هكذا أعاد فيرجيل آبلوه بناء جيل كامل

شخصية حطمت الحواجز بكل معنى الكلمة

by

من النادر أن يكون لوفاة أحد المشاهير تأثير عالمي النطاق. لكن خبر وفاة المصمم العالمي الراحل فرجيل أبلوه انتشر خلال الـ24 ساعة الماضية بسرعةٍ كبيرة على الإنترنت والذي وافته المنيّة يوم الأحد بعد معاناة مع المرض عن عمرٍ ناهز 41 عاماً، وقد خيّم الحزن على العالم بأسره وعلى عالم الموضة وبين محبيه وأصدقائه وحتى أولئك الذين كانوا ينتقدونه. 

بعد دقائق فقط من إعلان مجموعة LVMH عن هذا الخبر الحزين، امتلأت صفحاتي على تويتر بالكلمات المؤثرة التي تخلّد ذكرى المصمم الراحل، كما أعرب معظمهم عن صدمتهم وقدّموا أحر التعازي حزناً على رحيل هذا المصمم متعدد المواهب.

وغني عن القول بأنّ لدى آبلوه شخصية مؤثرة لا يمكن إنكارها، كما أنّه يعتبر بالنسبة للكثيرين مثلاً يُحتذى به حيث ساهم خلال مسيرته المهنية في فتح أبواب جديدة ومسارات متنوعة لجيل من الشباب المبدعين من ذوي البشرة السوداء والملونة ممن ظنوا أنهم غير قادرين على تولي المناصب في هذه الصناعة واكتساب مكانة مرموقة فيها لولا أن أثبت نفسه كواحد من المصممين الهامين والمحبوبين على مستوى العالم.

ومن الجدير ذكره، أنّ آبلوه قد تميّز بروحه الإبداعية المذهلة، ودخل عالم النجاح والشهرة بعدما شغل منصب المدير الإبداعي لكانييه ويست، فصمم له العديد من أغلفة ألبوماته الفنية، ومن ثم تحول اسم فيرجيل آبلوه إلى أحد أشهر الأسماء في عالم الموضة بعد أن تم تعيينه في منصب المدير الإبداعي لدار الأزياء الشهيرة Louis Vuitton، ليصبح أول مُصمم أسود يشغل هذا المنصب، بالإضافة إلى العديد من المشاريع الأخرى التي عمل عليها بما في ذلك تأسيس علامته الخاصة وتعاونه مع عدد كبير من العلامات التجارية والشركات وغيرها، وبالطبع كل ذلك بفضل إبداعاته الفطرية حيث أنّه لم يحظَ بتدريب رسمي في مجال الموضة. كما يعود له فضل كبير في جعل موضة أزياء الشارع من الصيحات الأكثر رواجاً في ثقافتنا اليوم.

بالرغم من أنّ تاريخ فيرجيل يحفل بالجوائز المرموقة التي حصدها خلال مسيرته المهنية، إلا أنّ هناك أمر واحد بارز جعله مميزاً بالنسبة لمعجبيه: وهو أخلاقياته العالية وقدرته على التواصل بذات المستوى مع الطبقة الفقيرة والطبقة المرموقة. لذا من الطبيعي أن يفطر قلوب الجميع رحيل شخص مثله قد فتح الطريق أمام جيل من الشباب لبلوغ أماكن لم يكن الوصول إليها متاحاً في السابق.

بعيداً عن لندن، فقد أعرب عدد لا يستهان به من المبدعين في الشرق الأوسط عن مدى حزنهم لخسارة آبلوه، واستشهدوا به وبقدرته على الارتقاء بعمله في مجال الموضة، وبكونه مصدر إلهام حقيقي لهم. 

بعيداً عن لندن، فقد أعرب عدد لا يستهان به من المبدعين في الشرق الأوسط عن مدى حزنهم لخسارة آبلوه، واستشهدوا به وبقدرته على الارتقاء بعمله في مجال الموضة، وبكونه مصدر إلهام حقيقي لهم. 

لطالما استخدمنا في السنوات الأخيرة مصطلح “كسر الحواجز” بشكل فضفاض خلال المحادثات المتعلقة بالشمولية والتمثيل، والحقيقة تكمن في أنه عليك بالضرورة أن تكون الأول في أي مجال لتكون الأهم وصاحب اللقب فيه. لم يكن – وغالباً ما يتم استخدام هذا المصطلح لوصف حتى أكثر الشخصيات غموضاً لكونها حققت إنجازاً مميّزاً في مجتمعها.

في الواقع هذا لا يعني أن معظمهم لا يستحقون هذا الوصف، إلا أنّ آبلوه قد نجح بالفعل في كسر الحواجز، فهو يتحلى بقوة هائلة لم تتوقف عن حد تغيير قواعد صناعة كاملة فقط، بل تجاوزت كل الحدود لتغيير ثقافةٍ بأسرها وفي جميع أنحاء العالم. وبالرغم من أنّ معاناته الصحية مع مرض السرطان ظلت في طي الكتمان خلال العامين الماضيين، إلا أنّه لم يتوان أبداً عن متابعة مسيرته لتحقيق ما كان يصبو إليه.

وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ آبلوه قد تعاون في العام الماضي مع علامة Daily Paper لدعم مشهد رياضة التزلج على الألواح المزدهرة في غانا من خلال بناء حلبة تزلج في وسط العاصمة أكرا، كما قام بتكريم تراثه الغاني من خلال تصاميمه لمجموعة Louis Vuitton لموسم خريف وشتاء 2021.

لطالما أظهر المصمم ولسنوات دعمه المستمر لمهرجان Homecoming النيجيري، كما أنّه لم يتوان أبداً عن دعم المواهب الشابة، ففي عام 2020 تعاون المصمم مع علامة أزياء الشارع النيجيرية الناشئة Street Souk لتصميم تي شيرت تحت مسمى “Product of Africa” كجزء من مشاريع علامته الشهيرة Off-White.

وفي هذا الشأن كتب المصمم الراحل في تدوينة على إنستاغرام: “لقد التقيت بـ @Iretidee99 في لاغوس قبل 5 سنوات. ولا تزال رؤيتها مشعة حتى الآن، لقد ارتقت بمشهد الموضة التي يقودها الشباب في أفريقيا، فمن خلال توليها لمشروع @streetsouk برعت في صنع مشهدٍ إيجابي لدعم جيل اليوم النيجيري. حرفياً ومجازياً”.

كما شارك آبلوه بالعديد من المشاريع في منطقتنا العربية، حيث كان يواظب على المشاركة كمنسق أغاني في مهرجان الواحة المشهور في المغرب، كما انضم في الآونة الأخيرة إلى لجنة تحكيم مسابقة Fashion Trust Arabia حيث سافر إلى الدوحة للقاء واستكشاف ودعم مواهب المنطقة الصاعدة والناشئة. 

وغني عن القول بأنّ تأثير فيرجيل قد تجاوز إلى حدٍ بعيد فقاعات الأزياء والفنون الأمريكية أو الفرنسية، بفضل حب الاستطلاع الذي دفعه للارتقاء بعمله واكتساب مكانة مرموقة في صناعة الموضة وترك بصمة مميّزة لا تنسى، مع حرصه الشديد على البقاء وفياً لعالم الأندر جراوند، وهو الأمر الذي مكّنه من كسر الحواجز ببراعة تامة وقوة لا يستهان بها.

شارك هذا المقال

How Virgil Abloh Regenerated a Generation

A true barrier breaker

by

It’s not always that a celebrity death has a wide-reaching impact. But if you’ve spent any time on social media over the course of the past 24 hours, you were probably witness to the global mourning of one. On Sunday, news of Virgil Abloh’s passing sent shockwaves across the internet. Considering Abloh’s impact and influence, the 41-year-old’s sudden death seemingly overcame everyone, even those who had been critics. 

Just minutes after LVMH announced the devastating news, my Twitter feed had quickly grown flooded with words commemorating the late designer. Most expressed their shock and extended condolences, and just as quickly, many extended their flowers to the multi-hyphenate. 

If it weren’t clear before, it was clear today: Abloh’s influence is undeniable, and for many unmatched. Even more certain, Abloh’s influence was unwavering to the countless young, black, and POC creatives who didn’t think a career as a creative was possible before his meteoric rise. 

From working on some of the world’s best album covers during his tenure as Kanye West’s creative director, to becoming the first black artistic director in the history of Louis Vuitton, Abloh wasn’t short of sources of inspiration. That’s not counting a multitude of other projects, including spearheading his own label and countless collaborations, all with no formal fashion training. Abloh can even be credited for having a hand in carving out the prominent position streetwear holds in our culture today.  

But above his list of accolades, there’s one thing that stood out about Virgil to his fans that made him distinctive: his ability to move in both the spaces of the underprivileged and prestigious just the same. And when someone who made the inaccessible accessible dies, it’s undoubtably going to have a massive impact. 

“He is one of the reasons I took a very unorthodox route to enter the world of fashion journalism because I knew no one would hire the London black kid that doesn’t sound like he’s from the West-End without building my own platform,” wrote Business of Fashion journalist Odunayo Ojo. 

Far from London, right here in the Middle East, countless creatives expressed their sadness for the loss of Abloh, citing him and his ascent to the highest ranks of fashion as their inspiration too. 

We’ve used the term ‘barrier-breaking’ loosely in recent years. In conversations surrounding inclusivity and representation, you essentially just have to be the first at something to earn the title. It wasn’t—and often, still isn’t—uncommon for the term to be used to describe even the most elusive of figures for having been the first of their community to reach a certain feat. 

That’s not to say that most are undeserving, but Abloh was actually barrier-breaking. He carried an unfathomable force that not only changed an entire industry, but shifted culture that found its way to all corners of the world. And he continued to do so regularly, even as he privately battled cancer over the course of the last two years. 

Just last year, Abloh partnered up with Daily Paper to support Ghana’s flourishing skateboard scene by building a skatepark in the heart Accra. He eventually paid homage to his Ghanaian heritage in his designs for Louis Vuitton’s Fall/Winter 2021 collection. 

For years, the designer showed continuous support for the Nigerian Homecoming Festival. He never shied away from supporting young talent either. In 2020, he teamed up with emerging Nigerian streetwear label Street Souk to design a t-shirt as part of a series of projects he took on under his label Off-White called “Product of Africa”. 

Met @iretidee99 in Lagos 🇳🇬✨ 5 years ago. her vision radiates, still. Africa right now is on the forefront of a youth driven fashion renaissance and she’s curating a scene within it called @streetsouk that is birthing a scene for this generation of Nigeria today. literally and figuratively,” he wrote in an Instagram post. 

Abloh was also no stranger to the region. He’s a regular DJ at Morocco’s renowned Oasis Festival. Most recently, Abloh participated in the Arab world’s very own Fashion Trust Arabia, travelling to Doha to meet, explore, and support the region’s up-and-coming talents. 

Needless to say, Virgil’s influence went far beyond an American or French fashion and art bubbles. That’s in large part thanks to a curiosity that didn’t refrain him to a single silo as he rose up to the highest of ranks in fashion. He made sure to stay to connected to the underground, all whilst securing a position among the most prestigious. The two elements, combined, ensured his impact, and his ability to transform culture gives a new, accurate depiction of what being truly barrier-breaking really means. 

Share this article