustainably though. 

Trying to ditch single-use plastic while every product we buy is packaged is no picnic, and giving up gas powered transportation while living in a big city is a real struggle. 

I can admit that I have made one or two bad choices on the way. I have given into the temptation of fast fashion and purchased a piece or two that I couldn’t find in thrift shops or sustainable brands. I felt the guilt creeping up on me every time, and apparently, I’m not alone.

The self-reproach we feel whenever we do something bad towards the environment is called eco-guilt and it “can lead people to avoiding the topic of climate change altogether” says Dr. Ganga Shreedhar. “Because you’re made to feel like a bad person anytime you’re exposed to any issue about the environment,”, the assistant professor in behavioural science at the London School of Economics explained in an interview with British Vogue.

As it turns out, eco-guilt can stem from the modern world’s obsessive chase of perfection. It’s unfathomable to think that we can become completely sustainable overnight, but it certainly cannot become a reason for us to stop trying to reduce our carbon footprint and live as sustainably as possible.

So for this Mother Earth Day, we’ve rounded up a few things you can do to deal with your eco-guilt.

Accept the feeling
Eco-guilt can only mean that you actually do care about the environment and want to make change. Embrace it and harness its power to move forward.

Don’t be afraid to start small
We need less people who are trying to be perfect and more who are trying to make change. Small actions multiplied by a collective can be earth-shaking so don’t aim for perfect, and take things step by step.

Join a community
Like any other mental challenge, eco-guilt should never be dealt with alone. Joining a community of like-minded people that can help you with sustainable practices and provide some valuable advice is vital.

Don’t give in to the guilt
While it’s very easy for us to fall into the illusion of thinking we’re the only ones responsible for climate issues, it’s important to remember that this is a collective problem with polluting industries and companies playing a key role in turning things around. As individuals, what can be a real game changer is to hold these companies and governments accountable and push them to take action through collective force.

Don’t give up
As Dr. Shreedhar mentioned, eco-guilt can cause people to avoid the topic of climate change and thus can result in them not trying at all. We shouldn’t let the difficulty of this challenge overwhelm us and stop us from taking action. 

Don’t compare yourself with others
It’s easy to look at people on Instagram who are growing their own whole foods garden or buying all of the sustainable products out there, and think that you’re not doing enough or you’re financially unable to live sustainably. But it’s important to focus on the now and what you can do with whatever little or big resources you have. Again, small changes can leave a huge impact.

Share this article